Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent season
This Dutch import works perfectly on British dvd players. You just have to choose the option to remove the subtitles.

This year is another top-notch season after a slight dip in quality in season 6. The Unwanted delves into Pascoe's family life when he returns home for a wedding. Pascoe faces hostility from his family due to his decision to join the police...
Published on 22 Jan. 2010 by Blackhorse47

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment
"Dalziel and Pascoe" is a great programme and each episode makes for an engrossing bit of television. My complaint with this DVD is its misleading advertising. This is NOT the "entire series 7". The Christmas special "Dialogues of the Dead" which is labelled as part of the series is not among the discs. Very disappointing
Published on 10 Jan. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent season, 22 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Seven - 4-DVD Box Set ( Dalziel and Pascoe - Entire Series 7 ) (DVD)
This Dutch import works perfectly on British dvd players. You just have to choose the option to remove the subtitles.

This year is another top-notch season after a slight dip in quality in season 6. The Unwanted delves into Pascoe's family life when he returns home for a wedding. Pascoe faces hostility from his family due to his decision to join the police rather than help on the family farm, although when the bodies start piling up his new line of work turns out to be more helpful. Sins of the Father also continues the family theme, this time with Dalziel and his sister, excellently played by Anne Reid. Dalziel investigates the Catholic Church in a case that becomes personal. James Bolam plays a strong role. Both these episodes are decent, but some of the conflict in the family backstory and how it links into the cases comes over as a bit contrived. The other two episodes are very strong though and amongst the best. For Love nor Money sees Dalziel in obsessive mode as he attempts to put away a career villain who has somehow evaded justice so far. And the pick of the season is Mens Sana in which Dalziel treats his poor health at a residential clinic where of course people are dying. The comedic aspects of the series, which are usually subtle and underplayed, are ramped up here, and it features a good performance from Norman Wisdom.

This year also starts the rapid change of recurring characters, which continues for the rest of the run. Sadly this is Wieldy's last season and Ivor Novello has now gone after several years to be replaced, briefly, by Bomber Harris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 10 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Seven - 4-DVD Box Set ( Dalziel and Pascoe - Entire Series 7 ) (DVD)
"Dalziel and Pascoe" is a great programme and each episode makes for an engrossing bit of television. My complaint with this DVD is its misleading advertising. This is NOT the "entire series 7". The Christmas special "Dialogues of the Dead" which is labelled as part of the series is not among the discs. Very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing episodes, 14 Jan. 2011
By 
James L. Gideon "Jim Gideon" (Killeen, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Seven - 4-DVD Box Set ( Dalziel and Pascoe - Entire Series 7 ) (DVD)
The Christmas special "Dialogues of the Dead" which is labelled as part of the series is not among the discs. Very disappointing.

Also, even though I'm glad these dutch-produced DVDs are available, they are a poor substitute for the real thing. Even though the quality is acceptable, the absence of subtitles (in English) is a serious deficiency for me, a Texas Yank who enjoys British mysteries far more than those produced here, but who sometimes has difficulty understanding some of the dialogue -- even when I rewind and replay several times. So subtitles are very important to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right up my alley!, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Seven - 4-DVD Box Set ( Dalziel and Pascoe - Entire Series 7 ) (DVD)
I'm a big warren clarke fan and I love detective programes in general.

everything from a touch of frost to The Mrs. Bradley Mystries i will simply lap it up

so this series is very up my street

Clarke is on fine form as usual as the slightly unpc but brillaint Andy Dalizel

the crimes are quite grim but the main leads are very solid as any character in these shows have to be

I have collected all 12 series of Dalizel and Pasco except Diolouges of the dead which I cant get at present

can recommed this series to any crime fan

the only thing that i disliked it the dutch subtiles but they can be easily taken off your screen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dig This Show!, 12 Jun. 2010
By 
Michael Royer "ex-Disney cartoonist" (Medford, Oregon, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Seven - 4-DVD Box Set ( Dalziel and Pascoe - Entire Series 7 ) (DVD)
I'm writing this because I don't like to ignore a request from Amazon UK and wanna be a nice guy. I really enjoy this series. I wanna owe em all on DVD. If the only way I can do that is to get the discs from the Netherlands, so be it. Just wish the company releasing these shows had included the "special" episode written by D n' P's creator. Maybe one day..although it doesn't show up in set 8 either. *sigh*. The curse of being a completest. Love the show, the discs look great...need I really say more. If you don't care for this show you're not readin' this anyway, and if you dig the show like I do you don't need any convincing. If you don't have it, buy it now. Life is short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality is Good, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Seven - 4-DVD Box Set ( Dalziel and Pascoe - Entire Series 7 ) (DVD)
A great watch, but you have to stop the subtitles at start of each disc in the series as it is a Dutch version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to watch, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Seven - 4-DVD Box Set ( Dalziel and Pascoe - Entire Series 7 ) (DVD)
It was great watching this programme when it was on T.V and I shall watch it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift!!, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Seven - 4-DVD Box Set ( Dalziel and Pascoe - Entire Series 7 ) (DVD)
I bought this as a gift for my friend as she loves the programme! It is towards her Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can't recommend this highly enough, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
Carolyn MOULET (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Seven - 4-DVD Box Set ( Dalziel and Pascoe - Entire Series 7 ) (DVD)
I enjoy each and every episode and go from one to another as they are just so good and highly entertaining. A must watch for detective lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dalziel and Pascoe - Series Seven - 4-DVD Box Set ( Dalziel and Pascoe - Entire Series 7 ) (DVD)
watch the whole series and you will not be disappointed, we love it, sadly they stopped doing the series and we no longer will see the great patnership between two men who respect and love each other, we only have a couple of boxed sets left to go as we have managed to collect up to series ten, oh well we can start at the beginning again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews