Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flippin' Eyck, he's got a long snorkel !!! More on that story later....
This is a great 3 disc collection featuring some intriguing Hammer thrillers that were made in the 1950s and 1960s.

Here's a summary of each film:

Disc One
STOP ME BEFORE I KILL (1960)
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1
Running Time: 108 minutes
Directed by Val Guest
Starring Ronald Lewis, Diane Cilento, Claude Dauphin, Bernard Braden,...
Published on 16 May 2010 by Jeremy W. Newbould

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hammer before the blood flowed
all the films are a bit slow and a bit dull , the plots are nothing new,but would be excellent viewing if shown by bbc2 on a wet sunday afternoon when you got nothing else to do.
Cash on demand - shows off Peter Cushing acting , but the suspence is hardly edge of the seat.
these are the dammed - again show us an excellent olly reede as disenchanted youth who...
Published 22 months ago by tim.62


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review for Cash on Demand, 27 Nov 2012
This review is from: Icons of Suspense: Hammer Films [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is for Cash on Demand only.

I think it is criminal that such a film does not have a standalone dvd release.
Cash on Demand further highlights the supreme acting abilities of Peter Cushing. Here he plays a scrooge like bank manager who is duped into handing over the banks money two days before Christmas by a suave professional bank robber. For the most part the film is par excellence, great dialogue, direction and little things going on in every scene. The ending for me was a little far fetched and disappointing, but it didn't take too much from this very rare delighful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb value - 6 brilliant films, 14 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Icons of Suspense: Hammer Films [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is quite simply a stunning value-for-money box set. You get six really excellent thrillers, all thoroughly engrossing and entertaining. Ignore the screen ratio of 4:3 in the product description - these films are all in their original widescreen (anamorphic) aspect ratios.

To those who think that Hammer only produced gothic horror films - Dracula, Frankenstein and the like - think again! These films are a million miles away from all that, so if you are not a fan of horror films (I AM incidentally) then please DON'T BE PUT OFF. You will be missing a treat. These are stylish thrillers with contemporary settings.

For fans of British thrillers, and British films in general, DON'T HESITATE - BUY THIS SET WHILE IT'S STILL AVAILABLE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value Boxed Set, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Icons of Suspense: Hammer Films [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A great collection at a great price. I really bought this boxed set for just one film because it was better value than buying an individual copy of the film. The film in question is "The Snorkel". This is a film I saw when I was VERY young and it made a lasting impression on me. Watching it again after so many years, I was not disappointed. The other 5 films were a bonus. They are all rather dated now but are nonetheless enjoyable to a lesser or greater degree. Of the others, I enjoyed the Peter Cushing film "Cash On Demand" best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer Icons of Suspense dvd, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Suspense: Hammer Films [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
From the age of 16, I was a Hammer film fan, and still am. I'm now in my 60s. I had never seen any of the films in this collection until now, and I must say the picture and sound quality on these old films is remarkable. It's a pity British distributors don't pick up these films as not everyone has a multi region player. Have recommended it to my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare Hammer Gems, 25 May 2010
By 
T. Turner (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Icons of Suspense: Hammer Films [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I've just finished watching Cash On Demand, Never Take Sweets From A Stranger and The Snorkel from this set.

These are great black and white rarities from Hammer and much overlooked. Full of atmosphere, suspense, great performances and wonderful cinematography, the films all have a nice sting in the tail. Cash On Demand features the best performances from Cushing and Morell that you'll ever seen.

Well worth the money for six films - you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hammer glory, 18 Aug 2010
By 
S. Holmes (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Suspense: Hammer Films [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
There are some gems on this dvd. If you aea Hammer fan, you will definately need this. Recommended all the way. Pity there are no commentaries/extras except trailers though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation of six films., 25 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Icons of Suspense: Hammer Films [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A three disc compilation set of six films, horror, and scientific suspense, from columbia pictures, shame its only region one though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Suspense: Hammer Films [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Peter Cushing is my favorite actor EVER. DVD versions of his films are sometimes hard to find. This is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. J. Henderson "Jonboy Geordieguy" (UK North East) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icons of Suspense: Hammer Films [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
was a great gift for Xmas and arrived well in time cant thank you enough for a good DVD many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Mrs. S. Draffan (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Icons of Suspense: Hammer Films [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have searched for this film for years (Never take Sweets from a Stranger) and had the added bonus of the other films on the DVD.
This is more of a remark than a review. The product was promised as NEXT DAY delivery and it was in my hands in well under 24 hours. City Link is so reliable and safe and I applaud Amazon for using this company. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews