Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Alright Mr Gekko, you got me'.
The definitive sales movie. Before Glengarry Glen Ross and Boiler Room, there was Wall Street. Set in that behemoth of the New York Stock Exchange and the trading floors down town and providing it is a grim look at the society that inhabit them.

Telling the tale of Budd Fox (Charlie Sheen), a young upstart, heavily in debt with stars in his eyes, the story...
Published on 26 Feb 2007 by Mr. A. E. Hall

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by poor picture quality
An excellent film with a wonderful performance by Michael Douglas, and something pretty special from Charelie Sheen too. The film is a real monument to the eighties in a global city like New York. However, it is let down by a pretty shoddy film quality. Whether it is the original film quality, or whether it is just a poor print that has been transferred, it's...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by Bismaquer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Alright Mr Gekko, you got me'., 26 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The definitive sales movie. Before Glengarry Glen Ross and Boiler Room, there was Wall Street. Set in that behemoth of the New York Stock Exchange and the trading floors down town and providing it is a grim look at the society that inhabit them.

Telling the tale of Budd Fox (Charlie Sheen), a young upstart, heavily in debt with stars in his eyes, the story starts off smoothly. Desperate to get in with the big hitters, he soon finds himself getting into highly dodgey business with Gordon Gekko (Michael Douglas).

Charlie Sheen turns in the finest performance of his career and really brings out the pathos in the naive and young Budd Fox, trapped in the dark business that is sales. Before he knows it, he has become exactly what he set out to be, with all the baggage attatched. Douglas is also fantastic as the inspirational and ultimately repulsive Gekko, and the list of lackies and struggling salesmen as the scum and losers of this morality tale deliver with panache. How far would you go? How much is too much?

Oliver Stone has earned his reputation as a controversial film maker; from the violence of war in Platoon to spurious conspiracy claims in JFK, and Wall Street is no exception. Some call it anti capitalist or plain Marxist, I don't. For me, I look at the ending and see the consequences of dishonesty. Stone brings about a negative twist to the world which I have seen with my own eyes. No one ever said it was perfect, and those who say it is all bad are just plain wrong. And no film ever showed that better than Wall Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Stop Trying To Make A Quick Buck", 2 May 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Budd Fox (Charlie Sheen) is an energetic young man who wants to be a big man on Wall Street, he thinks he can sell and deal stocks like the best of them, so he wants the best teacher, Gordon Gecko (Michael Douglas), a guy who's made millions out of the system, and annoyed many people on his route. So Budd learns, as Gecko teaches him the tricks, skills and how to make big money, but is he looking into the abyss and seeing who he really is, as suggested by his boss Lou (Hal Holbrook) or is he just a whipper snapper trying to make a living?

This is a great movie, and well captured by Stone, who himself had a father who was in the business and wanted to make a "business movie", to look at the bad guys of the system, and how people's simple needs often outweigh what they feel is right. There's a great cameo from John C McGinley (Dr Cox from Scrubs) - his role as Budd's friend is good, and shows he was already a rising star of the Hollywood system. I also liked the fact that this was an all-star cast: Michael Douglas shining as the charismatic Gecko, not taking prisoners and emotionally detached from his work. Also not forgetting Martin Sheen, as Budd's father, not just in the film, but in real life, so when he cries in the hospital, you know he really means it, and those are gold moments.

This blu-ray is decent, but not spellbinding - the MPEG 4 video is good, but is a bit grainy, given the fact it's probably the style of film used, it's probably the best they can do with the medium available. The colours are sharp though, and the BD-50 full transfer making this the best release of Wall Street so far. The audio is dynamic, but I did notice I had to turn up the volume on it, as the dialogue wasn't that loud. The master-HD audio is a must hear though, and is top quality otherwise.

There are SD extras here, including "Greed Is Good", a look at the movie from Oliver Stone's point of view, a full hour of discussion and a look at the system in which he worked in, and how the movie evolved. There's also the making of, which has some interesting insights. The commentary by Stone is very concise too and should wet the appetites of any budding director.

All in all - worth a look, a definite classic.
Film: 4/5, transfer: 3/5, extras: 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by poor picture quality, 5 Nov 2011
By 
An excellent film with a wonderful performance by Michael Douglas, and something pretty special from Charelie Sheen too. The film is a real monument to the eighties in a global city like New York. However, it is let down by a pretty shoddy film quality. Whether it is the original film quality, or whether it is just a poor print that has been transferred, it's difficult to imagine that this Blu Ray looks any better than the DVD release. Why not save some cash and buy that instead?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aged well, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I hadn't seen this film for many years, and then bought it on Bluray. It was better than I expected and still has a kick. A tale of greed, betrayal and redemption. Some of the basest instincts around, but still as applicable in today's climate as it was in the 80's. Michael Douglas was very good (If you want a friend, get a dog!), Martin and Charlie Sheen as a father and son combo worked well, and the whole thing is worth revisiting for a fresh look if you haven't seen it for some time.

As far as the Bluray is concerned the Picture Quality is nothing special. I'm sure its an upgrade from the DVD, but it will never be a reference disc to show what HD can do. However I don't have it on DVD, and don't regret having bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Wall Street" on BLU RAY - Which Issue To Buy Or Not Buy..., 18 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
UK fans of Oliver Stone's "Wall Street" should note the following if they're buying on BLU RAY.

"Wall Street" and its sequel "Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps" on 'US' 20th Century Fox BLU RAYS are both REGION A LOCKED - so they won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

The obvious option is to go for the 'UK' BLU RAY bundle of both films.

But if you're up for more - the original 1987 "Wall Street" film has also been re-issued Stateside in 2012 by Oliver Stone as a 'Filmmakers Signature Series' edition - and this 20th Century Fox BLU RAY is REGION FREE (will play on all machines). It offers the amazing "Greed Is Good" behind-the-scenes extra that runs for nearly a whole hour.

Confusing I know - but that's Region Coding for you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now's the time to watch this movie, 18 May 2010
By 
It is a good time to watch this classic movie as Oliver Stone is bringing the "sequel" very soon!
"Wallstreet - Money never Sleeps" will be coming to the cinema on 24 September 2010 (USA).
The Trailer to the upcoming movie made me want to see the original from 1987; and it was very good.
Picture is not really worthy of Bluray - its like watching an upscaled DVD..
But as the price is good, and there is no way I will ever buy a DVD again - unless the Film is only available on DVD - I would say this is a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the movies that defined the financial era of the 80's, 28 Jun 2007
This is a 1980's classic to say the least. And for me at least one of the movies that defined the financial era of that decade.

Bud Fox (Charlie Sheen) is an up and coming stock broker who dreams of getting that big account. He works at a firm, calling people and trying to get customers. Then suddenly it happens. He manages to catch the big fish that everyone wants to catch. Gordon Gekko (Michael Douglas) is a big-shot in the business and soon Bud Fox is treated to the wonders of big finance, but also to it's less flattering sides. Best remembered for Gekko's phrase,'Greed is Good.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be nostalgic and look at the twin towers, 4 Jun 2007
By 
The film avoids as much as possible the sentimental side of things and concentrates on the financial depth of the business. There is a slight touch of romanticism with the cover-girl, sorry home decorator. There is a little bit more feeling with the father, maybe because the father is playing the father and the son is playing the son, though it remains essentially business, in this case union business. Then there is nothing but buying and selling, owning and dumping, saving and killing, and the game is only pleasant if it is always both together. To kill one by saving another and to buy one in order to make the other sell and then buy him out. Even the police and justice are used that way. I expose you to the police to humiliate you and have you arrested, but then you trap me for the police with a tape-recorder and you will get a rap on the fingers from the judge while I will get to prison. When you know that that I was the one who wanted to kill a certain company that that you decided to save by having it bought by the sworn enemy of that I, you understand what inside business and inside dealing and inside embezzling and inside anything you want means. Just read or watch American Psycho, Unrated Version, and you will have the schizophrenic reading of the same situation. This film is maybe slightly too technical, but it is the way we are totally messed up in our lives by a bunch of psychopaths who have enough money to buy the federal government out of the federal reserve at Fort Knox, or vice versa, which might even be funnier. As Gekko said so simply: "You're not naive enough to think we are in a democracy. It's the free market." And we are the bait to catch the fish or the fish caught by the hook, or even maybe nothing but the hook itself to catch the shark.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, University Paris Dauphine & University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Douglas's Best Movie, 18 April 2010
By 
SE Timmins "Steve Timmins" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wall Street Collector's Edition [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
Wall Street is by far the best role that Michael Douglas has played.
He is very convincing as Gordon Gekko.

With classic quotes like,
"Lunch is for Wimps."
"Greed is Good."
"What's worth doing is worth doing for money."

and many more great quotes from this character.

The Movie itself, is one of my favorites of all time. It teaches the viewer many useful points of life. It was also good that Mr Douglas got the Oscar award for best actor for the lead role as Gordon Gekko.

If you still have not got this classic yet,

BUY IT A.S.A.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s Classic, 21 May 2003
By A Customer
Ok - some people may be a bit scared of this film, since it is about high finance and was directed by Oliver Stone, one of the most controversial American directors to date.
However, this movie marks a milestone of film making and story telling. All of the characters are believable (after all - it's a true story) and the film gives a good account of the way of thinking that dominated the 80s. It is a story of how far people are willing to go to be successful and how well they cope with the consequences of their actions. Not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wall Street Collector's Edition [DVD] [1987]
7.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews