Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great pure Zappa
Not a great film but so long as you know it is supposed to be about crazy nothingness then it's fins. I particularly Howard Kaylan. This speaks of it's day, and was not much good then. But U still like to watch it and have this film in my collection.
Published 13 months ago by P. M. Jones

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by poor remastering
The film is great if you like that kind of thing - a few rock'n'roll numbers, Ringo Starr and Keith Moon larking around with the Mothers Of Invention, surreal intertwining fragments of ideas and some crazy (and at the time groundbreaking) visuals.

But I'm disappointed with the quality of the pictures and sound. Co-director Tony Palmer claims repeatedly to be...
Published on 9 Mar. 2010 by Crispy Phosphorous


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by poor remastering, 9 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Zappa -200 Motels [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
The film is great if you like that kind of thing - a few rock'n'roll numbers, Ringo Starr and Keith Moon larking around with the Mothers Of Invention, surreal intertwining fragments of ideas and some crazy (and at the time groundbreaking) visuals.

But I'm disappointed with the quality of the pictures and sound. Co-director Tony Palmer claims repeatedly to be in posession of the original video tapes on which it was shot, and the sticker on the front says "restored from the original sources", yet film scratches and blotches are evident throughout and some of the colours are very dark and muddy; and the sound is appalling - very muffled and boomy. So this has obviously been transferred from a cine print (or maybe a duplication negative) with an optical sound track - hardly "restored from original sources". Palmer claims on the commentary to have spent several months remastering the movie but I'm not convinced by the results. If (as he also repeatedly claims) all the editing and effects were done live as they were recording, it should have been relatively easy to go back to the original tapes (or at least the first generation film transfer) and reconstruct the movie in a digital editor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A dismal cash-in, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
Stephen Cooper (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frank Zappa -200 Motels [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Mastered from poor late sources - both video and film damage is visible, the picture has been 'stretched' - and with a very poor quality soundtrack, Frank Zappa's 200 Motels deserved far better. 39 years ago Tony Palmer was not claiming authorship of this film (quite the opposite in fact) so his motives for this dire issue are at the very least suspect. As is his claim that the film was edited 'live', well the film was really edited in LA from the first generation celluloid transfer (by which time Palmer had long since ceased any involvement in the project).

Get a secondhand VHS tape and rip it to DVD-R, you'll do far better than this. Or if you're fortunate enough to own a laserdisc player hunt it out in that format (good luck to you, it's not easily found) - that shows how it should have been done.

Perhaps Gail has a decent print.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Etikettenschwindel / Misnomer, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
Toni Scholz - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr. Palmer! Was soll das? Die gleiche schlechte DVD von 2010, nur mit einem anderen Cover!!! Das ist Etikettenschwindel!!! Falsches Bildformat: 16:9 statt 4:3! Fehlende Bildteile! Ganz schlechter, dumpfer Ton in Mono! Bitte bringen Sie bessere Qualität, dann wird das Produkt auch gekauft!!!

Mr. Palmer! What is this? The same bad DVD from 2010 with a different cover!
This is misnomer! Invalid image format: 16:9 instead of 4:3! Missing parts of the picture! Very bad, muffled sound in mono! Please bring better quality, then the product is bought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Zappa meets craper, 18 May 2015
This review is from: Frank Zappa -200 Motels [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I first saw this film years ago and as a younger man I went with it, after all its Frank Zappa isn't it and we all know he's weird... Truth is Zappa did some great music and was undoubtedly a great composer and performer but this film really scrapes the bottom of the pond. Basically it is supposed to be a satirical view of life on the road, add in a side ways view of popular music verses pop music and the odd comment on the American dream and that's about it. The music is typical mothers but there is really not enough meat in it. No great guitar solos or interesting band numbers just a great deal of Zappas take on atonal rock with a couple of minor classics thrown in. The film is a must for any Zappa fan but for a typical film buff I'm afraid it's a dust gathering box to be stored on the top shelf behind that other classic that the Monkeys did. Now what was that called again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great pure Zappa, 20 April 2014
By 
P. M. Jones (Peterborough, Cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a great film but so long as you know it is supposed to be about crazy nothingness then it's fins. I particularly Howard Kaylan. This speaks of it's day, and was not much good then. But U still like to watch it and have this film in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre foolishness, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film goes from moments of startling originality and inventiveness to moments of stupidity and crassness. A very uneven work which doubtless many will find distasteful and even obscene. Not for family viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Zappa movie, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting movie by Zappa and Palmer. The quality is kind of first generation video class, but the film is fun to watch, even though the synopsis may not hold up for a whole movie, it has some great ideas and is playful. The music is great though, even if it isn't high quality audio. Buy it if you you're a Zappa or Palmer fan, or if you're interested in video film history. I liked it, but I would have enjoyed it more if there had been a better restoration in picture and audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
Jose Molist Diaz (Barcelona, catalunya,España) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great DVD about de music of frank zappa. I'm a betale collector memorabilia and Ringo Starr are fantastic!!! Thanks for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zappa's best?, 21 Mar. 2010
By 
Mark Butler "Fell Troller." (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Zappa -200 Motels [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
It was seeing clips from this on 'Whistle Test' at the time of the movie's release that began my long enjoyment of Zappa's music. I know it's not a fan favourite but I've never been sure why. It contains, after all, some musically beautiful themes that he'd been working on for a few years previously, it blends rock with weird-classical and it contains real groupies. What's not to love? Tony Palmer gets to set the record straight on the commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zap! Pow! Zing! Boing!, 10 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frank Zappa -200 Motels [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Extraordinary reel of exuberant imagery! Nonsensical whimsical imaginative and bizarre! Fantastic celebration of life!

All without any scenes or words that might fall foul of the censor. Unclassifiable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frank Zappa -200 Motels [DVD] [1971]
Frank Zappa -200 Motels [DVD] [1971] by Tony Palmer (DVD - 2010)
£11.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews