Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aico E1141 Fire Alarm
Needed a replacement as the old one was out of date. Came delivered complete with back up batteries and was easy to fit without specialist knowledge.
Published on 19 Feb 2011 by Tavypar

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's worth paying more
Aico makes three kinds of alarm: heat, ionisation and optical. The heat ones are intended for use in kitchens, the other two elsewhere. Aico's own website explains that the optical ones are less prone to false alarms resulting from cooking, eg burning toast; and the ionisation ones are less prone to false alarms resulting from water vapour, eg outside shower rooms...
Published 14 months ago by David Colver


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aico E1141 Fire Alarm, 19 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Aico EI141RC Mains Ionisation Smoke Alarm with 9V Battery Back-up (Misc.)
Needed a replacement as the old one was out of date. Came delivered complete with back up batteries and was easy to fit without specialist knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay safe and save money, 18 Jan 2012
This review is from: Aico EI141RC Mains Ionisation Smoke Alarm with 9V Battery Back-up (Misc.)
Had a fault with one mains alarm (chirping constantly) so bought two of these to replace both existing alarms - I read that you can't mix and match different makes and models of interlinked alarm. The alarms were really easy to fit (I'm no electrician), the instructions were clear and the terminals are all clearly colour coded. Even came with Duracell 9V batteries.

Highly recommended if the mains wiring is already in place - stay safe and save a few pounds with a reasonably priced alarm you can fit yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Head Replacement, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aico EI141RC Mains Ionisation Smoke Alarm with 9V Battery Back-up (Misc.)
As I had one of these already and it was making an off and on alarm warning signal for over a week even after cleaning out any dust and replacing the battery.
I checked on the side it said I should replace it over 12 months ago .
So Amazon offered this at just £15.99 and when I ordered it it expectect it to arrive in a few days as it was a Sunday I placed the order and it arrived this Monday less than 22 hours later by carrier. What superb service....Also it has a replacement date 2024 and for safety I recommend anyone who purchases this to do the same as it only costs less than £1.45 per year to save a life a bargain don't you think...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RECCOMENDED, 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These are a good product, I have had two for about ten years, they are linked together so when one goes into alarm mode, they both do. The battery change is simple enough once you get the hang of it. They last about a year. They have a sticker indicating the replacement date when you are expected to discard them. One of mine went faulty a few months before the date. I decided to purchase two of the same model to replace them. They have a 5 year guarentee and the manufacturer will aparently replace any one that developes a fault within five years of purchase. You do not need a reciept, they can tell when they were manufactured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to fit, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aico EI141RC Mains Ionisation Smoke Alarm with 9V Battery Back-up (Misc.)
I tried a couple of other makes but they needed the wiring to be fitted inside the ceiling. For this model you screw the housing to the ceiling, fit the wiring into connector blocks and slide the unit on, very simple and easy to fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars netsky, 1 Jun 2010
By 
L. East "Netsky" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aico EI141RC Mains Ionisation Smoke Alarm with 9V Battery Back-up (Misc.)
Item arrived promptly next day,securely packaged in good condition, easy to fit works well.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's worth paying more, 1 Nov 2013
By 
David Colver (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aico EI141RC Mains Ionisation Smoke Alarm with 9V Battery Back-up (Misc.)
Aico makes three kinds of alarm: heat, ionisation and optical. The heat ones are intended for use in kitchens, the other two elsewhere. Aico's own website explains that the optical ones are less prone to false alarms resulting from cooking, eg burning toast; and the ionisation ones are less prone to false alarms resulting from water vapour, eg outside shower rooms.

In addition Aico offers two families, the 400 series listed here, and the 600 series which is two or three times the price. The more expensive ones use rechargeable batteries that are intended to be good for ten years. All six models share the same wiring base.

I had one of the 400 series ionisation alarms sited outside a kitchen. It tripped every time the toaster was used. I changed it for a 600 series optical, and the false alarms went away. I don't know whether that is because the optical detector is better suited to that situation, or the higher price of the more expensive range allows the manufacturer to engineer it more carefully. Either way, I recommend that you don't buy this alarm and spring for the extra cost of the 600 series optical model Aico EI166RC 160 Series Optical Smoke Alarm c/w Surface Mounting Kit & Lithium Battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement smoke alarm, 14 Nov 2014
By 
Katie85 (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aico EI141RC Mains Ionisation Smoke Alarm with 9V Battery Back-up (Misc.)
Purchased this hard-wired smoke alarm as a like-for-like replacement for one that was near the end of its life and showing the signs of old age. It comes as a whole unit - mounting plate, detector, back-up battery. It comes with instructions with how to install the whole set-up and to replace the detector. It is straight forward to replace and to test it to check it works - I personally did not replace this myself as it turns out I am not tall enough to reach my ceiling unless I fancied an accident with a step-ladder but I did witness my friend set it up for me and it took him about two minutes once he had read and understood the instructions. However, if you are in doubt about setting this yourself, do get a electrician in to look at it for you - it is never too expensive to ensure your home is protected in the event of a fire. Would I have purchased this particular make and model if I did not already have the fixings in place for this? Difficult to say, but a smoke alarm is a must for your home at the end of the day. It's good to have some peace of mind for the next 10 or so years (and some quiet from the new battery!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touch Brittle..., 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aico EI141RC Mains Ionisation Smoke Alarm with 9V Battery Back-up (Misc.)
Generally I think it's well made and a good buy, my main complaint so far is that the 4 core cable required to fit it isn't generally available in your domestic DIY stores, you have to visit more specialist ones. The way the device goes together is nice, the connectors are solid. I would comment the plastic is a touch brittle where it clips the two halves together.

This unit was intended to add an alarm to my house, in practice it replaced one, a clip broke off when changing the battery. Once this has happened they don't sit correctly in the removable mount. This is a cheap and nasty bit of design that could have been done much better, it lets the whole unit down. To be fair, if care is taken it is perfectly fit for purpose though and I'd probably opt for one of these rather than try an unknown type. Just be gentle... it's delicate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aico EI141RC Mains Ionisation Smoke Alarm with 9V Battery Back-up (Misc.)
Much cheaper alternative than radio link units and not difficult to fit
How the batterise did not last more than 2mths
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews