Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


133 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not An Elephant in Sight..
I've had this book on order for months - and I rushed home to rip open the package and get reading when it arrived from Amazon.
And there was no Discworld.. No turtle, no elephants, no witches, no dwarves - nothing - nothing but Terry and his beautiful, perceptive way of understanding and writing about human nature, life, the universe and everything..
I get the...
Published on 10 Sep 2008 by Margaret Gallagher

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Nation Unto Himself
Having read nearly all Sir Terry Pratchett’s novels through the years I have to say that he is one of my all-time favourite authors, but he is prone to whimsy. The poorest Discworld novels always descend into a combination of heartfelt mawkishness combined with ethereal spirituality that I don’t think works. Perhaps then, this is why ‘Nation’...
Published 15 days ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

133 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not An Elephant in Sight.., 10 Sep 2008
By 
Margaret Gallagher (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nation (Hardcover)
I've had this book on order for months - and I rushed home to rip open the package and get reading when it arrived from Amazon.
And there was no Discworld.. No turtle, no elephants, no witches, no dwarves - nothing - nothing but Terry and his beautiful, perceptive way of understanding and writing about human nature, life, the universe and everything..
I get the feeling that what he has gifted us with, this time, was too important to be hidden cunningly among the wonderful characters and humour of the discworld series. Although the Tiffany Aching books are pretty special, and give my favourite (Small Gods) a run for its money..

What Terry Pratchett doesn't know about people, quantum physics and spiritual philosophy isn't worth knowing.. And the way he engages us, and leads us through both his stories, and the breadth and depth of life and being human, in this place - and at this time - speaks of both love and poetry. This is a beautiful book - and it was worth going in to work half asleep - because I couldn't put it down and get myself off to bed until I'd finished it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic in the truest sense, 2 Oct 2008
This review is from: Nation (Hardcover)
I want to add my review here of Nation but it's actually an extraordinarily difficult thing to do. The reason is that I don't want to appear to be `gushing' with praise for it. If ever I read such a review, it normally has the effect of turning me off the book completely, as it's obviously written by a fan who hasn't read a different author or genre since they left primary school. In view of this, here's what I genuinely thought of it:
I finished the book last night and my immediate thought was `Oh my gosh, this is a classic'. This is a book that will be discussed, debated and written about for years to come. It's a bit like being around when a new Dickens or Jane Austin novel came out.
The plot has been mentioned here already, so I won't repeat it again. I see that some reviewers have said that Nation is pitched at older children in their teens, but don't be fooled. This book has so much depth and can be read at so many levels, there's enough here to keep 10 year old Harry Potter fans to Academic Philosophers happy. The writing style is as clear and sparkling as cut crystal and while reading it, Pratchett takes your conscious mind out of this world and into his. You become each character, looking through their eyes, thinking their thoughts and feeling their every emotion. It is a fully immersive experience. The book also engages the brain by making you think about how societies and belief systems are created and our place in them. It is also a book to make you think about what makes you, you. If ever there was a book that could provide software upgrade for your brain, this is it.

Terry, I'll probably never meet you in person, but thank you for such a special gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 142 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Usual Pratchett Brilliance, 9 Sep 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nation (Hardcover)
So, first things first - this is not a Discworld book, which marks it as somewhat of a departure from the norm. Secondly, it's wonderful, made all the more wonderful by its separation from the usual Narrative Elements of a Terry Pratchett novel.

I received the book today and read it in a single sitting - bits of the book are tremendously sad, other bits are tremendously bitter - I do wonder how much of the book is a metaphor for TP's own deeply sad condition. There aren't many laughs in the book, but there is a very touching, emotionally resonant story that at its core is greatly optimistic.

I do hope that this isn't the last book we'll see from Terry Pratchett, who as an author has given me a greater Enjoyment to Hour ratio than any other writer. If this is to be his swan song though, he's carried it off marvellously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An utterly delightful piece of writing, 13 Oct 2009
This review is from: Nation (Paperback)
In many of his novels, the wisdom of Terry Pratchett has lurked beneath the surface comedy of his Discworld. In Nation, he writes about a world which is almost recognisable as ours although distanced by history and by its setting on a small island somewhere in the Great Pelagic Ocean.

Mau, a young boy, is completing the ceremony that will induct him into manhood but when he returns to his home there is no banquet. Instead he has to dispose of the bodies of his entire tribe, killed by a massive wave, and to begin his life anew. He is soon joined by Ermintrude, the trouserman girl, from another place and another culture. Between them, they have to learn to understand not only each other, but the needs of their growing tribe of castaways and refugees.

Yet this is no Lord of the Flies, shocking us with man's basic savagery. It is the opposite and is in many ways a more profound and more moving work as the young people work to construct a new civilisation, questioning the religions and the values of their own culture. Mau finds it hard to accept that his gods would condemn his tribe and debates their existence with an elderly priest whilst Ermintrude or Daphne,as she becomes, gradually learns to throw off the prejudices of English society and the values of her frightful grandmother.

This is a delightful piece of writing in which Pratchett's flair for comedy is never far from the surface. It is a wise and optimistic piece of writing. It may be intended for young people but it is a book which many adults will take great pleasure from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw-dropping, 10 Sep 2008
By 
ds (Whitby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nation (Hardcover)
One of the funny things about Terry Pratchett is how easy it is to take him for granted. It's probably a truism to say that he hasn't really written a truly bad book. It could be levelled at him, however, that during middle-period Discworld books like Jingo, he was running on autopilot to some degree. All that changed around the period of The Truth and Thief of Time, where suddenly he seemed to find another gear entirely, which has given us wonderful Discworld novels such as Night Watch and the sublime Going Postal, not to mention the series of related Discworld stories starring Tiffany Aching and the Nac Mac Feegle.

Nation is a product of this later, and ongoing, period, but it is something of a departure. It isn't even a Discworld novel. Instead, it appears to take place in our own world, or some parallel version of it, with a distinctly mid-Victorian feel.

The root of the story is The Wave and how it is seen from the viewpoint of both Mau and Ermin...sorry, Daphne (don't worry, it gets explained later in the book). Mau is the sole survivor of The Nation, returning from the ritual exile that begins each boy's initiation into manhood to find his whole society has been wiped out by The Wave. At the same time, the ship in which Daphne is travelling, the Sweet Judy, is wrecked upon the same island during the same [literally] cataclysmic storm.

Apart from just trying to stay alive in the first place, Mau also seems to have to contend with the voices of The Grandfathers calling out to him; actually, ordering him around might be nearer the mark. Survival in these conditions isn't easy, from finding something to start a fire to worrying about the predations of the Raiders. And then there's the Ghost Girl, who wears trousers and carries the portable roof. How do you keep The Nation alive from there? Against the odds, Mau, the Ghost Girl and the others who gradually begin to arrive seem to start making a good fist of it. But there are still enormous obstacles in the way...

Nation is a book overflowing with ideas and, in the end, is one of a more humanist inclination. That is not to say that it is not a spiritual book: quite the opposite. Spirituality is talked about an awful lot, as is the need to be curious and to ask questions about the world around you. Indeed, along the way, the reader gets a more than adequate (and cunningly insinuated) grounding in the workings of scientific method. There is also no cliched happy ending, just a real one, with a rather nice epilogue as it happens; it's nice not to have a cop-out.

For me the standout part of the book is its beginning, and the aftermath of The Wave. Rarely has Pratchett written so powerfully, or indeed so bleakly. There is real emotional force and sadness in his description of Mau's return to his destroyed village home. This is the starting point for another of the book's wider themes: the change from childhood to adulthood, from innocence to knowledge: adolescence. Here, Nation reminded me a great deal of Philip Pullman's his Dark Materials (particularly The Amber Spyglass ). Indeed, like HDM, I would say that Nation isn't a "children's" book at all, just a book that both children and young adults would enjoy reading.

As one would expect from TP, none of this is done in a pompous or po-faced way. He rather has the habit of sidling big ideas like these into his books under cover of gags. After all this time, it's fairly safe to say he hasn't lost his touch. I'd even go as far as to say that, especially because of its beginning, this may be the finest thing he has written (and this, remember, is the author who was responsible, with Neil Gaiman, for the wondrous Good Omens). Given his track record that is saying something, but I think it may be true.

Unreservedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from Pratchett, 16 Sep 2008
By 
J. Forster (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nation (Hardcover)
Britain's most popular fantasy satirist returns with his new non-Discworld novel and he doesn't disappoint. Nation is a possible world comic fantasy based on a version of Earth set in a time equivalent to our nineteenth century. The novel takes place in the fictional South Pelagic Islands (somewhere in the equivalent of our South Pacific) and after a tsunami wreaks havoc we follow the fortunes of Mau, the sole survivor of an island known as `The Nation', and shipwrecked English teenager named Daphne (the daughter of the heir-by-circumstance to the English throne).

As with all Pratchett novels the satire is sharp, penetrating and most-importantly laugh out loud; furthermore, that characteristic Pratchett wisdom is deeply embedded within the jokes.

In Nation the themes include the question of identity: Mau's own sense of personal identity is present throughout, as well as his identity in other people's eyes. The annihilation of his people by the tsunami robs Mau of the fulfilment of the journey from man to boy (he never gets to complete the ceremony that would make him a man in his society). However, despite his own worries about this he completes the journey through his deeds and the responsibility he assumes (and is granted by later arrivals) gives birth to his maturity. Moreover, Mau has to consider the role of community in his own sense of identity: in the absence of the community, to what extent does he still belong to it? What constitutes the community - the physical existence of the people or the rules and ideology it embraces?

This conflict is acutely felt by Mau throughout the book: his ancestors, The Grandfathers, `speak' to him inside his head and order him to continue the traditions of The Nation, yet Mau also feels it within himself to question these traditions, especially those in relation to the Gods, in light of the tsunami and his own attempts to re-establish society on the island.

Mau's scepticism about traditional theological beliefs and his conflict with the priest Ataba also provide us with an example typically thought-provoking undertone to Pratchett's satire. Mau struggles to reconcile the idea that the Gods act for the good of the people with the state of affairs he has survived and has to live with; Ataba's commitment to obedience to the traditions counterbalance this and offer insight into the role and importance of faith in forming strong community bonds and identity. Pratchett does not seem to suggest in Nation that one view is preferable over another, although Ataba's faith leads to his demise and the Nation's ultimate victory and contribution to wider culture is emphatically a scientific one.

This brings us to a criticism found in Nation of the attitudes of so-called civilised societies toward `savage' ways of life; in particular the treatment of indigenous peoples and their cultural traditions by the imperialist European conquerors. The reaction of Daphne when she first encounters Mau and the behaviour, later in the book, of English mutineers on the island demonstrate that if history is to attach the label of `savage' to anyone then it belongs firmly with the European `civilisers'; Pratchett, it seems, is keen to lower his hat to the achievements of the advanced ancient civilisations, now lost to history and in some cases silenced either by the power of force - external or internal.

There is plenty more in Nation: for example I found some delightful commentary on the nature of language and communication, and the humanity of human beings is redeemed as the means to breaking down cultural barriers; it is arrogance and presumption of moral rightness that sends cross-cultural relations awry.

It is because Pratchett's novels are so loaded with philosophical and other thought-provoking themes, alongside his ability to render these in accessible and light-hearted way, that they have so much appeal. The dialogue in Nation is as good as any other of Pratchett's Discworld novels and what I so much enjoy of Pratchett is the way he creates fantastic situations but keeps us involved, connected and ultimately nodding away with the ordinary feel of the dialogue; he manages to avoid fantasy cliché so often simply by giving us characters and responses to the fantastic that we can all understand and relate to. For example, the blossoming romance between Mau and Daphne is full of all the awkwardness of any teenage romance. The exercise is not simply escapism, but the feeling that we are being confronted with situation that is genuinely human in spite of the exotic events that surround it.

Overall, Nation possesses all the qualities that make Terry Pratchett such a readable and much-loved author: escapism, thought-provoking satire, razor-sharp dialogue and characters we can all identify with. Now that I am finished with Nation I suffer the same reaction I do to all Pratchett novels: a deep disappointment that I have finished, but an excited anticipation of the next; although I have no doubt I will be picking it up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and thoughtful, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nation (Paperback)
In my eyes, Terry Pratchett can do no wrong, and this book does nothing to persuade me otherwise. I have been reading him since the very beginning and his books have always been something to look forward to. I was somewhat nervous of this book, as it had mixed reviews and the subject matter didn't hold a huge appeal for me, but as I have turned the pages I have been proved wrong, and have lingered over this book, savouring every last minute of it. Other critics have complained that it is too simplistic compared to Pratchett's usual fare. Others have made the apology that this book should be simplistic, because it is for children. I do not accept this. Pratchett's Tiffany Aching series, which is written for children too, is neither simplistic nor patronising, and is head and shoulders above all the other Discworld books. Children, as Pratchett clearly sees, do not need things simplifying or explaining in baby language.

I do not think Nation is a simple book, and I think that anyone who thinks it is, is obviously not reading in properly. There are profound thoughts in this book about life, death, birth, science, religion and our place in the universe. They may be phrased in language you can understand, but that doesn't mean they don't pose profound questions and offer thought provoking ways of looking at the world. This book also talks about the rights of man to ownership of the planet, what we do to the land we live on, what we do to the people who live there, and talks about the dangers of doing what some critics have done here, which is accept that if something is simple it is somehow stupid or worthless, and also accepted the frankly naive assumption that what they think and feel and see is the most important or cleverest thing to think or feel or see, just like the evil Cox and his cronies in the book.

The biggest and most profound ideas are often the most simple. Simple doesn't always mean stupid.

You should read this book. Pratchett has the highly enviable gift of being able to write books which are entirely readable, and which always have something to say that is worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Nation (Kindle Edition)
Pratchett has always been at his best not while writing about wizards and magic,which for me often got in the way and resulted in contrived Deus Ex Machina endings to his books, but while writing about people,the way people think and behave,and the things and people that matter to them,getting inside their heads and providing an insight into their humanity.

Often he uses humour to shine a light on the absurdity of some of the ways in which people behave,but they are not,to my mind,humourous books per se.

Nation is a book about people. It isn't particularly funny. I wholeheartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different but definitely worth it, 7 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Nation (Hardcover)
This latest offering from Terry Pratchett is not a discworld novel, instead it is a standalone story set on what would be a South Pacific island were it not set in a parallel universe.

Still, even in such a place, the customs and practices of the trousermen will be familiar, as will the tentative romance, the power of loss and the need of the human species to stop, every so often, and ask why.

Mau is an unlikely hero, but inspires both heart breaking sorrow and pride in his strength of character. Daphne is, as many of Pratchett's heroines, courageous, slightly sarcastic and steadfast in her uncertainty.

This book is darker than previous novels, Pratchett sometimes spears through the heart with the simplest of lines, and tragedy is a necessary undercurrent throughout the tale. At the end of the book, the author invites you to think, although surely by this point, the thinking has already begun.

A different, but rewarding novel. Probably not a good initiation into Pratchett's world, but a must for those who appreciate the subtleties of his fantastic writing skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and moving and very different, 31 Oct 2009
This review is from: Nation (Paperback)
Just finished Nation with tears running down my face for the last 20 minutes (BTW I am a middle-aged bloke not given to over sentimentality). Not because it is sad but because it is beautiful, intelligent and thoughtful in its reflection on the nature of reality, growing up and the nature of heroism. It is not without its faults and some of the more spiritual elements are a little loose. There are however a number of subtleties contained in the plotting and plot lines reconnect with each other almost without you noticing. Besides anyone who actually wants "perfection" from a novel had better simply give up now.

This is a very different Terry Pratchett book and it is actually quite difficult to see it as a "children's book" - both in terms of style and content. The commentary is wry and wise rather than laugh out loud funny (though I did at times) and its targets are of a more philosophical nature than the usual socio/political satire.

It is much easier if you simply approach it as a book and not as the next in a long line of TP novels. Many discworld fans will simply find this disappointing. To balance that, many readers who find TP's other work not to their taste should give this a go as it is so unlike his usual output (though should not be regarded as a "way in" for a reluctant TP convert - it really is a one off).

For me it was rather wonderful. Thank you Terry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x11330d98)

This product

Nation
Nation by Terry Pratchett
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews