Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Do You Have to be a Daybreaker?
My level of expectations before watching most vampire films that come out of Hollywood are rock bottom. Too many angsty teens, or brainless action films, for my liking. Therefore, I was not planning to enjoy `Daybreakers', but in fact I liked it - a lot. Set in an alternative near future, `Daybreakers' surrounds society that is now dominated by Vampires. The few...
Published on 8 April 2011 by Sam Tyler

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vampire world
"Daybreakers" has a rather clever concept -- if vampires existed, wouldn't they eventually end up outnumbering humans?

The movie doesn't quite carry off that concept, introducing semi-scientific vampirism and then muddling the whole idea of how it works and is cured. But despite its drawbacks, it's still an entertainingly sleek, action-packed story with a...
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Do You Have to be a Daybreaker?, 8 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Daybreakers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My level of expectations before watching most vampire films that come out of Hollywood are rock bottom. Too many angsty teens, or brainless action films, for my liking. Therefore, I was not planning to enjoy `Daybreakers', but in fact I liked it - a lot. Set in an alternative near future, `Daybreakers' surrounds society that is now dominated by Vampires. The few remaining humans are either on the run, or being farmed in industrial complexes. However, with such an imbalance between Vampire and Humans the undead are about to starve, can Dr Edward Dalton, the vampire scientist, find a substitute food source, or will this be the chance for the human resistance to fight back?

`Daybreakers' is a rarity in modern mainstream genre film in that it is both intelligent and action packed. The concept of a Vampire society is portrayed brilliantly in the film, just like our own day to day monotony, but night to night. The Vampires go to the office then come home, not much has changed in society expect that people need blood to survive. With a well realised world directors Michael and Peter Spierig have a great playground to set a story in. However, despite being able to initially create a vivid environment the Spierigs are not quite able to create a storyline as good. Instead you are left with a solid action story that does not quite reach the levels of intelligence it should.

The film looks fantastic on BluRay as the format is able to highlight the darkness of city life and the pale skin of the people. The action scenes also benefit from being in HD as they come across as bloody and high powered. With a well developed world the action sequences are elevated in quality - the Spierigs remain true to the rules created. This means during the day the vampires hunt wearing protective gear and their cars let no light in. By remaining true to the film's core values the entire experience is elevated. This is a good thing when Willem Dafoe and Ethan Hawke come across a little hammy at times.

A great slice of genre goodness for fans of science fiction action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, intriguing, but not a classic, 29 April 2011
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daybreakers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"Daybreakers" is based on an interesting premise that mixes the original fantasy elements of the classic vampire stories with a futuristic sci-fi setting and a curious "What if?..." basic story idea.

It's neatly executed, and beautifully shot and lit. As you might expect from a modern vampire story there's plenty of blood and guts, but generally there are only a few excessively over-the-top moments, and at times it borders on being comic- especially the way in which vampires explode so melodramatically if stabbed through the heart.

After a strong start, the story deteriorates slightly into a predictable hunter-and-chased movie in the middle, but it wraps up nicely (no spoilers). Not destined to be a classic, but a very accomplished and worth-watching movie for sure.

The Blu-ray has all the usual features you'd expect- full director commentary, behind-the-scenes making ofs, trailers, all the usual BD interactive standards that you'd expect, meaning it's well stocked for extras without adding anything too unusual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daybreakers, 3 April 2013
By 
Lars Jönlid (gothenburg Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daybreakers [DVD] (DVD)
This film is sort of a turnaround.. where the vampires rules the days and try to make synthethic blood to stay a live ! Buy it you`ll like it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bloody good!, 12 Feb 2014
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daybreakers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The world is now populated, largely, by vampires, a situation arising from the spread of a plague initiated by a single individual human being bitten by a vampire bat. The vampires, on the face of it, want to live cooperatively with humans but with a desperate need for blood what's a health-conscious vamp to do? One solution is to make synthetic blood. This is the solution that the giant corporation, Bromley Marks has invested in with top vampire haematologist, Edward Dalton (Ethan Hawke), leading the research team. However, the progress the team are making in the development of the synthetic product is not fast enough to meet the increasing demand from the vampire public. The result is that humans are rounded up for `farming' in a 'Matrix style' industrial scale extraction complex while the research continues.

Naturally enough the few remaining humans take exception to this and form a resistance group led by `Elvis' Cormac, played by the always watchable, Willem Defoe, a former vampire, who was `cured' by being, one day, accidentally exposed to the full glare of the Sun and then suddenly `quenched' by driving into a handy lake! Driving home from work one day Dalton encounters a group of humans whose car has broken down and he offers them refuge from the hunter vampires in his car. As a result he meets Cormac who relates the incident that cured him. From that moment on Dalton, already sympathetic to the humans' plight throws in his lot with them.

The film looks good on blu ray, has a few gory moments when blood-starved vamps go on a feeding frenzy, conveys a key economic principle of supply and demand, and, interestingly, makes an unwitting if timely point about the bloodsucking nature of big business in the form of evil tycoon Charles Bromley, ably portrayed by Sam Neill. The disc also has, as an extra feature, a brilliant 15 minute short film called The Big Picture, which is almost worth the price of the disc alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daybreakers [DVD] (DVD)
didn't think I would like this as it is my husbands type of film but must say although it made me jump many times I enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars daybreakers, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daybreakers [DVD] (DVD)
a really good film with a great story line and excellent actors in it,great additions to any movie collection,great viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daybreakers [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed this movie , thought the storyline was great , there are very dark scenes in some parts of the movie which is what i like about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daybreakers, 20 July 2013
This review is from: Daybreakers [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the film, bit of blood guts and gore without the let down of over doing it. Arrived quickly and in brand new condition. Definately reccommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing look on Vampires, 29 April 2010
By 
Ms. C. A. Anderson "Cassandra220689" (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daybreakers [DVD] (DVD)
Having been used to reading about vampires that are nothing like the original nature of vampires, it is refreshing to go back to what the vampire legends state that vampires are really like. This film shows our world in 2019 where Vampires are the ruling race and humans are farmed for their blood to feed them. The only problem is the Vampires have hunted humans to near extinction and blood supplies are dangerously low as a result.

In comes Edward Dalton, who works for the company that is farming the humans and trying to find a substitute to human blood. However, Edward is not like other vampires. Which I am sure you have heard before....and he follows the same qualities of a non normal vampire like our dear Mr.Cullen from Twilight (Very cleverly done giving him the same name as Mr.Cullen to create parallels). Edward does not like being a vampire, he never choose it and desperately wants to be human.

After causing a crash, he meets some humans which are on the run and he goes against his vampire nature and helps them. They reward him later with help in his fight to save the human race. I won't say how but for a while it seems they have found a solution that the Vampires haven't but things are not so simple.

The only negative thing I would say was that I did think that there were so many violent scenes that were unnecessary to the story and were just put in for gimmick value and that is why I gave it four stars instead of five.

I really enjoyed this film as it was what I feel would be, an accurate representation of what it would be like if Vampires were the ruling race in our society today. As much as I love my vampire fiction, this film presents the harsh reality that humans would be sadly used for their blood and not be loved and cherished by them.

Cassandra220689
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vampire world, 25 Aug 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Daybreakers [DVD] (DVD)
"Daybreakers" has a rather clever concept -- if vampires existed, wouldn't they eventually end up outnumbering humans?

The movie doesn't quite carry off that concept, introducing semi-scientific vampirism and then muddling the whole idea of how it works and is cured. But despite its drawbacks, it's still an entertainingly sleek, action-packed story with a surfeit of disgusting gore and a few genuinely wrenching moments.

By the year 2019, the earth is almost entirely populated by vampires, except for a small minority of humans who are drained of their blood. But now almost all humans are gone -- and if vampires don't regularly drink at least a little human blood, they morph into mindless batlike "subsiders." Because of this, hematologist Edward Dalton (Ethan Hawke) is desperately trying to formulate a blood substitute.

Then he encounters a small group of humans led by Audrey (Claudia Karvan). Sensing that he's sympathetic to their cause, Audrey reveals something shocking -- Elvis (Willem Dafoe), a man who was cured of his vampirism. Now Edward must unravel the secret of curing vampirism before all humans and vampires are destroyed.

"Daybreakers" clearly wants to be a thinking-person's vampire movie -- it presents a "what if?" world that would probably come to pass if there were vampires, and it presents vampirism as a plague.

Unfortunately, it never really gives any answers -- the cure for vampirism are especially confusing, and the final twist about how to cure people is bafflingly inexplicable. It's never foreshadowed or hinted at -- it just pops out of nowhere. Plus we're saddled with the usual "big corporations = pure evil" cliche. Blech.

But if you turn off some of your brain cells, "Daybreakers" is a pretty entertaining twist on the vampire genre. Directors Michael Spierig and Peter Spierig paint the vampire world in cold, bleak lighting that seems to sap all color, while the humans' scenes are ramshackle, dusty and brightly lit. There are lots of fast chase scenes (including a ridiculous one on a bridge), tolerable writing, and a literal bloodbath where we see vampires tearing humans apart.

Hawke does a pretty tolerable job as Edward, an angsty vampire who is trying to save as many people as possible -- the character isn't very unique, but Hawke plays it with melancholy power. Karvan is a generic love interest with nothing much to do except get captured, but Willem DeFoe is pretty brilliant as a drawling mechanic human-turned-vampire-turned-human.

"Daybreakers" aspires to be more than it ends up being, but it's still a fairly entertaining vampire movie -- certainly better than the "Twilight" series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daybreakers [DVD]
Daybreakers [DVD] by Michael Spierig (DVD - 2010)
£2.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews