Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class
Having been in the audience for the Manchester leg of this tour, it was thrilling to hear/see the set again - albeit on CD and DVD rather than in the flesh. This gig was the third time I had been to see PSB live, and if anything they seem to get better as the years go on. For a bloke past fifty, Neil Tennant bounds across the stage like someone half his age, while Chris...
Published on 1 Mar 2010 by Captain Pugwash

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars purists beware!!!!
Nice package of CD and DVD.. great show and content... However the disc is listed as having DTS surround, and is printed clearly on the packaging.. it doesnt have it.. I bought it because of this as DTS is superior to Dolby. so i was mega dissapointed not to have this feature.. if you dont care about the difference its great but beware if you are buying on the strength of...
Published on 5 Feb 2011 by Chris Preddy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class, 1 Mar 2010
This review is from: Pandemonium: Live at the O2 Arena, London, 21st December 2009 [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Having been in the audience for the Manchester leg of this tour, it was thrilling to hear/see the set again - albeit on CD and DVD rather than in the flesh. This gig was the third time I had been to see PSB live, and if anything they seem to get better as the years go on. For a bloke past fifty, Neil Tennant bounds across the stage like someone half his age, while Chris Lowe escapes from his synthesizer pod at one point to do a little jig - getting the biggest roar of the night! With the surprising but welcome inclusion of mid-80s album tracks such as 'Why Don't We Live Together' and 'Two Divided by Zero', a rousing mash-up of Colplay's 'Viva La Vida' and the boys' own 'Domino Dancing' on the CD, as well as the 2009 Brit Awards performance with Lady Gaga and Brandon Flowers on the DVD, this is a great package and an essential purchase for all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars purists beware!!!!, 5 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemonium: Live at the O2 Arena, London, 21st December 2009 [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Nice package of CD and DVD.. great show and content... However the disc is listed as having DTS surround, and is printed clearly on the packaging.. it doesnt have it.. I bought it because of this as DTS is superior to Dolby. so i was mega dissapointed not to have this feature.. if you dont care about the difference its great but beware if you are buying on the strength of DTS encoding.. I have sent a query to Parlophone records, but as yet no response... I thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class release, 18 Feb 2010
This review is from: Pandemonium: Live at the O2 Arena, London, 21st December 2009 [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I'm happy, the film is good.
I've already know that the show is brilliant and entertaining (I've been to one of the Pandemonium tour concerts) but what is pleasing me is that this video captures it very well.
Picture and sound are perfect, but most important is how it has been shot, and how it is edited. The answer is cleverly, without epyleptic editing and annoying 'arty effects' (black&white, slow/stopmotion etc...)
We saw not only the band, but the entire stage and set, and a little bit of audience (right what it is necessary)

The dancers made a fantastic (hard) work on this show, and they are well represented here. Before this, I wasn't interested about dance act, this show gave me a new point of view and I've enjoyed it.

A good start to anyone who want to know what are Pet Shop Boys on stage, and one of my best concert DVD (all artists combined).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pet Shop Boys Pandemonium Tour, 13 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. W. N. Austin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemonium: Live at the O2 Arena, London, 21st December 2009 [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I received the CD/DVD today and have watched a couple of the tracks, I have to say that what a fantastic show it was, when I went to see it, i especially liked "What Have I Done To Deserve This?" with Dusty Springfield projected in the background, and also featured on the track itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is This A Riot Or Are You Just Pleased To See Me?, 15 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemonium: Live at the O2 Arena, London, 21st December 2009 [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Plenty of reviewers before me have written positively about this new live release from the Pet Shop Boys highlighting tracks from their latest release Yes, etc ,a good selection of past hits and the odd b-side or non album track.
I am going to join them in singing praises,for the most part.The staging,sets and visuals are up to the usual standards.It's also been well filmed and the sound is recorded as best as you can expect at the O2.
I would have given this package five stars if,as the cover states,it was released in dts sound.Alas,contrary to what is printed on the artwork,there are only two Dolby audio tracks(at least one is in 5.1 surround).
Why companies continue releasing product in the overly compressed Dolby format is beyond me and the Pet Shop Boys have done well with their previous releases Pet Shop Boys - Performance [DVD] & Pet Shop Boys - Cubism - Live In Concert - 2006 [DVD] [NTSC] both released in high quality dts sound.
Coincidentally,Madonna's latest concert release Sticky and Sweet: Live (CD & DVD),which has been produced by the same media company,Live Nation,has also been incorrectly mastered/released/printed but that doesn't matter quite so much as Madge mimes 98% of the show.
For those of you who aren't too fussy about your sound,personally I like to feel like I'm at the venue,this is a great performance by the Boys on their Pandemonium Tour and Stuart Price has done a fantastic job handling the programming duties for the show. The "Viva la Vida" mash up with "Domino Dancing",which looks strange/scary on paper is definitely a crowd pleaser.I've always loved PSB's cover versions since "Always On My Mind".The set also includes a CD of selected tracks from the show to take with you on your next car trip or transfer to your portable music device.
"...and now it's Pandemonium!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pet Shop Perfection, 22 April 2010
By 
Mr. S. R. Charlton "stupot" (Bognor, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandemonium: Live at the O2 Arena, London, 21st December 2009 [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Having to travel through the snow for five hours to get to the O2 the Pet Shop Boys did not let me down. The show ran like a well oiled machine with the songs blending into each other to give you a a great theatrical evening. The dancers were fantastic with their routines matching perfectly the mood of the songs. The video backdrop along with the staging were brilliant. Both Neil and Chris looked as though they were having a good time which added to the fun and party atmosphere. Plenty of singalong crowd moments and the set choice went down really well. The new material is equal to the string of hits they performed and the choice of some lesser known material fitted neatly into what was a masterful performance. This (CD + DVD) is a must, if you were there ,but to those who wern't it will make you more determined to see them in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Memory of the Show, superb HD filming, 3 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pandemonium: Live at the O2 Arena, London, 21st December 2009 [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
I loved to see this show in Boston and to relive it again at O2 was amazing. The filming quality is superb, also loved the extras they are perfectly suitable to the time of 2009!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 22 Mar 2010
By 
C. Yehuda AVIRAM (israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pandemonium: Live at the O2 Arena, London, 21st December 2009 [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
great dvd and cd
i was at the gig at the o2 arena
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of PSB is back !, 14 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Pandemonium: Live at the O2 Arena, London, 21st December 2009 [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Another Live album, another atmosphere : Some will say 'Oh no, again and again the same things !

But thy're wrong, because it's a new excitment ! Definitly a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flamboyant, 16 Feb 2010
This review is from: Pandemonium: Live at the O2 Arena, London, 21st December 2009 [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
Few can deny the impact that the legendary Pet Shop Boys have had to pop-culture over the past 25 years. However, it's only in the last decade or so that the boys have become regulars on the World Tour circuit. The setlist is vastly overhauled from 2006's Fundamental tour, with some rare album tracks, B-sides and covers getting a first live airing.
The Pet Shop Boys are an electronic band and although they've used real drummers, guitars, strings etc in the past, this show is pure electronica, so other than the vocals and Lowe's keyboards and percussion, most of the backing music is sequenced. This in no way detracts from the entertainment, and many tracks have been reworked and rearranged for the live situation. Performing Go West over the timpani and bass of Paninaro was a stroke of genius, complemented by some excellent dancers and intreguing backdrop projections. Other highlights include several medleys (Can You Forgive Her seque's effortlessly into Pandemonium. Likewise for Discoteca, Domino Dancing and a cover of the Coldplay classic Viva la Vida).
A humerous audio commentary from Neil and Chris and some additional footage from the night along with the videos from the singles from the YES album are welcome extras.
All in all, excellent value for money and a reminder if any were needed of the quantity and quality of the Tennant/Lowe back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews