Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An historian's choice.
This is an interesting film, but one which depends on the viewer having knowledge, and interest in the subject matter. It reveals a realistic, and sordid existence of republican prisoners in the H blocks of The Maze prison. There are no attempts at sensationalism, and much of the film exposes the utter tedium, loneliness, and uncleanliness of life for those prisoners 'on...
Published on 23 Dec. 2010 by Blandish

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review
I found this movie a bit disappointing, but I'm not sure why. Maybe a bit too unrealistic, didn't quite grip me. I expect IRA and the troubles movies to be intense but this was a bit superficial. It did make me think however. I wondered if the then Prime Minister's determination not to recognise political status for the H-Block prisoners was really an own goal. If she had...
Published on 23 Sept. 2012 by T. Conner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An historian's choice., 23 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H3 [dvd] (DVD)
This is an interesting film, but one which depends on the viewer having knowledge, and interest in the subject matter. It reveals a realistic, and sordid existence of republican prisoners in the H blocks of The Maze prison. There are no attempts at sensationalism, and much of the film exposes the utter tedium, loneliness, and uncleanliness of life for those prisoners 'on the blanket'. Unlike the other two films about this period, 'Some Mother's Son', and 'Hunger', this film shows the daily grind of prison life, and the strength, and determination of the republican prisoners, not through the extremity of events so much as the corporate defiance, amidst appalling conditions. The sense of incaceration is compounded by the long periods of inaction, and by the world outside only being seen though the prison wire mesh covering the windows of the cells. Claustrophobic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5* seller, 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Lou Lou (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H3 [dvd] (DVD)
I haven't had time to watch the film yet however I would like to rate the seller. I was delighted at how quickly the DVD arrived it was well packed and was obviously new as it is still in it's original packaging. I would certainly buy from this seller again if opportunity arose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Horrible time, 7 Aug. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H3 [dvd] (DVD)
Excellent film that was not widely advertised. I only came across it on Amazon by accident. For anyone requiring further information on the Hunger Strike from a dramatic point of view, this is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H3, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H3 [dvd] (DVD)
Very good, excellent film about Northern Ireland political situation and republican prisoners. Brilliant portrayal of prisoners and atmosphere amongst them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 22 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H3 [dvd] (DVD)
At last! A great account of life for Irish political prisoners. Nearly there with accuracy and disclosure of what it was like. Some good acting as well as some bad but better than the more recent film Hunger which although shows accurately the violent manner they were treated and no wash policy is actually a pretty poor protrayal of Bobby Sands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jan. 2015
By 
P. Slevin "SmoothPed" (Cumbernauld Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H3 [dvd] (DVD)
Brilliant DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H3 [dvd] (DVD)
Good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent film about prisoners wanting to wear their own clothes ..., 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H3 [dvd] (DVD)
This is an excellent film about prisoners wanting to wear their own clothes in prison and to be recognised as political prisoners - well worth watching. Very realistic and true to the times in which this occurred. (Based on a true story.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review, 23 Sept. 2012
By 
T. Conner "in Brussels" (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H3 [dvd] (DVD)
I found this movie a bit disappointing, but I'm not sure why. Maybe a bit too unrealistic, didn't quite grip me. I expect IRA and the troubles movies to be intense but this was a bit superficial. It did make me think however. I wondered if the then Prime Minister's determination not to recognise political status for the H-Block prisoners was really an own goal. If she had accepted that status and accepted that a guerilla war had been declared on the UK then presumably it would have been legitimate to send the SAS to the island and assassinate every member of the IRA that they knew the identity of without worrying about the rule of law as it would have been war and not murder. Hmm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

H3 [dvd]
H3 [dvd] by Les Blair (DVD - 2010)
£7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews