Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unappreciated classic!
This film has long been overshadowed by more recent animated features. OK, it doesn't have the catchy tunes or the flashy graphics of the Little Mermaid or the Lion King, but its still an entertaining movie for people of any age.
The film is set in Victorian London, where mice and rats have their own little society. The toymaker, Mr. Flaversham is kidnapped by a one...
Published on 28 Feb 2003

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A well disguised Disney Classic!
Although this film does of course contain those classic and magical elements that we all love I feel that it does lack that certain something which makes us jump out of our seats and say "Wow!". The animation is of course fantastic and the Sherlock Holmes based characters are all lovable and memorable including the classic Disney Villain Rattigan the power...
Published on 11 July 2000


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unappreciated classic!, 28 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This film has long been overshadowed by more recent animated features. OK, it doesn't have the catchy tunes or the flashy graphics of the Little Mermaid or the Lion King, but its still an entertaining movie for people of any age.
The film is set in Victorian London, where mice and rats have their own little society. The toymaker, Mr. Flaversham is kidnapped by a one legged bat, and his daughter, Olivia, sets off to seek the help of Basil of Baker Street, and his two wacky sidekicks.
The Great Mouse detective doesn't follow the usual big-spectacle Disney formula, having only 3 musical numbers, none of which are particularly lavish. The most memorable song is performed by the flamboyant villain (perfectly voiced by Vincent Price) and his goofy henchmen.
This film is nowhere near the top of Disney's achievements, but it's still a strong entry in their massive catalog, and it differs so much from the usual Disney style that it has a quaint sort of charm. All in all, I absolutely love this film, it's definately one of my favourites, and I'd recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest detective in all of Mousedom!, 2 Aug 2004
This was one of my favourite films as a child and still is today. In my opinion it is THE greatest Disney film and does not have the fame it deserves.
From beginning to end this is a delight to watch, mainly thanks to the wonderful Sherlock Holmes based characters and cunning twists in the plot. There is plenty to amuse both the child and the Holmes fan, from the narration of Dr Dawson, the loveableness of Toby, the evil schemes of the Napolean of Crime - Professor Ratigan , and of course the cunning disguises and eccentric genius of Basil himself, not to mention brief cameos from the human forms of Holmes and Watson. For the ardent Holmes fan there are a number of sneaky and less obvious references to the great human detective. The fun, adventure and suspense will please every child and adult alike.
The film was clearly made with lots of care and attention. The animation and characterisation is great and although Victorian England is dark there is enough Disney magic to warm even the hardest of hearts. It's only weakness as a Disney film is the scarceness of songs, although the nature of the film doesn't present many appropriate moments for songs.
The films is perfect for every age group, it is full of adventure, fun and laughter, and the occasional tear. I thoroughly recommend it to absolutely everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My childhood favourite!, 16 Oct 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
When I was just seven years old I watched this at the pictures. I then got the story & tape, and the sticker album.

Now at the tender age of 27 I watched this again on DVD the other day and I enjoyed it. It is very different to many other Disney films. For a start it is set in Victorian London. It is one of the last Disney Films to have lavish painted backdrops rather than the more cartoony style we see today.

It is set in a sort of parallel world to ours, one of mice. Basil is approached by young Olivia and Dr. Dawson (the Watson to Basil's Holmes) in order to request his help to find her kidknapped dad. Once Basil learns that his arch-nemesis Ratigan is involved with his disappearance he is only too happy to help.

Sherlock Holmes fans will love the nods towards the Conan-Doyle legend - he infact appears in the film (Holmes that is, not Conan-Doyle!)

Barry Ingham is the perfect voice for Basil. He manages to pack in the eccentricity and that quintessential Englishness required for the role. Basil is one of my all-time favourite Disney characters. My absolute all time favourite though is Fidget - the peg-legged bat who happens to be Ratigan's henchman. His crazy jabbering speech always makes me chuckle.

Speaking of voices - Hollywood great Vincent Price voices Ratigan, an inspired choice. Instead of a rasping throaty growl, he has a more charming sophisticated way of speaking which makes him feel more menacing.

There are a few musical numbers in this film, but they aren't particularly great - nothing you'd expect to find on a Disney compilation CD. The plot is quite 2 dimensional, there's no real sub-plots or anything other than the main story.

This looks good but lacks the magic which should make this an absolute classic, the characters are enjoyable - particularly Basil, Ratigan, and of course Fidget.

DVD features are weak on this, there's an old cartoon - and I mean OLD (I think it's a 1930's one). It looks as though they bundled a few throwaway items just to make sure there were some features to list on the back. The old Making of is okay - but nothing special. Some really good features could have earned this another star from me.

I'm sure most people will enjoy this - it is a good film. But maybe not one you'll watch regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic disney film for the whole family, 2 July 2004
this disney film is brilliant, the charactior are very funny and intertaining.
there is non stop action and the story line is just amazing.
anybody would love this film, it is a great childhood film and will always be remembered.
i swear to you that when you get this film, you will not be disappointed, you will get you moneys worth, so please buy this for you child because when i was a child, i just loved it and i still do, so go on make your child happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wicked Disney film that u have gotta see, 27 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This is a wicked disney film. Although it is not very well known i think it is da best 1 ! There is a scary baddie and a good goodie ! The perfect combo 4 a decent film !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest detective in all of Mousedom!, 10 Aug 2004
This was one of my favourite films as a child and still is today. In my opinion it is THE greatest Disney film and does not have the fame it deserves.
From beginning to end this is a delight to watch, mainly thanks to the wonderful Sherlock Holmes based characters and cunning twists in the plot. There is plenty to amuse both the child and the Holmes fan, from the narration of Dr Dawson, the loveableness of Toby, the evil schemes of the Napolean of Crime - Professor Ratigan , and of course the cunning disguises and eccentric genius of Basil himself, not to mention brief cameos from the human forms of Holmes and Watson. For the ardent Holmes fan there are a number of sneaky and less obvious references to the great human detective. The fun, adventure and suspense will please every child and adult alike.
The film was clearly made with lots of care and attention. The animation and characterisation is great and although Victorian England is dark there is enough Disney magic to warm even the hardest of hearts. It's only weakness as a Disney film is the scarceness of songs, although the nature of the film doesn't present many appropriate moments for songs.
The films is perfect for every age group, it is full of adventure, fun and laughter, and the occasional tear. I thoroughly recommend it to absolutely everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basil The Great Mouse Detective - I can detect a serious amount of fun!, 8 April 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm surprised it took them so long. It wasn't until their 26th feature in 1986 that they finally got round to having a go at the Sherlock Holmes story. And the result was marvellous.

Full of the usual Disney trademarks, anthropomorphic animals, villainous villains, comedy sidekicks, humour and songs. And Vincent Price putting in the performance of his life as the villainous Rattigan. He even gets to sing in one of the real high points of the film, revealing quite a talent for it!

This is a really enjoyable adventure full of spills and thrills. Good fun that will appeal to all the family. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 11 Feb 2010
By 
This has to be one of my favourite films as a child. I bought this for my two children who seem to be enjoying watching it just as much as i did when i was younger.
I would recommend this film to anyone who has children or who has the "disney bug".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic!, 20 Aug 2007
I remember watching Basil The Great Mouse Detective at the cinema when I was six and absolutely loved it. Now some twenty or so years later I still love it for it's sheer relentless pace of adventure and the true Holmes-like quality it brings to the cartoon world.

Quite simply this is one of the very best Disney films ever and to my mind a very undervalued classic which is extremely enjoyable for children and adults alike. If a sequel is ever made I just hope they can do justice to the original.

My advice is to buy this DVD and see how good it is for yourselves, you won't be disappointed!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Holmesian than you might imagine, 23 Sep 2004
By 
Darren Harrison "DVD collector and reviewer" (Washington D.C.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Among the selections of movies in the excellent Sherlock Holmes reference book `Sherlock Holmes on Screen: The Complete Film and TV History' by Alan Barnes is this 1986 Disney concoction that is equal part musical, comedy, thriller, suspense and children's movie. In fact, as Barnes points out, this feature has many more Holmesian elements than many live action movies that happen to have the character Sherlock Holmes among its cast list.
Indeed this clever animated movie owes a great deal to its literary roots and is based on Eve Titus' book `Basil of Baker Street.'
Living underneath the apartment of the famous Sherlock Holmes at 221 Baker Street is a mouse named Basil. Shaped primarily on the Rathbone interpretation of the character, Basil is the most famous detective in all of mousedom and is determined to track down his evil nemesis Prof. Ratigan (wonderfully played with obvious relish by Vincent Price).
Basil's chance comes when he is approached by the daughter of a kidnapped toymaker named Flaversham. Initially uninspired and uninterested in the girls search for her abducted father Basil becomes decidedly more interested when she reveals that one of those responsible is a bat with a peg leg.
The bat is a known as a henchman for Ratigan and soon Basil races off into another adventure to chase down the evil genius.
The animation in the movie is top notch, the songs lively and the humor - well funny, but where this movie falters a little is in pace. I would say it is just a little too long and slower paced than I expected. It's a very satisfying movie certainly, and a `must-own' for Sherlock Holmes fans (Basil Rathbone's voice is even heard in one scene), but there are moments where it seems to drag and other moments where you wish the characters would stop singing and just get on with developing the plot.
Great fun for the kids and people who are still a kid at heart/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Mouse Detective [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
5.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews