Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what i thought it was going to be but good!
I brought this film as i thought it was a zoombie film. I put it on to find although it was about infection the dead did not come back again! However it was a good film def worth a watch. I was surprisingly jumpy after watching it so it did what i wanted it to do!
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Jorgie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes choosing life is just choosing a more painful form of death.
To all intents and purposes, Carriers really isn't that much of a horror film, it's more a survivalist, character based, road movie. After an infectious virus has decimated the Earth, two brothers (Chris Pine/Lou Taylor Pucci) and their two lady companions (Piper Perabo/Emily VanCamp) are heading to Turtle Beach in the hope that in isolation there they can ride out the...
Published 9 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes choosing life is just choosing a more painful form of death., 15 Oct 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carriers [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
To all intents and purposes, Carriers really isn't that much of a horror film, it's more a survivalist, character based, road movie. After an infectious virus has decimated the Earth, two brothers (Chris Pine/Lou Taylor Pucci) and their two lady companions (Piper Perabo/Emily VanCamp) are heading to Turtle Beach in the hope that in isolation there they can ride out the epidemic and start afresh.

What follows is that they encounter a man on the road with his sick daughter, and their plans then go astray. The moral dilemmas build up, the character dynamics unfurling in a whirl of human emotions, disappointments and heart aching decisions are evident as the search for sanity and gasoline goes on. Naturally the virus isn't the only thing to be fearful of, there's the other virus, that of the human condition in survival situations...

Having sat on the shelf for three years, Carriers came a bit late in the day to make a telling mark in a sub-genre of horror that has tapped into our new age fear of the virus. In a way that is a shame, because David and Alex Pastor's (writers/directors) film is very well made. With good performances, astute photography and a humanistic narrative that is not without merit. Yet even for 2009 it feels old hat, like a lukewarm sci-fi schlocker without the monsters or apocalyptic peril.

It's well worth a watch because there is nothing irritating here, but anyone expecting some infected/zombie infused apocalypto will be very disappointed. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Carriers, 9 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Carriers [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
A decent horror film, but there are much better virus horror films out there. Got to say Chris Pine was pretty good in this film though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what i thought it was going to be but good!, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Carriers [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I brought this film as i thought it was a zoombie film. I put it on to find although it was about infection the dead did not come back again! However it was a good film def worth a watch. I was surprisingly jumpy after watching it so it did what i wanted it to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good post apocalyptic tale, 4 Dec 2010
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carriers [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I am not a fan of modern sci-fi so did not want to particularly see this, but I had friends over who had brought this and 2012. We watched the latter first and whilst it is a high octane, action fest amid an orgy of CGI it was ultimately uninspiring and vapid.

Then we watched the low budget CGI and action free zone that is 'Carriers'. This is nearly a brilliant film but for all the reasons that most lovers of the sci-fi horror genre will not like. This is the relatively short story of a group of four teenagers on a road trip to the coast in a post pan endemic afflicted world where (like 'Survivors')most of the worlds population has died or is likely to be dead any time soon. I can see why so many people felt disappointed with this film as it was billed as some sort of Zombie/ horror flick and actually is neither.

That is the backdrop but this is actually more of a moral study on how selfish and fragile we are as people. They are all rather unlikeable as characters but the more that comes out the more you can understand them. The two brothers are the central characters but the character development is done in tiny snap shot exchanges and you have to concentrate to pick it all up, there is little in the way of flash backs. Brian (the elder jock type - goes on to be the young Capt Kirk in one of the Star Trek spin offs) seems to be running away from the past as well as the disease and he is the alpha male who lays down the rules that ultimately mean they will all lose so were the rules right in the first place? Was anything right in the first place could be a secondary underlying question? But the human spirit certainly takes a kicking in this film, and you might need a cheer up afterwards. That said I found this totally watchable, and even a bit brave in the way it did not pander to the mid ground and very much like 'The Road' tries to show just how bad it would be and the heart rending decisions that you would need to do to survive. So I actually liked it, but so many people don't that you would probably be able to pick up one 'as new' from Amazon Market Place for a song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Road-lite, 9 May 2011
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carriers [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I really wanted to give this film more than three stars as it has a lot going for it but, ultimately, the whole package just doesn't deliver a four-star experience.

Many of the film's detractors have cited Pine's dislikeable character as a main turn-off. In fairness, the story does well to give the audience an insight into why he is the way he is; not least as we see his character stripped away at the end with his plaintive rhetorical question: 'how did we get here?'.

The dichtotomy between the alpha-male older brother and the weaker but academically intelligent younger brother is an oft-used device so it's nothing we haven't seen before.

What I admired about the film was the stark moral (or immoral) choices that faced the group. Ironically, the very thing that makes us human, compassion, also proved to be the most deleterous to their mortality. There were a number of scenes which provoked intense feelings of cognitive dissonance; wishing that they could have ended differently but knowing that, pragmatically, they were the right decisions to make in absolute terms of self-preservation. The most poignant for me was the scene with the father and girl singing 'incy wincy spider'; the juxtaposition between the innocence of nursery rhyme and the realisation of their fate.

Nonetheless, I think where the film does fail slightly is - despite a spartan running time - at times the direction felt aimless albeit punctuated by some cracking scenes.

All told, I would probably watch it again although if I was moved for some post-apocalyptic cinematic depression i'd opt for The Road every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok for a Saturday night movie, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carriers [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Nothing amazing, but alright to watch as one of those weekend night movies. Would recommend you try and find it on something like Lovefilm or Netfilx first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 5 star ratings have to be fake!, 11 Jun 2014
This review is from: Carriers [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
How anyone can give this rubbish 5 stars must have never seen any other film ever. Only waste your time buying if you want to watch a bunch of people driving round, occasionally one gets a rash and gets left and then end up at the beach. It makes no sense to me why someone would think this would make a good film but it goes to show even known actors take any job going
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dull, plodding and leaves you asking what the point was, 28 May 2014
This review is from: Carriers [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
There are far better post-apocalypse films than this - mostly ones in which something worthwhile actually happens and where the producers have thought through their idea beyond: "a virus sounds like a good idea". The characters seem immune to the virus at some stages but not at others and so you constantly feel confused about the whole premise of the film. Worst of all, the film sputters along to a very boring denouement which leaves you wondering what the point was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Sci-Fi, 14 May 2014
By 
Mr. C. J. Murphy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carriers [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I recommend this film for Sci-Fi fans like myself, it is a good and entertaining yarn involving young attractive characters that it is easy to emphasise with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for James kirk and that blonde from revenge, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carriers [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
But worth buying for Lou Taylor Pucci. Also Piper Perabo is good in her role. I like this type of film too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carriers [DVD] (2009)
Carriers [DVD] (2009) by David Pastor (DVD - 2010)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews