Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars147
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2012
Whilst holding on to the fast moving hilarity of previous Saint Trinians, the fun is enhanced by a few parodies of other films etc., one of which is very subtle (if you don't spot it, try asking an English Lit. Teacher where you can find the story of Pyramus and Thisbe, and then watch the film again!)

Good to see David Tennant playing a villain for a change!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
The original four St Trinian's films were extremely good. The first St Trinian's remake wasn't too bad, so I bought St Trinian's 2 - a big mistake. The film has hardly any plot, and you are bombarded with constant pop music. I will NOT be buying St Trinians 3!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
The critics hated it, too much plot they said. I disagree. The lack of plot ruined the first film. This is clever funny and a good story line with plot twists along the way. Too clever for the critics perhaps.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
I have loved the Ronald Searle artwork of St Trinians since my teens and own the four older films too. It took me a little while to warm to the first film,but now LOVE it, and simply HAD to get this one - it never got released in Australia, so had to seek it out and got it a few months before it got here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Came today I played it and sounded awesome. I particularly brought it for a specific song called bad to the bone. Which I am using for my song list for my funeral. Great service as only ordered it on Monday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
What a lot of tosh!

The snobby criticism, not the film. Actually, St Trinians 2 is perfectly faithful to the spirit of the original St Trinians films. Those films were not masterpieces, they were typical examples of British humour, with silly plots and characters the public could relate to.

ST2 has a good script, it's funny, sassy and is basically a school pantomime on film. It is not crude or vulgar and I felt quite comfortable watching it with a 9 year old. I quite admire that the filmakers don't set out to oversexualize the girls. One of the themes of the film, in fact, is feminism and Ms Fritton's speech to the sisterhood before going into battle is a highlight. There was also a shocking revelation about Shakespeare, which has totally changed my view of the plays.

On the subject of Ms Fritton, Alastair Sim is often described as an acting genius, which he was, but Rupert Everett is surely as skilled and as lovable a comic actor. If I were a producer I'd be finding vehicles for this brilliant man. David Tennant and Colin Firth do good too.

The actors playing the St Trinian girls get the best bits, though, and have the most fun, dressing up as chavs (sorry, rude girls), geeks, emos and princesses. They do it well, they do it with style. Each tribe held its own, loyalty to the school and to the sisterhood coming first.

Great dialogue, daft plot, colourful costumes and popular music - pure panto. Makes ya proud to be British.
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
St Trinians 2 is not rocket science. For those that have tolerated the first rehash of this franchise based on the late Ronald Searle's cartoons may not be surprised that this is rather the same kind of comedy material that made the previous film remotely enjoyable. Nevertheless, with its cringe-worthily clichéd dialogue, and set pieces that keep the simple treasure-hunt main story flowing, the film has that kind of stupid in the good sense that these film do well in.
Rupert Everett certainly hams things up- or should that be camping it up- reprising his role as the headmaster/leader-of-the-gang-of-feminine-misfits Camilla. David Tennant proves that his career in feature films is not as creditable as his TV work, as he too hams up as the cardboard-cut-out-villain Lord Pomfrey, who wants his mitts on a ring that has been in Camilla's family for over 400 years. And- insert some expression of shock horror here- does get hold of the ring, which results the rest of every single, archetypal, group of girls, under that moment in time- geeks/people-that-are-computer-whizzes , Emos/ Goths/ chicks-that-were-black, posh women/love-to-exaggerate-'OMG'-like-some-kind-of-mime, chavs/street-wise girls, et al- to go and hunt down the other half of the ring before Pomfrey does.
If you can predict what can happen, then you will be right in thinking that this film goes into familiar territory. So expect jokes just to keep the 'cool kids' quiet with such moments as flash mobbing in the train station, or calling everyone a 'tit' in a graveyard, as well as some element of grown-up humour to keep the adults remotely entertaining.
St Trinians 2 might not have aged too well. Yes, you heard me; 3 years can age this kind of family comedy pretty badly! Especially with visual jokes to Amy Winehouse and all the 'trendy' smart phones they're all using, but there should be something remotely funny about seeing Everett and Firth try and act a convincing comic routine out of their rocky relationship. Therefore, if you enjoyed the first one, you might as well complete your taste in this kind of family 'fun' in giving this one a go too. Just do not be surprised when you start face palming every time the writer attempts to write chavette slang into the corny dialogue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
This has, pirates, spys, secret organizations, Shakespeare and bling.

Once again just shows the fantastic, brilliant comic timing of Holly and Cloe Mackie. These two along with Juno Temple and Lily cole ( in the first movie) as the stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
Really brilliant movie- it's funny and clever and Rupert Everett is a hoot! Currently working my way through the DVD Extras! Why weren't they promoted on here?

Included are: Meet the Tribes Feature
Meet the Banned Featurette
We've Got the Beat Music Video
Up & Away Music video
Learn the St Trinian's dance!
LOADS of Interviews

Get this DVD- my niece can't wait to get hers!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2010
If you watched and enjoyed the first St Trinians film then you will definitely like this! If you have not seen either, then I'd say you could easily watch this one without having seen the first one.

This film obviously wouldnt win any awards, but who cares because it is not supposed to be taken seriously. There are some fab british actors in it, including Colin Firth, Rupert Everett and David Tennant, and you can see they are having fun playing the eccentric characters.

This film probably would appeal mostly to girls aged 8 to 15 but I'm in my early twenties and I liked it! It is quite funny at times and has a great soundtrack!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.