Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED EVERY SECOND OF IT!
Really brilliant movie- it's funny and clever and Rupert Everett is a hoot! Currently working my way through the DVD Extras! Why weren't they promoted on here?

Included are: Meet the Tribes Feature
Meet the Banned Featurette
We've Got the Beat Music Video
Up & Away Music video
Learn the St Trinian's dance!
LOADS of Interviews...
Published on 24 May 2010 by J. Thorneycroft-smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Re do it.
I must say i enjoyed the film for what it was,but i was also very disapointed
that the very essence of a St Trinians film was totaly thrown out the window.
The first St Trinians is a brilliant film,great music and still contains
the essence of the original films.
St Trinians 2 i thought was to complicated,the way the film was cut was...
Published on 20 Dec 2010 by Mr G.


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED EVERY SECOND OF IT!, 24 May 2010
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
Really brilliant movie- it's funny and clever and Rupert Everett is a hoot! Currently working my way through the DVD Extras! Why weren't they promoted on here?

Included are: Meet the Tribes Feature
Meet the Banned Featurette
We've Got the Beat Music Video
Up & Away Music video
Learn the St Trinian's dance!
LOADS of Interviews

Get this DVD- my niece can't wait to get hers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars School Pantomime, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
What a lot of tosh!

The snobby criticism, not the film. Actually, St Trinians 2 is perfectly faithful to the spirit of the original St Trinians films. Those films were not masterpieces, they were typical examples of British humour, with silly plots and characters the public could relate to.

ST2 has a good script, it's funny, sassy and is basically a school pantomime on film. It is not crude or vulgar and I felt quite comfortable watching it with a 9 year old. I quite admire that the filmakers don't set out to oversexualize the girls. One of the themes of the film, in fact, is feminism and Ms Fritton's speech to the sisterhood before going into battle is a highlight. There was also a shocking revelation about Shakespeare, which has totally changed my view of the plays.

On the subject of Ms Fritton, Alastair Sim is often described as an acting genius, which he was, but Rupert Everett is surely as skilled and as lovable a comic actor. If I were a producer I'd be finding vehicles for this brilliant man. David Tennant and Colin Firth do good too.

The actors playing the St Trinian girls get the best bits, though, and have the most fun, dressing up as chavs (sorry, rude girls), geeks, emos and princesses. They do it well, they do it with style. Each tribe held its own, loyalty to the school and to the sisterhood coming first.

Great dialogue, daft plot, colourful costumes and popular music - pure panto. Makes ya proud to be British.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun film!, 26 April 2010
By 
Goodenough4me (England UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
If you watched and enjoyed the first St Trinians film then you will definitely like this! If you have not seen either, then I'd say you could easily watch this one without having seen the first one.

This film obviously wouldnt win any awards, but who cares because it is not supposed to be taken seriously. There are some fab british actors in it, including Colin Firth, Rupert Everett and David Tennant, and you can see they are having fun playing the eccentric characters.

This film probably would appeal mostly to girls aged 8 to 15 but I'm in my early twenties and I liked it! It is quite funny at times and has a great soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Re do it., 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
I must say i enjoyed the film for what it was,but i was also very disapointed
that the very essence of a St Trinians film was totaly thrown out the window.
The first St Trinians is a brilliant film,great music and still contains
the essence of the original films.
St Trinians 2 i thought was to complicated,the way the film was cut was
confusing,they tried to make it to modern and gave miss Fritton a short denim
skirt which was a big mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit stupid - but fun anyway if you're bored with nothing else to watch, 12 Dec 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
The original St Trinians films with Alastair Sim, George Cole, Lionel Jeffries, Terry Thomas and Joan Sims from the 1950s are a classic collection of good british comedy films but the modern ones , including this offering , are rather poor by comparison - they're too sexed up , if that's the right phrase , and it simply doesn't work. You had antics in the old films that a lot of ex-boarding school pupils could relate to that don't occur in the new films. It's all very well to update the films but the news ones are simply stupid not very well acted and rely too much on celebrity recognition to carry them along. They may be fun to make but they've taken a good idea and ruined it with scenarios that wouldn't occur in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars St.Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold., 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
-Absolutely love St.Trinnian's.. The second film sees annabelle as head girl, but also a return of the previous head girl kelly (Gemma Atherton) as they go on a quest to find the legendary Fritton treasure. Good Sequel to the first film which maintains it's humour. The copy i brought, i think, was classed as 'Used -Like New', which is true, the outer box and cd itself are in perfect condition. Brought for cheap and came within the estimated delivery times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars St Trinians are back., 4 Jan 2014
By 
Mj Lovell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
The critics hated it, too much plot they said. I disagree. The lack of plot ruined the first film. This is clever funny and a good story line with plot twists along the way. Too clever for the critics perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars St Trinians 2 - I do not agree with the other reviews., 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
My dad is actually the one who enjoys these kinds of comedies best, like Parent Trap the disney remake, Wild Child, and of course St Trinians. He enjoyed the original St Trinians (i.e. great train robbery) whereas i didn't really get into them. I have always enjoyed the new St Trinians however: they are lighthearted fun and mischief, with a good notorious cast. For goodness' sake, Colin Firth has been willing to do a brilliantly strange part, dating Hugh Grant, who actually looks brilliant as the wickedly fantastic Miss Fritton.
The sequel has a quite straightforward plot unlike many sequels, and the girls do plenty of odd things. The dance scene at the end is brilliant. The girls all exhibit talent and Sarah Harding exhibits restraint as she's already established as a singer and so lets the other girls cover that angle. If anything, I prefer St Trinians' pupils to many of my past classmates!
David Tennant plays quite an individual role, devious and emotive, and handsome as always. If there's another St trinians, I'll be happy to watch it, and will be getting this dvd when it comes out too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is., 13 May 2010
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
Its not "A Cracker" and it's not "Rollocking Good Fun" as the case claims.

It does have a great cast and enough content to entertain but anyone watching this looking for more than that is looking in the wrong place.

The girls enjoyed it - in which case pretty sure its achieved its aim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Armchair Rebel?, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my 11yr old grand daughter.
She loves St Trinian's!
A safe way to be a rebel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD]
4.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews