Customer Reviews


44 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of D-Day, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
Charles Roy Flogdell (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent collection of memories from those who took part in this momentous invasion. The words are strict quotes from representatives of all ranks in the language of the individual, making this the most personal and emotional account of D-Day that I have read. Do not wonder why old soldiers often do not speak of such days, just wonder how most lived a normal life after the event.
This is war as seen by soldiers, sailors, airmen and planners, not later analysis by historians. It is an account of bravery, death and horific wounds. It tells of men facing unbelievable odds, the loss of friends and colleagues and yet overcoming the enemy and placing a firm foot on Europe on this, the first day of the long last battle of the second world war.
Read it and be thankful for the sacrifices made that day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully not forgotten voices, 6 July 2009
By 
A. Higgins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my husband, who has enjoyed other books from this series. He thoroughly enjoyed reading it, as the first hand accounts are both fascinating and extrememly moving. The book is very easy to dip into because of its format. My father fought on the Normandy beaches, and so it was especially important for us to read this book. No one can tell the story better than those who were there, and we should record their experiences while they are still with us. Lets hope their sacrifice along with their voices are never forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must, 7 Jun. 2010
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Forgotten Voices series of books are, for me, some of the most moving, eye opening and valuable insights into war and its impact on individuals that are available.
Forgotten Voices of D Day, carries on in the same vein as previous worthy volumes. This is eye witness, participant history of the highest order.
From bomber and glider pilots to naval personnel, paratroopers to meteorologists, Royal Marines to the infantry and even the contribution of conscientious objectors - it's all here, the whole range of human emotion and achievement in the face of huge adversity.
This book sets its stall out early on - one of its "missions" is to redress the balance. That is, to show the D Day landings were not solely an American venture - as the book points out, recent film and TV portrayals and indeed, some non fiction writing, has been dismissive (and in my opinion hugely disrespectful) about the contribution made to the D Day landings by British armed forces and indeed the level of challenge they faced.
This is D Day, unashamedly from a British perspective.
This book covers the preparation, the postponement, the raids on vital bridges and batteries, the landings and the push inland.
The entries are vivid and you can only admire the strength of character of the people whose accounts are included (and of course the many thousands whose are not).
There is so much to admire in this book. It is not just the bravery and utter drive and determination of the people involved it's also their sense of humour and penchant for understatement which goes towards making this a harrowing, exciting,emotional and educational read.
If you are not gripped, if you are not moved, when you read this book,then you may as well give up !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lest we forget, 13 Jun. 2009
It makes me feel humble when I read of the sacrifices made by so many people on our behalf. I would probably not have the freedom and right to even be writing this review should their sacrifices have been in vain. The fact I am able is testament to the bravery, skill and dogged determination to see the job through. This book should be on every school Curriculum. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last a british d-day story, 12 Mar. 2011
By 
A. R. Krantz (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am very pleased with this book. there is a tendency for D-day to be overpublished nowadays, it probably being the battle with the most literature on. The thing is people tend to focus most heavily on the airborne and omaha beach campaigns, indeed some very good films have been made about both. The thing is there were five beaches on D-day and until now not very much wider market material has been published on the British beaches.

This book as all the other books in this series, brings the whole story to life. the build up with slapton disaster, right up to the end of the first day. the british contribution was equally as important and I feel that this book finally creates the much needed balance to the history of this famous battle.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone. this book expertly tells a story that simply has to be known by people in this country in order to preserve our historic struggle in WW2, buy it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, 15 Dec. 2013
By 
Mike Watkinson (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Although this book suffers from the perennial curse of this series; photo's are printed on ordinary paper; it's a more minor issue in this one. The problem with not using decent quality paper for photo's is that detail can be lost. Whether the original photo's used here are larger, better quality, or whether it's because so many of them are more panoramic in nature, not too many of them suffer. That, however, is not why I don't think this is worthy of 5*.

I found the book slightly disappointing because of what it is lacking. The blurb begins "the day the Allied forces crossed the Channel...", but it doesn't deal with the Allied forces. Both the author & the writer of the introduction make the valid point that the British & Commonwealth contribution tends to be under-stated, especially by Hollywood, which naturally focuses on America. The way to redress such an imbalance is not to simply ignore the US!

The FV Great War book drew on recordings of Americans, French & Germans as well as British & Commonwealth memories. I am sure there must be a similar range of recordings in the IWM archive for WWII. Despite that probability, despite the fact that the book begins as far back as early 1942, there is nothing from the Free French; not even anything from Europeans e.g. Poles fighting in British uniform; scarcely anything from women or civilians, nothing from Americans; bar one passage from a US journalist (it does cover the Slapton Sands disaster, and Utah & Omaha beaches, but only from the viewpoint of British servicemen); nothing from the German side, and their memories (if there's any in the archive) would have been of great interest in the context of the book.

The greater oddity is the fact that book stops dead on D-Day. In similar books in the series, such as the Somme & Dunkirk, the timeline begins well before the battle / campaign, and moves through it to the aftermath. D-Day ends on the 6th June, which is an astonishing cut-off. I'm not suggesting that it should have run into the Battle for Normandy, but the author himself acknowledges, in the preamble to the final chapter, that it took a full ten days to fully secure the beaches. To stop it on the 6th denies the reader a wealth of further experience, including any mention of the putting together & use of the iconic Mulberry harbours.

The strength of the book, naturally, is the excellent & varied selection of accounts that have been used. Earlier criticism aside, all 3 services are represented, all branches of those services are represented; you've everything from beach obstacle clearance units to sappers to airmen, landing craft crews, gunners, infantry, commandos, air-crew; rank & file, NCOs, officers & generals are all there. It's a shame about the missing content, but it's a book well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Testimonials: "For your tomorrow, we gave our today", 14 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I highly recommend this book for several reasons. For the first thing, we all have got a warped sense of D-day and who fought that day. Like the introduction says in the book, "Hollywood revels in depicting D-day and the ensuing Battle of Normandy... as an overwhelmingly, if not exclusively, American affair". Hollywood, Stephen Ambrose and Tom Hanks/Stephen Spielberg, all being guilty as charged. And to my horror, being a historian, I discovered, that it's mostly what is taught in schools all over as well. So, this book really is an excellent tool to set history straight.

Secondly, the book is so well put together and so organized that even if you are not particularly well versed in battles and reading about them, you can make a mental picture of what was going on. No, I know very little of guns and tactics, but still could get a lot out of this book, and understand. The different chapters and sub-chapters, always explain what the plan was and what actually happened. Then you get comments from all layers. From top brass down to the privates and THIS makes the book so wonderful. One event is described by many, the bird's view and the little ant's view. Those people at the imperial war museum, really know what they are doing when they commission a book! The major chapters are: Build Up, Countdown, Airborne Assault, Seaborne Assault, Pushing Inland, Holding On, Day's End. So it covers a lot of angles and interesting aspects.

What this book shows more than anything, is that British and Commonwealth citizens were involved on all 5 beaches, in one way or the other. There were as many of them, as there were of Americans! Which both are overlooked facts. And they did not have an easy time on their "own" beaches, at all. Nor in taking their goals, even if Pegasus bridge was taken rather quickly.

The men that have written down their experiences for the IWM are all different. Some bring up all the horror. Some bring up things that make you laugh. Some bring up eccentric leaders or just crazy things that happened. Some what saved their lives. But every comment/story, feels valuable and I am very grateful that they took the time to record all this, since nothing can beat this, first hand accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of D Day, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
Keith Fellowes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An excellent very readable and at times emotional epic. A valuable addition to any history section and should be compulsory in all secordary schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful veterans accounts of d day, 22 Jan. 2010
By 
A. Jasper (cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an excellent veterans account of the D Day, and what happened on the 6th June 1944. Quite an emotional read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WWII, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
Mrs. S. J. Hodgson (N Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If interested in World War II - excellent book to read from a different perspective of those who were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews