Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius
Genius Of Design is one of those hidden gems. Even if you're not particularly interested in design, the history behind many everyday things is fascinating. Tupperware, the iconic school road sign, kitchen designs...and a whole load of mad creations and even madder designers
Published on 9 Jun 2010 by J. D. White

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not The Full Broadcast Versions
Note: this is not the full ~59 min per episode broadcast version but the usual ten minute short Acorn media version. If you haven't seen the full version you probably won't notice it but I found it grating. Originally the Amazon details page showed 300 minutes, now corrected to 243 minutes, so I thought these were the full versions. But as the difference grates and I...
Published on 8 Sep 2012 by John Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 9 Jun 2010
By 
J. D. White "Jdawg" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Genius Of Design is one of those hidden gems. Even if you're not particularly interested in design, the history behind many everyday things is fascinating. Tupperware, the iconic school road sign, kitchen designs...and a whole load of mad creations and even madder designers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 6 July 2010
This review is from: The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I saw two episodes from this series when it was broadcast on BBC Two and have just watched the whole series right through on DVD. What a great series. Particularly interesting was the episode dealing with how design influenced the war although it is also fascinating to get an insight into the design history of the everyday items around us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Sep 2010
By 
S. Ingoldby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Informative, fun, and raises some good points. I'm a design student and this series is a godsend. The series spans from the victorian era to present day and describes how design was used during the second world war and how we're inventing new things and looking slightly in to the future. The only gripe I had is that I wanted the series to be slightly longer and in places a bit more in-depth, but that could just be me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Show and tell: this is how it was... and remains, 27 Aug 2010
By 
Mikael Magnusson "script hawk" (Spanish mountain village) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a great series. I saw it first on television and knew I needed it at home for further study.

If you are into design, be it buildings, interiors, decoration, or graphics; or if you like to know how household articles get inspired by emerging technologies and then get de-cluttered and simplified, then this is the set for you.

There is so much detail that right from the start I was glad I had it in a format I can review, again and again. The narrative and interviews are illuminating, the photography and editing great, and the music, well, balanced.

Do I recommend it? Un-reservedly yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Design Heaven, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The Genius of Design a two disk, 5 episode series that shows how and why design is such a compelling and fascinating field. If you have any interest in design this is no brainer purchase. There is no easier decision you could make than to get your hands on this DVD! ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Genius of The Genius of Design, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I loved this series of Documentaries. I had first managed to catch one of the episodes when it was on the TV and then had to see the rest! It takes you right through the history of design in the most practical terms possible and explains how society and culture influences design and vice versa. So good that I then had to buy The Genius of Photography. Also amazing. I learnt so much from it as did my boyfriend, a cinematographer, who was convinced he already knew it all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not The Full Broadcast Versions, 8 Sep 2012
By 
John Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Note: this is not the full ~59 min per episode broadcast version but the usual ten minute short Acorn media version. If you haven't seen the full version you probably won't notice it but I found it grating. Originally the Amazon details page showed 300 minutes, now corrected to 243 minutes, so I thought these were the full versions. But as the difference grates and I already have a recording off the TV, I just like to support quality programmes but not Acorn Media's habit of cutting off ten minutes, I returned them.

The one good thing out of this is Amazing-tv-dvds, who were as good as you expect an Amazon Marketplace seller to be, reimbursed me without question once I had explained the problem and as soon as I informed them they were in the post back to them. At least that is one company I will happily use in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 12 July 2013
By 
C. Durham (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Shows the history behind the design, not just the commercial side of side, and introduces objects that may not have a wow factor but have changed the way we live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Shipping!, 1 Jan 2013
By 
LEE JONG HYUK (TAEGU, South Korea) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The item was arrived so fast. This is great program. I would recommanded this program to any one who likes documentaries. I finished in one day. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good product inadequately packaged, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
this is a good product but for anew DVD to be given as a gift, I was concerned that there was no factory wrapping around the case. This gave the impression that it was secondhand. Not a good look for a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010]
The Genius of Design [DVD] [2010] by Denis Lawson (DVD - 2010)
£8.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews