Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars52
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2009
This book is written from inside the skin of someone with a very different thought process from most people. It is heartwarming, heartbreaking, funny, sad and entertaining all at once. Further, it helped me understand my son with Aspergers better and to not overreact to his more unusual behavior. A good read, though the language is a bit rough and completely frank, so its not for the younger readers. The audio book is even better, as you get to hear it in teh author's own voice.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2011
An interesting look at the author's struggles with social interaction which were only identified well into adulthood as Asperger's syndrome. A useful read and a reminder of the need not to jump to conclusions about our fellow human beings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This book was so interesting and I was unable to put it down. My eight year old son has aspergers syndrome and this book has made me look at this in a completely different way. I have more confidence in his future and feel like celebrating his unique skills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger'sThis book was reccomended to me by a friend.My grandson has Aspergers and i need to understand the condition.Funny in parts,and helping me a great deal.Ido think if you have a child on the 'Spectrum' you should read this.It gives you hope for your child.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
I have Aspergers and found this story of a guy with the condition quite interesting. The first few chapters describe our hero as an obnoxious child and an annoying teenager. So nothing particularly to do with autism. His father has a drink problem and his mother has mental issues. He leaves home and his obsessions lead to jobs in the music industry. In particular with a popular singing group called Kiss He moves on and takes jobs which eventually lead to management positions. Management positions mean dealing with people rather than the things that you are actually good at. Been there done that. Eventually he is diagnosed and begins to deal with the condition. The most telling comment for me was when he says that we don't prefer our own company. We don't like having no friends. We just don't know how to have friends. Everything seems to work out for him in the end however.
It's readable and interesting and adds something to the knowledge on the subject.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Parts of John Elder Robison's life were hard and are hard to read about. But like the main character in Shawshank Redemption, he climbs out of his particular hell and gets his life figured out. This book is informative about the author's struggle with the symptoms of Asperger's Syndrome, inspiring as it traces his life's journey of coping and discovery, and entertaining for its pranks, anecdotes, and insider revelations about the music and electronic gaming industries.

The older brother of Running with Scissors author Augusten Burroughs, John Elder describes his life in that extremely troubled family. His mother's mental illness, his father's alcoholism, and his own difficulties in relating to other children isolated John Elder and created a deep sense of loneliness that did not diminish until adulthood. Escaping by dropping out of high school, John Elder leaves town for a consuming job repairing musical equipment for a high-profile rock group. He describes his gradually successful efforts to reach out of his very private world and connect with friends, his first wife, his son, and then his second wife. Readers feel his sense of closure later in the book as he eventually returns to his home town and rebuilds relationships with his parents and childhood schoolmates. He goes home again, and makes it work out.

John Elder did not learn about Asberger's Syndrome until he was 40 years old, and had already worked out how to approach life with his own personal palette of strengths and weaknesses. Now able to reinterpret the challenges of growing up, he gives readers a guided tour of the effect of Asperger's on his life. We see him struggle to understand how other children think, how to talk to them, and how to cope with recurring rejection from them. We also see how his single-minded focus on machines and electronics turned him into a talented sound engineer and special effects wizard. In his adult life we experience his exhilarating success as a toy company R&D engineer, then his unfulfilling struggle to manage people as a corporate executive. He finally leaves to run his own high-end car repair business and is happy again working with machines and directly with people who appreciate his skills.

This book is an inspirational tale of a challenging life rebuilt into a fulfilling one. It gives one view of what it is like to live day-to-day with Asperger's Syndrome. Readers who want to know more about this condition can follow the author's recommendations and read Tony Attwood's The Complete Guide to Asperger's Syndrome or explore the web site of the Online Asperger Syndrome Information and Support Site (OASIS). Both are highly recommended by this reviewer as well.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
Having read and enjoyed Augusten Burrough's books, I was interested in reading his brother's story, both for its own sake as an insight into an Aspergian's life, and also to see how/if it dovetailed with Burrough's accounts of the family. I was not disappointed - a fascinating book in an easy-to-read style.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 December 2007
I enjoyed reading John Elder's memoirs. They could have been belonged to anyone who toured with bands (KISS in this case) during the seventies but were more interesting because his accounts were maybe not quite what you'd expect. He didn't take advantage of the opportunities that others in his position could have and his explanations were insightful as well as entertaining.

The author didn't have the best upbringing but rather than dwell on that, he tells amusing accounts of his growing up and relationships; from his brother 'Varmint' to the fascinating understanding of his wife.

It's a book that looks back on childhood but also moves on to adulthood. I felt the later chapters had more information as an insight to Asperger's but I found the whole book was an enjoyable read.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
This is easy to read, and I could hardly put it down. It was funny and engaging and touching. Gave me insight into a different way of being, and a look into an unusual life.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
This was a very entertaining book which takes you through the authors journey. It is both funny and sad in equal degrees and provides a valuable insight into living with Aspergers syndrome. As such it is an excellent choice both for those with the condition and for friends and family members.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse