Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars School Pantomime
What a lot of tosh!

The snobby criticism, not the film. Actually, St Trinians 2 is perfectly faithful to the spirit of the original St Trinians films. Those films were not masterpieces, they were typical examples of British humour, with silly plots and characters the public could relate to.

ST2 has a good script, it's funny, sassy and is basically a...
Published on 31 Dec. 2010 by Graham Chapman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Re do it.
I must say i enjoyed the film for what it was,but i was also very disapointed
that the very essence of a St Trinians film was totaly thrown out the window.
The first St Trinians is a brilliant film,great music and still contains
the essence of the original films.
St Trinians 2 i thought was to complicated,the way the film was cut was...
Published on 20 Dec. 2010 by Mr G.


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars School Pantomime, 31 Dec. 2010
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
What a lot of tosh!

The snobby criticism, not the film. Actually, St Trinians 2 is perfectly faithful to the spirit of the original St Trinians films. Those films were not masterpieces, they were typical examples of British humour, with silly plots and characters the public could relate to.

ST2 has a good script, it's funny, sassy and is basically a school pantomime on film. It is not crude or vulgar and I felt quite comfortable watching it with a 9 year old. I quite admire that the filmakers don't set out to oversexualize the girls. One of the themes of the film, in fact, is feminism and Ms Fritton's speech to the sisterhood before going into battle is a highlight. There was also a shocking revelation about Shakespeare, which has totally changed my view of the plays.

On the subject of Ms Fritton, Alastair Sim is often described as an acting genius, which he was, but Rupert Everett is surely as skilled and as lovable a comic actor. If I were a producer I'd be finding vehicles for this brilliant man. David Tennant and Colin Firth do good too.

The actors playing the St Trinian girls get the best bits, though, and have the most fun, dressing up as chavs (sorry, rude girls), geeks, emos and princesses. They do it well, they do it with style. Each tribe held its own, loyalty to the school and to the sisterhood coming first.

Great dialogue, daft plot, colourful costumes and popular music - pure panto. Makes ya proud to be British.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED EVERY SECOND OF IT!, 24 May 2010
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
Really brilliant movie- it's funny and clever and Rupert Everett is a hoot! Currently working my way through the DVD Extras! Why weren't they promoted on here?

Included are: Meet the Tribes Feature
Meet the Banned Featurette
We've Got the Beat Music Video
Up & Away Music video
Learn the St Trinian's dance!
LOADS of Interviews

Get this DVD- my niece can't wait to get hers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun film!, 26 April 2010
By 
Goodenough4me (England UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
If you watched and enjoyed the first St Trinians film then you will definitely like this! If you have not seen either, then I'd say you could easily watch this one without having seen the first one.

This film obviously wouldnt win any awards, but who cares because it is not supposed to be taken seriously. There are some fab british actors in it, including Colin Firth, Rupert Everett and David Tennant, and you can see they are having fun playing the eccentric characters.

This film probably would appeal mostly to girls aged 8 to 15 but I'm in my early twenties and I liked it! It is quite funny at times and has a great soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Re do it., 20 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
I must say i enjoyed the film for what it was,but i was also very disapointed
that the very essence of a St Trinians film was totaly thrown out the window.
The first St Trinians is a brilliant film,great music and still contains
the essence of the original films.
St Trinians 2 i thought was to complicated,the way the film was cut was
confusing,they tried to make it to modern and gave miss Fritton a short denim
skirt which was a big mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak and slow., 31 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
After the first modern St Trinians film (a bargain at £2.49 St Trinian's [DVD] [2007]) I was really looking forward to this. Sadly I was disappointed. Unlike the first film I really didn't feel like this held to the ideas of strong and chaotic students running their world. Instead you have a bunch of girls screaming at things and listening to their teachers. The story looked like it was going to be interesting but turned out to be very slow and laboured. A lot of the stronger actors from the first cast are noticably absent in this film - Kathryn Drysdale, Lily Cole, Paloma Faith - and the ensemble really suffers without them. There are a few good one liners but they weren't strong enough to save the film. Ultimately, I couldn't get to the end because of a faulty disk but that felt more like a blessing than a problem. Real let down from a team that brought such a good revival in the first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stupid in the Good Sense That These Films Do Well In, 15 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
St Trinians 2 is not rocket science. For those that have tolerated the first rehash of this franchise based on the late Ronald Searle's cartoons may not be surprised that this is rather the same kind of comedy material that made the previous film remotely enjoyable. Nevertheless, with its cringe-worthily clichéd dialogue, and set pieces that keep the simple treasure-hunt main story flowing, the film has that kind of stupid in the good sense that these film do well in.
Rupert Everett certainly hams things up- or should that be camping it up- reprising his role as the headmaster/leader-of-the-gang-of-feminine-misfits Camilla. David Tennant proves that his career in feature films is not as creditable as his TV work, as he too hams up as the cardboard-cut-out-villain Lord Pomfrey, who wants his mitts on a ring that has been in Camilla's family for over 400 years. And- insert some expression of shock horror here- does get hold of the ring, which results the rest of every single, archetypal, group of girls, under that moment in time- geeks/people-that-are-computer-whizzes , Emos/ Goths/ chicks-that-were-black, posh women/love-to-exaggerate-'OMG'-like-some-kind-of-mime, chavs/street-wise girls, et al- to go and hunt down the other half of the ring before Pomfrey does.
If you can predict what can happen, then you will be right in thinking that this film goes into familiar territory. So expect jokes just to keep the 'cool kids' quiet with such moments as flash mobbing in the train station, or calling everyone a 'tit' in a graveyard, as well as some element of grown-up humour to keep the adults remotely entertaining.
St Trinians 2 might not have aged too well. Yes, you heard me; 3 years can age this kind of family comedy pretty badly! Especially with visual jokes to Amy Winehouse and all the 'trendy' smart phones they're all using, but there should be something remotely funny about seeing Everett and Firth try and act a convincing comic routine out of their rocky relationship. Therefore, if you enjoyed the first one, you might as well complete your taste in this kind of family 'fun' in giving this one a go too. Just do not be surprised when you start face palming every time the writer attempts to write chavette slang into the corny dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars St.Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold., 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
-Absolutely love St.Trinnian's.. The second film sees annabelle as head girl, but also a return of the previous head girl kelly (Gemma Atherton) as they go on a quest to find the legendary Fritton treasure. Good Sequel to the first film which maintains it's humour. The copy i brought, i think, was classed as 'Used -Like New', which is true, the outer box and cd itself are in perfect condition. Brought for cheap and came within the estimated delivery times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A severe let down, 26 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
i bruoght this for my partener as we both love the first addition but we found this second addition lacking and the cast looked as though they were forced to star in dissapionting film. the only plus was that it wasnt a very long film. you were watching this film and constantly waighting for something to happen there was all the buildup to something big but it never arrived.

i wouldnt recomend it to anyone
truely dissapointed
Daddyo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely funny and very well made movie, 29 Oct. 2010
By 
Hywel James "Hywel James" (Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
St Trinian's 2:The Legend of Fritton's Gold (2009) is hugely funny and very well made. Well made in the sense that the acting especially is terrific, particularly the acting of the younger players such as Zawe Ashton, Ella Smith and Tamsin Egerton. Indeed in a number of scenes the youngsters outshine the established members of the cast by virtue of their sheer comic vitality. The locations are apt (Charterhouse School), the many shots of "tourist" London (are any movies made in Britain nowadays that don't show the Eye and the Gherkin?) and the alleged "vaults" beneath the Globe. Likewise the production design, costumes and make-up. All these features have been painstakingly and skilfully done.

So why not five stars? The fact is that "St Trinian's 2" needed many more funny lines - there are some and they are good - but there aren't enough. And the editing needed to be snappier: it's as though space was left after some of the cracks to allow a cinema audience to laugh and then settle down so it could hear the next line.

Having said that, the film is great fun and I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, very poor, 11 July 2010
This review is from: St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD] (DVD)
Like several of the other reviews on here, I couldn't wait for the film to be over. I kow this is a film aimed at kids, but I really can't see it keeping anyone entertained. Where the first film was funny and highly entertaining, this was pure drival in comparison. Don't waste your time, unless rubbish films are what you enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St Trinian's 2 - The Legend Of Fritton's Gold [DVD]
£4.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews