Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me want to read sci-fi
I want to add to the correction of the 1 star review as having just seen this film I was telling friends about it and they said it had been quite well panned. I watched this with an open mind and after 10 minutes or so I was hooked. As well reported this is another offering from the creators of `Napoleon Dynamite' - `Vote for Pedro' etc., husband and wife Jared and...
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by Tommy Dooley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Gentlemen Broncos" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues On This USA-Only Release For UK Buyers...
Following up something as beloved and a refreshingly quirky as “Napoleon Dynamite” was always going to be tough – and sure “Gentlemen Broncos” is working way too hard and infantile a lot of the time – but it still has its moments.

And as you can imagine it didn't do a huge amount of business on this side of the pond so it's...
Published 4 months ago by Mark Barry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me want to read sci-fi, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I want to add to the correction of the 1 star review as having just seen this film I was telling friends about it and they said it had been quite well panned. I watched this with an open mind and after 10 minutes or so I was hooked. As well reported this is another offering from the creators of `Napoleon Dynamite' - `Vote for Pedro' etc., husband and wife Jared and Jerusha Hess. They specialise in off the wall characters that are just this side of being medically sectioned, but who are in many ways life affirming.

This tells the story of Benjamin played by Michael Angarano who writes sci-fi and his dear mum (who designs and makes clothes for the terminally bizarre ladies of this planet) sends him on a weekend literary festival where Benjamin's hero sci-fi writer (Dr. Ronald Chevalier) is not only giving work shops but judging the stories for a possible shot at being published. He makes some friends and his story is picked up and plagiarised by the brilliantly erudite `Chevalier'; played by Jemaine Clements (Flight of the Conchords'.

The story is told and interwoven with the story of his book `Yeast Lords' being played out in the two alternate versions of the book by Sam Rockwell playing the eponymous `Bronco' and alternating as `Brutus with Ballzac' (his inter galactic wolf dog type thing - it was a Lynx in the original version.)

Anyway there are brilliantly comic moments that all tie together in what for me was a really enjoyable hour and a half, so please approach this with an open mind and if you do you will hopefully find that this is a little under estimated gem.

P.S. I have since seen this film again and it really is a grower, one where you get more on a subsequent viewing, especially if you keep an eye on the background action - touch of genius.

PPS. Having just watched with friends I now 'love it' so am giving it five stars - the sound track is great too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't hate!, 23 April 2011
By 
Mr. Dj Dolby "Moose Man" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not sure why this film has had such bad press. I absolutely love it!
Jemaine Clement is class (one of the best characters in any film in recent years in my opinion) and as soon as the film finished I wanted to watch again.
Give it a try, ignore the press and keep an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Napoleon Dynamite, but still solidy quirky genius, 21 Dec 2010
By 
M. Pennell (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Only a one-star review for this slice of genius? This aggression will not stand, man!

Jared Hess, together with wife and co-writer/director Jerusha Hess, was responsible for the modern cult-classic Napoleon Dynamite [DVD] [2004] and the Jack Black vehicle, Nacho Libre [DVD] [2006]. Their personal formula of the bizarre life of oddballs combined with genius casting is very much in evidence in Gentlemen Broncos. Sam Rockwell (Confessions of a Dangerous Mind, Moon) chews the scenery as the titular Bronco, playing dual roles in contrasting imagined extracts from the book written by the nominal hero, Benjamin (Michael Angarano), and plagiarised by Jemaine Clement's pontificating, self-obsessed sci-fi author, Dr. Ronald Chevalier. Héctor Jiménez (skinny wrestler Esqueleto in Nacho Libre) returns to work with the Hesses, here playing local auteur Lonnie Donaho who takes it upon himself to film Benjamin's novel.

The key ingredient to this film is how seriously everyone takes themselves. Each of the economically sketched characters is committed to their purpose in life, and their self-belief drives forward the occasionally bizarre plot stitched together with uniquely absurd comic situations. In particular, the cringeworthy sci-fi dialogue, delivered with equally straight-faced masculinity or effeminacy by Rockwell depending on which side of his character is being portrayed, is sheer genius. "Cyclops there, cyclops there - oh my holy crap, surveillance does. I hate those..."

If you enjoyed Napoleon Dynamite and Nacho Libre, you owe yourself the chance to discover this brilliantly ridiculous film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Gentlemen Broncos" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues On This USA-Only Release For UK Buyers..., 6 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Following up something as beloved and a refreshingly quirky as “Napoleon Dynamite” was always going to be tough – and sure “Gentlemen Broncos” is working way too hard and infantile a lot of the time – but it still has its moments.

And as you can imagine it didn't do a huge amount of business on this side of the pond so it's hardly surprising to find that the 'UK' BLU RAY of it is AWOL despite promises it would eventually appear (to my knowledge it never did - hence all the ‘DVD’ reviews).

But therein lies a problem for British fans – the USA-only 20th Century Fox BLU RAY is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on UK machines unless they're chipped to play 'all regions' (which the vast majority aren't). BLU RAY players that have multi-region 'DVD' capacity won't work either.

So if you want this movie on BR – check your player’s Region acceptability first before buying.

Once again I’m afraid Region Coding is stymying fan's viewing pleasure...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wierd and wonderful, 14 May 2012
By 
Mr. Philip B. Cole (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed other films by Jared Hess, the director, including Napoleon Dynamite - they are unusual and sometimes odd, but in an entertaining and often witty way.
The star of Gentlemen Broncos is very definitely Jemaine Clement of Flight of the Concords fame who I initally did not recognise, and the supporting cast are well chosen.
It is in some ways a very odd film and it is unlikely you will see another film quite like it: amusing, witty, entertaining and it will transport you to a land of wild fantasy writing and 'unusual' visual effects.
Not a 'must have' film, but well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi-licious., 10 April 2012
Absolutely loved this film. I am part of the napoleon dynamite clan and thought I would be massively disappointed by this BUT I WAS SO WRONG.
Sam Rockwell, riding a war deer. That is all you need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, 28 Feb 2012
By 
Somewhat wierd, but very funny! It is by the same director as Nacho Libre and Napolean Dynamite. Enjoy this bizzaro movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why the bad press?, 7 Jan 2011
By 
Chris Turner (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched this knowing that it had recieved bad press which is a shame as the film is really good.
IMDB 5.7/10 are you kidding? It just shows you how films such as Scott pilgrim (7.9 IMDB) which are OVER hyped get a better press release and kinder reviews. Shame. Gentlemen Broncos had a great story and the characters were suprisingly likeable. Who cannot like Sam Rockwell as Brutus!! LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and weird, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great offbeat humour from a little known movie. A spin off of "Gentlemen Broncos" would have been great. Sam Rockwell cracked me up everytime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie seems to be universally despised by critics (Rotten Tomatoes gives it a squelchy 19%), but it made over $110m on a production budget of just $10m, so somebody liked it.

I don't love it, but do like it a great deal and have watched it a number of times now. I think part of the attraction is its 'homage' to the pulp science-fiction novels of the 70s and 80s. If you remember them with affection, I think you'll like this.

The DVD comes with a digital copy that you can download to your computer or tablet.

(Despite repeated viewings, I still have no idea where the title comes from.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gentlemen Broncos [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import]
Gentlemen Broncos [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import] by John Baker (Blu-ray - 2010)
7.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews