Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but very good
The two reviewers before me seem to have missed the point entirely. Why bother to review (and, what's worse, give one star) just to say there is something wrong with the 'aspect ration', whatever that is. The other reviewer thought that the plot was weak. On the contrary, the writer overcomes a major plot problem with great finesse, and turns the whole thing into...
Published on 24 April 2010 by amantedofado

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent idea, but a bit over the top
This isn't a badly made film by any stretch of the imagination, but I really struggled to enjoy it for a few reasons. The basic idea of illustrating how members of a family deal with grief in different ways is a decent one, but in practice it's done in an extremely heavy handed way which makes the whole experience a little bit shallow in my opinion.

The main...
Published on 28 Jun. 2012 by Mr. S. A. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but very good, 24 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest [DVD] (DVD)
The two reviewers before me seem to have missed the point entirely. Why bother to review (and, what's worse, give one star) just to say there is something wrong with the 'aspect ration', whatever that is. The other reviewer thought that the plot was weak. On the contrary, the writer overcomes a major plot problem with great finesse, and turns the whole thing into something much more problem. The problem is how to introduce the pregnant Rose into her dead lover's parents' household at a time when their grief is fresh. Normally, they would know his girlfriend as a matter of course, or he and Rose would have been living apart for some considerable time, and so weakening the parent-son and brother-brother bonds to some degree. There is a key passage in which Rose talks to Bennet's father and tells him everything about what happened between them. It seems they had been in love with each other for four years, but he only got up the courage to speak to her on the day they meet, go to bed, and are victims of a fatal car crash in which he dies. It's those four years of unspoken love that allow her to sum it up: 'He was the love of my life'. You have to take that seriously, and then perhaps to understand that her grief is the greater, in that she will never love or be loved with that intensity for the rest of her life. This is serious stuff that transforms an ordinary grief movie into something more.

Of course, neither Piers Brosnan nor Susan Sarandon is strong enough to make this work as well as it might, and the writing (despite that very fine plot resolution) simply isn't up to it. The film suffers too from the American propensity for 'redemption' at the end of novels and films. A French director might have made more of this.

But I've given it four stars to acknowledge the stellar quality of Carey Mulligan, both the most beautiful and most expressive of actresses from her generation. The Greatest, like An Education, is very much worth watching just for her performance, for her dazzling smiles, and for the European subtlety she brings to her role. Sarandon's mother is unsympathetic, Brosnan's father seems too remote until he achieves redemption in grief, but Rose ties everything together, through her own loss and her pregnancy. Don't let these one-star reviews persuade you not to buy or borrow this. It may not be the greatest film you will ever see, but, curiously enough, you may find that you never forget it, because Rose's story is so exquisitely painful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not The Greatest but......., 8 Jun. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this film advertised as a trailer and the wife suggested she might like to see it!
Say no more and I promptly purchased said item.
Can't say I was disappointed too much at having to watch it though.
Terrific performance by Carey Mulligan and excellent by Pierce Brosnan (didn't think I'd ever say that!) Susan Sarandon was, as ever, marvellous and there was a good supporting role by the actor playing her youngest son, sorry can't remember his name but very good all the same.
Plot a bit thin, centring around a very difficult subject of bereavement which I found to be handled very well, but as initimated cannot fault the acting.
As I say Not the Greatest but well worth the cost of a DVD and a bottle of wine to watch it with.
Spoil the wife she'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a lovely film filled with great emotion and hope, 15 Feb. 2011
By 
vera - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest [DVD] (DVD)
this film stars two of the biggest names in hollywood, pierce brosnan and susan sarrandon and is filled with drama, emotion and hope it really touches you deep inside its one of the better films ive seen in ages
susan sarandon places grace a mother with two sons bennet and ryan, bennet is the elder and favourite son, pierce brosnan plays the father an affectionate yet emotional withdrawn man who has extreme difficulty expressing his emotions

bennet is killed in a car wreck and grace falls apart giving such an emotional and heart breaking depiction of a mother losing her beloved son she made me cry, allen the father shuts down not dealing with his pain not even really accepting his son has gone, he deals by staying strong and yet remote almost in his own world, incapable of reaching either his remaining son or wife, ryan the tounger brother deals with his grief by withdrawing from his family and dabbling in drug use

into this malstrom of emotion comes rose, bennets love, the women he adored even though they only got together that night, and only slept with one another once, they had watched each other from afar and slowly fallen in love over 4 years

rose is pregnant, the result of her one and only night with bennet, the night he was killed, she was in the car with him but surrvived, she has no where else to go and allen takes her in, grace is anti the idea and at best ignores her at worst treats her with disdain as if she is to be blamed for her sons passing

now im not going to tell you anymore as i dont want to spoil this wonderful film, its a must see for anyone who enjoys a drama as much as i do and with the wonderful sarendon in the cast you know its going to be a real treat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sad and deep story, 12 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest [DVD] (DVD)
The movie has great cast who deliver outstanding performance. Pierce Branson portrays mourning father who is torn between his inner emotions and inability to express his sadness. Susan Sarandon is the mourning mother whose life is ruled now by mourning and inability to move on and recover from the tragedy that stroke her family. The movie is about love and family relationships. It is deep story who stays with you long after you finished watching it. The only unrealistic person in the movie is son who has died in tragic car accident. He is just too good and perfect to be a real person. But given he is described by friends and family members after his death, there is a possibility he has been idealised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, 1 July 2012
By 
Shee (Hamilton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Greatest [DVD] (DVD)
Having suffered a family bereavement at the start of this year, I choose to watch this film through bbc iplayer, as I was drawn to find out if anything I felt and experienced was the same as other people's experiences.

Having watched the film, I could understand elements of grief shown by all members of the family. I understood perfectly the need of Susan Sarandon's character to want to know more about the last moments of her son's life. I perfectly understood the need of Pierce Brosnan's character to try to adopt a stoic stand, trying to protect his wife from her grief, but not doing the job properly, while falling apart inside. I could also relate to the son's behaviour and state of mind, as no support was shown to him by his parents, as they struggled themselves to cope. The introduction of the pregnant girlfriend was a perfect added element.

For me, the characters were perfectly played. I loved the scene where Pierce Brosnan's character introduces a bell to try to help his wife overcome her grief, and again, for him it backfires, so in a desperate move he stands in from of a whistling kettle to drown out the sound of the bell. However, listen for it again in the movie - perfect. I found it all very poignant and cried a few tears.

Well done and thank you to the writers and producers. This was my first major experience of feeling grief to this extent and I now understand it is all perfectly normal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC IN THE LONG RUN---THE GREATEST., 18 April 2011
By 
sam lowry (gtr manchester uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Greatest [DVD] (DVD)
I got this movie for my mrs, and we watched last night, and I too noticed it's Ratio is wrong. Dont though let that put you off viewing it.

This is about Grief and the grieving process--it starts with a sudden death and works backward and through the romance of Carey Mulligan chracter to form a perfect circuler motion.
I notice other viwers found fault with Brosnan,and Susan Sarandon-Personally I didnt.
They are subserviant to Mulligan's performance, which is as usual superb.
It isn't fun, that isnt to say it isnt funny though, and has a very funny and inappropriate(very appropriate in the context of the movie though).
Buy it and see for yourselfs-an ecellent and sadly missed movie-that the dvd market might rekindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent idea, but a bit over the top, 28 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. S. A. Brown "yentilsale1" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't a badly made film by any stretch of the imagination, but I really struggled to enjoy it for a few reasons. The basic idea of illustrating how members of a family deal with grief in different ways is a decent one, but in practice it's done in an extremely heavy handed way which makes the whole experience a little bit shallow in my opinion.

The main problem for me is that the characters are so brazenly over the top. Susan Sarandon borders on the hysterical at times and the inner tension of Pierce Brosnan's character is portrayed in frankly very silly ways, even at one point resorting to him standing next to a whistling kettle that's about to boil over. The younger brother of the family is probably the most realistic of the portrayals, in the sense that he's adopted a standard teenage persona of pretending to be a "screw up" despite being socially successful and more or less entirely reasonable. Unfortunately I don't think this was an attempt to show the idiocy of teenagers, but rather an attempt to produce a genuine character that could be sympathised with (on which count it completely fails, because he essentially comes across as a wise-cracking brat).

Carey Mulligan on the other hand puts in a very good performance, although it has to be said that she regularly lapses into a strange set of kooky acting techniques that make her character more annoying than she was presumably supposed to be. One or two of these characters might have made for a decent film, but putting all four of them together just tipped the scales firmly into melodrama for me. They certainly don't teach stoicism in this family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars greatest by name greatest by nature, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest [DVD] (DVD)
a film with a high degree of emotional intellegance,in the similar vein to the much celebrated Spanish film beautiful.am not by nature given to weeping easily, but this film had me on the precarious verge,this together with a very fine cast,has made it quite a memorable viewing experience,thanks all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest [DVD] (DVD)
If a tearjerker is your kind of thing, then this is a masterpiece. All the characters are played well as they evolve through the story. There are times when I think perhaps too much was put into the characters, but the brilliance of the actors brings them back into proportion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Good Film, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest [DVD] (DVD)
Very good film well acted which shows the trauma a family goes through when their son is killed in a car crash which his girl friend survives and then finds out she is pregnant. Can recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest [DVD]
The Greatest [DVD] by Shana Feste (DVD - 2010)
£3.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews