Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars46
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2015
Spencer Tracy is the one armed man who steps off a train in a small town and begins asking questions about a local Japanese-American man from the people of the town.Not only is there no answers forthcoming from the inhabitants,but some of the locals i.e.Robert Ryan,Ernest Borgnine and Lee Marvin turn nasty and give Tracy some advice about catching the next train out and fast.This is a cracking modern day Western with Tracy and the rest of the cast in great form and tautly directed by action supremo John Sturges.I wont reveal what Tracy discovers but i will say this had something important to say about the treatment of Japanese-Americans in the wake of Pearl Harbour.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
The first half is excellent. The tension builds progressively. Small town America is a strange land, full of prejudices. The ending is disappointing. It's been done better so often - "High Noon", "Edward Scissor Hands", "Pleasantville" for example. This is more "Shoot-out at OK". Do you remember those old TV series - High Chaparelle, Rawhide, Gunsmoke. I don't miss them one little bit. But it's a pity to me that those Southern Pacific streamliners don't run any more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
This is a story of one mans mission to find the truth. Black Rock is a isolated town with a hidden secret. Spencer Tracy plays the one armed man looking for an old friend. The story builds slowly to a final admission of what really happened. The cast including Ernest Borgnine, Robert Ryan and Lee Marvin are in great form adding to the suspense. I haven`t divulged too much of the storyline as this film is well worth watching. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
A great movie. This would be one of my top ten, I did not realise that it had Korean subtitles.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
One of the reality checks what America hides under her bed. Spenser Tracy does very well in difficult and dull script - as The Man alone among the people who are as they are today in all over places. Bureaucratically entrenched in their rotten spoils what reality has not checked. Politically correct in politics of their own mess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
The pace perhaps leisurely doe not detract from the film's message of a town whose people band together to keep a secret of a callous event which eventually unravels when a stranger arrives by train. The build up to the climax is tense when justice is done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
The subtitles were only available in Korean and this was not made clear at time of purchase. Very disappointing as I am deaf.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
One of my favourite all-time movies. Lots of up-and-coming stars like Lee Marvin and Ernest Borgnine. Actually, Spencer Tracey has rather a good day at Black Rock in the end. Great, great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
A mysterious stranger arrives in a tiny Western town just after Ww2. He meets hostility and fear building up to violence and murder. Some great 1950s actors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
FABULOUS!! One of my all time favourites. Excellent piece of storytelling, and cinematography. Good actors and good acting. I think I've said it all!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)