Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars163
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
on 11 April 2005
I actually own all the hendrix studio recordings, but sometimes (guilty admission) have to skip the odd track or two (little miss strange from Ladyland being a case in point)to get to the real cream, and often found myself wishing I had the ultimate collection of hendrix's songs, back to back, on one CD.
Well not any more, baby! As soon as I saw the track list for this bad boy I was amazed. It was just like the compilers of this record had asked me which tracks I wanted them to include! Wish granted! Problem solved! Nothing new obviously (this guy's back catalogue has been raped and pillaged since the 70's)but this package has all the 24carat classics. If you're new to Hendrix, on a tight budget etc, etc, get this beastie while it's still in stock!!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 7 January 2005
5 stars, for sure - after all, this is jimi. but still, just another compilation of jimi's work ... no wonder there is hardly anything from 'Electric Ladyland' on this record. the records published in his life time in their eintirety and some performances - say band of gypsys/ life at the fillmore or the winterland or the berkeley or the san diego or the l.a. forum concerts - that's what really counts.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 21 August 2012
This one disk (family approved) compilation was released by MCA Records in 1997, during his lifetime between 1967 - 1970 he released three studio albums and a live LP (mainly original material) called Band Of Gypsys which was the name of his new backing band after The Experience disbanded.

The tracks on this compilation were lifted from the three studio albums and a family approved posthumous '4th', First Rays Of The New Rising Sun which was released in 1997 but slated for 1970, the only covers on here are Bob Dylan's "All Along The Watchtower" and The Leaves "Hey Joe"

A quarter of the songs on here are not good, or did not click with me, hence my 4 star rating, are far as I know any released Hendrix music pre-1997 was not then owned or approved by his family, but if you want a 1 disk compilation of Jimi Hendrix this is maybe the best one to go for, take note, another edition of this same compilation has an extra bonus CD
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on 25 June 2010
Simply a good collection of great Jimi Hendrix tracks spanning the few short creative years in the UK that Jimi Hendrix was around.

Accompanied by a well written and researched booklet with recollections about each song, only goes to add an extra bonus to what are a collection of great songs.

Probably few realised at the time what Jimi Hendrix was doing musically until he had gone, although those in the know at the time were inspired and amazed.

Jimi Hendrix was ahead of his time and achieved a great sound with by today's standards, limited equipment, that only goes to show his amazing talent that sadly did not have the opportunity to be completely fulfilled, an almost 10 years on from Buddly Holly scenario.

Whilst Buddy Holly in his 3 years recording made music still frequently played today, so with Jimi Hendrix, we find the same high regard and reverance for the talent so sadly cut short.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 24 February 2014
Compared to other compilations (for instance 'Cornerstones 1967-1970') this is very nearly perfect in all respects. 'Axis:Bold as Love' is certainly covered better than on other collections although this is somewhat at the expense of the classic double album 'Electric Ladyland' which only yields 3 tracks here. The posthumous period of Hendrix material is well represented and my only slight gripe is that the old chestnut 'The Star Spangled Banner' is once again included on a retrospective CD ~ 4 minutes that could have been far better utilized in my opinion.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 22 November 2009
As you have probably gathered this is a very good compilation of Hendrix music. Most, if not all the popular songs are included with a few lesser known tracks (unless you are a Hendrix fan). It also includes the infamous Star Spangled Banner. Perfect for those that want all the good stuff on one disc.

Stick it in the drive, relax and absorb the man's guitar work. Why else would you buy a Hendrix album?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 17 March 2006
Hendrix elevated electric guitars to a higher level than ever. Every great guitarist has been measured by Jimi's standards and most of the new musicians today have been inspired by him.
This is a great collection which shows Jimi doing what he does best, wailing on the guitar. For someone who hasn't heard much of Jimi's work, this album is a brilliant place to start. Alot of his albums are very abstract with endless guitar solos that can be hard to get in to for a beginner, but this collection has all the right tunes and melodies to get that beginner strapped in and ready for some classic guitar rock. Having said that, there are a few songs which feature amazing solos and the casual listener will find these highly thrilling and be comfortable with them.
If you own all of Jimi's albums, this collection is a nice way of having alot of favourites bundled together on one cd. However, these days with mp3 players and computer libraries, it is easy to create playlists of favourite songs or albums and string them together. So, die hard fans of Hendrix would not find it necessary to purchase this as the collection holds nothing new.
If you are a Jimi virgin then this album breaks you in to his best work. Once you have devoured these pieces then you are ready to go out and buy the albums which feature longer, bigger, louder and better solos and visions by one of the greatest musicians of the twentieth century.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 20 November 1999
This album contains nearly all of Jimi's main hit titles, including my favourite, Hey Joe. I felt that I got it at a bargain price from amazon and it was dispached quickly and efficiently. This album is a must for all Hendrix fans
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
I was given this as a Christmas present ten or so years ago from my sister. At the time I was going through a separation and didn't have any of my CDs (Idid get them back later). At the time I was approaching 40; I'd been listening to Jimi since I was around 10. I had and have all the official albums, as well as few of the 'unofficial' ones (the ones that if you listened to them you'd think what's all the fuss about?). But this is a proper best of collection. Great that the Star Spangled Banner is included, but it is difficult to pull it out on its own; if you've never heard (or better still seen) Hendrix's Woodstock set go, now, watch it and be amazed. The close of Voodoo Chile playing the riff very slow, bending down the final note with the wah wah on full damp, bringing the note back up until it begins to feedback and! But it's a connumdrum, the Star Spangled Banner is one of his greatest moments (indeed possibly the electric guitar's greatest ever moment) and so should be included whilst clearly the CD cannot have the entire set. Still, better to have this moment of sublimity than not.
I Digress. This is great stuff. If you've heard of Hendrix but not heard him and your interest has been piqued, this is the one for you. If you don't understand at the end of it why he's the greatest electric guitarist of all time, go back and listen to it again until you do - enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 28 June 2011
It's a bit silly writing a review for a Jimi Hendrix album, because virtually everyone looking here will know what they are dealing with, and if you haven't heard of him... where've you been hiding??

Before purchasing this, I was in the camp (being reasonably young) of being a long-term admirer of the legend, but not owning any of his original albums, so this 'best of' fits the bill exactly. Only thing is, there are so many best of's out there, so which to choose from?

Well, my view on this particular example is great selection (pretty hard not to!), but perhaps not the best re-mastering? It might be my personal preference, and I have no experience of other re-mastered Jimi Hendrix CD's to compare to, but sometimes this CD seems to be lacking the rawness of both the guitar riffs and the bass lines you hear on some original recordings, yet the overall treble seems to be quite loud..?

Like I say, it could just be my personal preference, but I feel it could have been done better. None the less, it hardly detracts from enjoying all the brilliant songs created in such an unfortunately short career.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Ultimate Experience
Ultimate Experience by Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD - 1992)

Electric Ladyland
Electric Ladyland by Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD - 2012)

The Very Best of The Doors
The Very Best of The Doors by The Doors (Audio CD - 2007)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.