Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Alright Mr Gekko, you got me'.
The definitive sales movie. Before Glengarry Glen Ross and Boiler Room, there was Wall Street. Set in that behemoth of the New York Stock Exchange and the trading floors down town and providing it is a grim look at the society that inhabit them.

Telling the tale of Budd Fox (Charlie Sheen), a young upstart, heavily in debt with stars in his eyes, the story...
Published on 26 Feb. 2007 by Mr. A. E. Hall

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by poor picture quality
An excellent film with a wonderful performance by Michael Douglas, and something pretty special from Charelie Sheen too. The film is a real monument to the eighties in a global city like New York. However, it is let down by a pretty shoddy film quality. Whether it is the original film quality, or whether it is just a poor print that has been transferred, it's...
Published on 5 Nov. 2011 by Bismaquer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Alright Mr Gekko, you got me'., 26 Feb. 2007
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The definitive sales movie. Before Glengarry Glen Ross and Boiler Room, there was Wall Street. Set in that behemoth of the New York Stock Exchange and the trading floors down town and providing it is a grim look at the society that inhabit them.

Telling the tale of Budd Fox (Charlie Sheen), a young upstart, heavily in debt with stars in his eyes, the story starts off smoothly. Desperate to get in with the big hitters, he soon finds himself getting into highly dodgey business with Gordon Gekko (Michael Douglas).

Charlie Sheen turns in the finest performance of his career and really brings out the pathos in the naive and young Budd Fox, trapped in the dark business that is sales. Before he knows it, he has become exactly what he set out to be, with all the baggage attatched. Douglas is also fantastic as the inspirational and ultimately repulsive Gekko, and the list of lackies and struggling salesmen as the scum and losers of this morality tale deliver with panache. How far would you go? How much is too much?

Oliver Stone has earned his reputation as a controversial film maker; from the violence of war in Platoon to spurious conspiracy claims in JFK, and Wall Street is no exception. Some call it anti capitalist or plain Marxist, I don't. For me, I look at the ending and see the consequences of dishonesty. Stone brings about a negative twist to the world which I have seen with my own eyes. No one ever said it was perfect, and those who say it is all bad are just plain wrong. And no film ever showed that better than Wall Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Stop Trying To Make A Quick Buck", 2 May 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Budd Fox (Charlie Sheen) is an energetic young man who wants to be a big man on Wall Street, he thinks he can sell and deal stocks like the best of them, so he wants the best teacher, Gordon Gecko (Michael Douglas), a guy who's made millions out of the system, and annoyed many people on his route. So Budd learns, as Gecko teaches him the tricks, skills and how to make big money, but is he looking into the abyss and seeing who he really is, as suggested by his boss Lou (Hal Holbrook) or is he just a whipper snapper trying to make a living?

This is a great movie, and well captured by Stone, who himself had a father who was in the business and wanted to make a "business movie", to look at the bad guys of the system, and how people's simple needs often outweigh what they feel is right. There's a great cameo from John C McGinley (Dr Cox from Scrubs) - his role as Budd's friend is good, and shows he was already a rising star of the Hollywood system. I also liked the fact that this was an all-star cast: Michael Douglas shining as the charismatic Gecko, not taking prisoners and emotionally detached from his work. Also not forgetting Martin Sheen, as Budd's father, not just in the film, but in real life, so when he cries in the hospital, you know he really means it, and those are gold moments.

This blu-ray is decent, but not spellbinding - the MPEG 4 video is good, but is a bit grainy, given the fact it's probably the style of film used, it's probably the best they can do with the medium available. The colours are sharp though, and the BD-50 full transfer making this the best release of Wall Street so far. The audio is dynamic, but I did notice I had to turn up the volume on it, as the dialogue wasn't that loud. The master-HD audio is a must hear though, and is top quality otherwise.

There are SD extras here, including "Greed Is Good", a look at the movie from Oliver Stone's point of view, a full hour of discussion and a look at the system in which he worked in, and how the movie evolved. There's also the making of, which has some interesting insights. The commentary by Stone is very concise too and should wet the appetites of any budding director.

All in all - worth a look, a definite classic.
Film: 4/5, transfer: 3/5, extras: 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by poor picture quality, 5 Nov. 2011
By 
An excellent film with a wonderful performance by Michael Douglas, and something pretty special from Charelie Sheen too. The film is a real monument to the eighties in a global city like New York. However, it is let down by a pretty shoddy film quality. Whether it is the original film quality, or whether it is just a poor print that has been transferred, it's difficult to imagine that this Blu Ray looks any better than the DVD release. Why not save some cash and buy that instead?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aged well, 12 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I hadn't seen this film for many years, and then bought it on Bluray. It was better than I expected and still has a kick. A tale of greed, betrayal and redemption. Some of the basest instincts around, but still as applicable in today's climate as it was in the 80's. Michael Douglas was very good (If you want a friend, get a dog!), Martin and Charlie Sheen as a father and son combo worked well, and the whole thing is worth revisiting for a fresh look if you haven't seen it for some time.

As far as the Bluray is concerned the Picture Quality is nothing special. I'm sure its an upgrade from the DVD, but it will never be a reference disc to show what HD can do. However I don't have it on DVD, and don't regret having bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's worth doing is worth doing for money..., 4 July 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
For all it's quirks and minor flaws Oliver Stone's Wall Street almost perfectly captures the cynical power hungry, money obsession culture that seemed to consume people in the later 80's era. Made after Platoon, many consider this the equivalent "war in the city" guns replaced with a notepad and computer with stock listings.

This harks back to a time when Stone was at his peak in film direction.

Bud Fox (Charlie Sheen) is the perky ambitious lower level stockbroker desperate to break into the big league in the city. His idol is Gordon Gekko (Michael Douglas) a powerful and ruthless businessman who seems to hold all the cards in the stock market. Bud eventually manages to get Gekko's attention and soon becomes his on the street hawk who is sourcing information about rival corporations, to aid Gekko's and his insider trading stock building plan.

Bud soon starts to enjoy his newly found lavish lifestyle, a far cry from his minor stockbroker struggling with debt previous life. Things take a turn for the worse when Bud tries to use the information he's gained about a company his father works at (Bluestar Airlines) Gekko's plan is to run the company down and strip the assets. Bud has to take a look at what he's become part of and examine his own flawed ambition.

The film works well on just about every level, Sheen is good as the up and coming green but keen city player, Douglas is perfectly cast and performs a sizzling greedy, arrogant and utterly ruthless Gordon Gekko, it's the part he was made for and he pulls it off easily. We have a good supporting cast overall Terence Stamp, Hal Holbrook, Martin Sheen as Bud's father, and even John C. McGinley (from Platoon) makes an appearance. There is a documentary on the DVD version and we learn from this that Daryl Hannah who plays Darien Taylor, was really uncomfortable and not happy at all making the film. She might be a weaker part compared to other performances, but nothing that dents the impact of the film.

Stone directs with confidence, look out for some good Cinematography by Robert Richardson (the World Trade centre is seen at the start) You also get a nice flashback feeling technology wise in a pre smart phone era, with just simple green screen computers decidedly low tech by modern standards. For me the film works, though some feel the it spurned a period of "Gekko" culture as the character became something of an icon for would be business super heroes. Gekko is really a reflection of the time period and just mirrors the events and mentality of some people. The film is a drama and like all fictional works shouldn't be taken too seriously, but it does send a fairly important message on a moral level.

Still a great film, and a one of the best of it's genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wall Street Shuffle, 7 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Wall Street Collector's Edition [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
From the early morning sunlit vistas of Manhattan accompanying Frank Sinatra's classic take on Fly Me to the Moon, to Bud's (Charlie Sheen) desperate final bid to flee the clutches of Gordon Gecko (Michael Douglas) and work for the authorities by selling his boss out, Wall Street seemingly defines an age in a way that Easy Rider defines the counterculture and Saturday Night Fever defines the 1970s. Newly released on Blu-Ray, the film holds up pretty well and the shoulder-pads, truck-sized PCs, and synthesized music aren't as obtrusive as they are in the film's comedic equivalent of the time, Working Girl, for instance. But at heart, the film's morality tale is less about money and "greed" than it is those traditional elements of family loyalty and small-town upbringing. Bud's dilemma and guilty conscience come back to haunt him courtesy of his love and respect for his father (played by real-life Dad, Martin Sheen)whose company, and by implication his integrity, Bud sells for a seat at the corporate table. Stone keeps the film refreshingly simple in its approach and visual construction which benefits the HD transfer and only gives hint to the bravura style to follow in his films when, in a locker-room confrontation Gecko summons Bud to "get information" if he wants to stay in the game and the backdrop fades to black as thunder rumbles in the background. As Faustian pacts go, Wall Street is as smart and seductive as they come. Stone had to endure people coming up to him for years after who said they'd been inspired to get into stockbroking by the film. As a caustic tale of the American Dream misunderstood, Stone couldn't have hoped for anything more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the movies that defined the financial era of the 80's, 28 Jun. 2007
This is a 1980's classic to say the least. And for me at least one of the movies that defined the financial era of that decade.

Bud Fox (Charlie Sheen) is an up and coming stock broker who dreams of getting that big account. He works at a firm, calling people and trying to get customers. Then suddenly it happens. He manages to catch the big fish that everyone wants to catch. Gordon Gekko (Michael Douglas) is a big-shot in the business and soon Bud Fox is treated to the wonders of big finance, but also to it's less flattering sides. Best remembered for Gekko's phrase,'Greed is Good.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greed is good - I WANT more on my Blu Ray releases, 11 Oct. 2011
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I never managed to watch Wall Street all the way through when I was younger. It was one of those films that I had caught numerous chunks of through watching it when catching an already started screening on the Television. I finally watched the whole film a few years back when it was released on DVD a few years back, I loved it. Most people know the basic story of this film and the Iconic "Corporate Raider" Gordon Gecko played by Michael Douglas. I won't weigh you down by spewing on about it.

Now that I am "upgrading" a lot of my DVD's to Blu Ray I got hold of Wall Street and have to say I'm pleased with the transfer. Not the greatest of transfers, however it is an improvement over the picture quality of the DVD.

However, I'm left thinking that a little more could have been done with this release other than a slight upgrade on the picture quality and regurgitated extras that most people that own the DVD will have watched before.

Again I'm left frustrated by an all time great film being shafted by those greedy distributors who are just releasing any film they can sell enough copies of to make a few bucks with no new extras.

5 Star Film
4 Star Transfer
3 Star extras (as nice to have them, new ones would be most welcome)

4 Star release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now's the time to watch this movie, 18 May 2010
By 
It is a good time to watch this classic movie as Oliver Stone is bringing the "sequel" very soon!
"Wallstreet - Money never Sleeps" will be coming to the cinema on 24 September 2010 (USA).
The Trailer to the upcoming movie made me want to see the original from 1987; and it was very good.
Picture is not really worthy of Bluray - its like watching an upscaled DVD..
But as the price is good, and there is no way I will ever buy a DVD again - unless the Film is only available on DVD - I would say this is a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLUE HORSESHOE LOVES ANACOTT STEEL, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Jet Lagged - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Budd Fox has placed all his money on Black - and it's come up Red.

In a few minutes he will be led away in handcuffs by the Feds.

Before they arrive, grey-haired Lou gives the kid an enigmatic piece of advice:

"Man looks in the abyss, there's nothing staring back at him. At that moment, man finds his character. And that is what keeps him out of the abyss."

This priceless advice goes way over Budd Fox's young head. He just doesn't get it.

This film was supposed to be a morality play - with the reptilian Gordon Gekko as the villain. What happened? Everybody thought the Gekko character was great. It even inspired some people to go into Wall Street. Greed is good! That was not the intention of the movie but it's what actually happened.

Gekko, superbly played by Michael Douglas, was such a well defined villain that he steals, not just the money, but the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wall Street Collector's Edition [DVD] [1987]
£3.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews