Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Greek Tragedy
I enjoyed this immensely; a story with the elements of greek tragedy - characters full of their own success and importance (hubris) and then a plot race to the tragi-comic ending (nemesis). Reading it went by all to fast.
Published 5 months ago by Henry Morris

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cold in Amsterdam
Ian McEwan is, without a doubt, one of the greatest writers of dark fiction today. But his novella "Amsterdam" is something of a misfire, reading more like the sluggishly-filled-out outline for a novel rather than a novel itself. While it has the seeds of genius, his usual introspection and depth is both missing and sorely missed.

Molly Lane is dead, her mind...
Published on 25 Feb 2007 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cold in Amsterdam, 25 Feb 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Amsterdam (Hardcover)
Ian McEwan is, without a doubt, one of the greatest writers of dark fiction today. But his novella "Amsterdam" is something of a misfire, reading more like the sluggishly-filled-out outline for a novel rather than a novel itself. While it has the seeds of genius, his usual introspection and depth is both missing and sorely missed.

Molly Lane is dead, her mind and body wrecked by an unspecified disease. Now her assorted lovers and friends reunite one last time, including Molly's ex-boyfriends Clive and Vernon, respectively a prominent composer and a not-so-respected newspaper editor. Because of Molly, they are friends -- and they enter into a pact because of her death.

But things go awry when Vernon gets his hands on photos of the Foreign Secretary Julian Garmony, cross-dressing and photographed by Molly. Eager to bring down Garmony and bring up his readership, Vernon wants to publish the photos in his newspaper; Clive is disgusted by this, yet he allows a rapist and murderer to go free for the sake of his musical inspiration. Which man is worse?

"Amsterdam" is like a city in winter: pretty at a distance but rather empty and cold when you walk through it. In theory it has all the elements needed for a great novel, but it feels vaguely unfinished, as if McEwan was expanding an outline into a full-fledged novel but somehow never finished the job.

The characters are lacking in the complexity found in most of McEwan's other books, where many dimensions can be found. Clive is almost impossible to connect with; Vernon is more understandable, given his waning career. But if these characters aren't really connectable, McEwan uses them to make us look at morality, hypocrisy, and where our bad intentions can lead us.

Aside from the characters, the prose is simple and straightforward: it describes what the characters do, but very little of what they think. As a result, some of the actions -- such as Clive watching a woman being attacked -- seem almost random. But in places, such as Mrs. Garmony's public speech about her husband and Vernon, his brilliance shines forth, and the entire ending is lit up by the irony.

So while an acceptable novel by most standards, it's perhaps the least of McEwan's works thus far. Has its moments of pure brilliance, but in large patches, it's dreary and empty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A contrived plot ruins the story, 1 Mar 2002
By 
Penguin Egg (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amsterdam (Paperback)
Ian McEwan is Britain's leading literary artist, so anything he publishes should be greeted with enthusiasm. However, this is a disappointment. This is a story of two men: one is a composer, Clive Linley, who is busy writing a symphony; and the other is a newspaper editor, Vernon Halliday, who publishes a series of photos in order to ruin a right-wing politician's career. A mutual lover, Molly Lane, who has since died, took the pictures. To publish them, Linley believes, would be to besmirch the memory of Molly Lane, whom they both loved. They fall out and their friendship sours; eventually, after a series of misunderstandings, themselves plot contrivances, turning to hatred. I won't give away the ending. I will only say that it is ridiculous. McEwan should read more Ian Banks to see how to develop clever but plausible twists to his endings. Failing that, just read a couple of Agatha Christies.
There is a lot that is good in this novel. The characterisation of the two main protagonists is excellent, and the description of the creative process of a composer is marvellous, but this does not save the book. The story fails totally to engage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Two friends "helping" each other, 14 Oct 2005
By 
Linda Oskam "dutch-traveller" (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amsterdam (Paperback)
Or maybe I should say: Two "friends" helping each other. Vernon Halliday and Clive Linley are old buddies. After the funeral of a mutual friend, Molly Lane, who died after a debilitating disease, they promise each other to help the other commit euthanasia if they ever become incapacitated. And then their friendship starts to unravel: Vernon is the editor-in-chief of a good newspaper who, pressured by the ever decreasing sales of the last year, decides to publish pictures of the Minister of Foreign Affairs in a compromising situation. Clive thinks this is very unethical. On the other hand there is Clive, a composer, who during a hiking trip in the Lake District, witnesses a crime, but refuses to go to the police. Vernon considers this unethical. In the end the two "friends" meet in Amsterdam. Apparently to become friends again, but they both have a surprise for the other...

Quite and entertaining read, but I am not sure that this is actually the level of a Booker Prize winner. Atonement by Ian McEwan was a much more complicated novel with more levels in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars At least it's short, 18 Feb 2006
By 
will_de_beest (South Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Amsterdam (Paperback)
I bought Amsterdam at an airport bookshop for less than perfect literary reasons - price, pockability and not being The Da Vinci Code. I finished it in a day and a half, which isn't like me and is probably, in part, a testament to the lucidity of McEwan's prose. The first fifty or so pages make an intriguing set-up, and I rather enjoyed his description of Clive's creative process, so I was looking forward to finding out about the 'disastrous moral decision' each man was about to make.
And after that, as others here have said, it all goes horribly, predictably, unconvincingly, pointlessly wrong. The conclusion is less 'blow to the gut' than 'I can see how this will end and I've still got 100 pages (out of 180) to go'. I've enjoyed McEwan before and had high hopes of this but it really isn't worth even the short time it takes to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What happened to the ending?, 22 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Amsterdam (Hardcover)
This book is a really enjoyable read right up until the last few pages. Dealing with the choices made in life and the consequences of them, McEwan's characters are horribly realistic and familiar - and therefore not particularly endearing. Full of conceit and self-dillusionment, Clive and Vernon become less and less attractive as the book goes on, to the point where by the end we don't particularly care what happens to them. But even if they do not deserve a good ending, surely the reader does. Without saying what happens, it is fair to say the novel descends into farce and the reader is cheated of the ending, the quality of writing in the rest of the book promoised. Overall, it is highly debateable whether the undoubtable high standard of the first part of the book is worth the let-down at the end. Read this....but only if you've nothing else lying around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Greek Tragedy, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this immensely; a story with the elements of greek tragedy - characters full of their own success and importance (hubris) and then a plot race to the tragi-comic ending (nemesis). Reading it went by all to fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A two-dimensional disappointment, 5 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Amsterdam (Paperback)
Considering the subtlety with which most readers associate McEwan, this is a clumsy, cartoony and slightly cheesy story. Had I not known who had written it, I don't think I would have automatically thought of McEwan.
The characters are poorly drawn and completely unlikeable. His dissection of the British news industry has been written better in many other novels. Admittedly, his writing about music composition is insightful and clever.
A fair book but he has written so much better elsewhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When best friends become bitter enemies..., 30 May 2009
By 
Trevor Coote "Trevor Coote" (Tahiti, French Polynesia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amsterdam (Paperback)
Ian McEwan is a popular author because in the main he writes good stories and he writes them well. However, he writes in a style that I find condescending and I sometimes get the impression that he is talking down to his readers. Amsterdam begins - like many novels in recent years - at a funeral. Molly Lane, vibrant and unfaithful wife of publisher George has died young of an unspecified illness. At the funeral are three of her ex-lovers: `hang `em and flog `em' right-wing Foreign Secretary Julian Garmony, unprincipled journalist Vernon Halliday and gratingly self-opinionated orchestral composer Clive Linley. Vernon has in his possession some compromising photographs taken by Molly that could destroy the career of the hated Garmony. His best friend Clive disagrees about whether or not he should use the photos and a rift develops between them. Then, when out walking in the Lake District Clive is faced with a moral decision and fails to act, Vernon finds out, gives his name to the police, and the two friends become bitter enemies. Because of a pact made early in the book between them, the denouement - as so often in McEwan's novels - appears staged and somewhat contrived. A disappointing work, though with one or two nice touches, but another ordinary Booker winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In winter, 1 April 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Amsterdam (Paperback)
Ian McEwan is, without a doubt, one of the greatest writers of dark fiction today. But his novella "Amsterdam" is something of a misfire, reading more like the sluggishly-filled-out outline for a novel rather than a novel itself. While it has the seeds of genius, his usual introspection and depth is both missing and sorely missed.
Molly Lane is dead, her mind and body wrecked by an unspecified disease. Now her assorted lovers and friends reunite one last time, including Molly's ex-boyfriends Clive and Vernon, respectively a prominent composer and a not-so-respected newspaper editor. Because of Molly, they are friends -- and they enter into a pact because of her death.
But things go awry when Vernon gets his hands on photos of the Foreign Secretary Julian Garmony, cross-dressing and photographed by Molly. Eager to bring down Garmony and bring up his readership, Vernon wants to publish the photos in his newspaper; Clive is disgusted by this, yet he allows a rapist and murderer to go free for the sake of his musical inspiration. Which man is worse?
"Amsterdam" is like a city in winter: pretty at a distance but rather empty and cold when you walk through it. In theory it has all the elements needed for a great novel, but it feels vaguely unfinished, as if McEwan was expanding an outline into a full-fledged novel but somehow never finished the job.
The characters are lacking in the complexity found in most of McEwan's other books, where many dimensions can be found. Clive is almost impossible to connect with; Vernon is more understandable, given his waning career. But if these characters aren't really connectable, McEwan uses them to make us look at morality, hypocrisy, and where our bad intentions can lead us.
Aside from the characters, the prose is simple and straightforward: it describes what the characters do, but very little of what they think. As a result, some of the actions -- such as Clive watching a woman being attacked -- seem almost random. But in places, such as Mrs. Garmony's public speech about her husband and Vernon, his brilliance shines forth, and the entire ending is lit up by the irony.
So while an acceptable novel by most standards, it's perhaps the least of McEwan's works thus far. Has its moments of pure brilliance, but in large patches, it's dreary and empty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Contrived and pointless, 23 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Amsterdam (Paperback)
When I finished this book, I was left in shock. I was absolutely speechless, dumbstruck. "Is that it?" I thought. "This won the Booker Prize?" It made no sense. I'd never disliked a Booker Prize winner before. How could this one be so awful?
Then I read some of the reviews on Amazon and realised I was by no means alone. I actually enjoyed wooblywoobly's review (below) more than I enjoyed the book. It's not that Amsterdam is unreadable. McEwan's prose is light and accessible. But this novel is completely and utterly wrecked by it's horribly contrived plot. And I mean *wrecked*. It is shallow, unconvincing and feels rushed - ironically just like the music composed by the character Clive.
We're supposed to believe that these two typical middle class men, Clive and Vernon (a composer and a newspaper editor), could enter into a euthanasia pact and then attempt follow it through without any good reason to do so. They fall out and suddenly murder is on the cards. Does this sound like any typical middle class men you know? I do hope not. It is the most contrived story I have ever read.
This plot might have held together if McEwan had managed to include some kind of significant character development in the novel. But it's not there. The characters don't visibly descend into madness. They are completely soulless and their story is told with dry, suspenseless narration throughout.
Avoid this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amsterdam
Amsterdam by Ian McEwan
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews