Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outta This World!
The Moons are a indie rock band from Northampton (UK) that formed in 2007. In the band we have singer/guitarist/songwriter Andy Crofts, - who looks like Gem Archer or a young Ray Davies - drummer Ben Gordelier, guitarist and backing vocalist James Edward Bagshaw, bassist Adam Leeds and keyboardist Tom Warmsley.
Listening to The Moons - something I've been doing...
Published on 12 Mar 2011 by Ian.G

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars life on earth
As a weller fan i was told to source the moons out and so i did, must say i gave it 5 or 6 listens and came to the conclusion its was a 3rd rate razor light and i cant stand razor light.Its one of those heard it all before but much better jobs shame as i really wanted to like this but theres much better bands coming up through the ranks with a much better sound/songs etc...
Published on 23 May 2011 by cornelious black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outta This World!, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: THE MOONS (Audio CD)
The Moons are a indie rock band from Northampton (UK) that formed in 2007. In the band we have singer/guitarist/songwriter Andy Crofts, - who looks like Gem Archer or a young Ray Davies - drummer Ben Gordelier, guitarist and backing vocalist James Edward Bagshaw, bassist Adam Leeds and keyboardist Tom Warmsley.
Listening to The Moons - something I've been doing prolifically - it's obvious they're no run of the mill indie band instead I think it'll be fair to say their sound derives from '60s freakbeat with bands such as the Small Faces, The Attack and The Action but bringing it more up to date with a touch of Dodgy perhaps and The Las. They create their art in the purest form, the way it should be really with short catchy tunes, harmonious interludes, plucky guitar, McCartneyesque bass and rhythmic drum solos juxtaposed with soulful vocals. Their debut album,
Life On Earth which was released last year on the Acid Jazz label is melodic master-class; each track on it could easily be a stand-out single with absolute no monotony, it's like a 'best of'! This is something that should surely threaten the quality of 'that difficult' second album? Well, the answer to that is not likely! Their second album due hopefully this April is being recorded now and the demos I've heard so far are outstanding. You can pretty much guarantee that the production is gonna be second to none for they have no other than Mr Edwyn Collins on board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANASTIC!!!, 17 May 2010
By 
Gholby "THIS IS MOZ" (KENT ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: THE MOONS (Audio CD)
This was an album i'd been waiting for since i 1st checked out there you-tube demo's
.There isnt a bad track on it,to be honest they could pick 5 or 6 singles from it! if you havnt already got it your missing out because there a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE MOONS (Audio CD)
Bought this solely on reviews and the fact that Andy Croft plays in Weller's band. So glad I did as this CD is excellent. It's hard to describe their sound, it veers from the Beatles, to the Prisoners, to the Kinks. No bad thing at all.
I can't recommend this CD enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 12 April 2010
By 
David M. Freeborn (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: THE MOONS (Audio CD)
This is a great album, I would highly recommend it, well do lads, I can see why Paul Weller liks your music and is your mentor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album contains my favourite song of the century. And some., 6 Dec 2013
By 
Eric Wilson (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: THE MOONS (Audio CD)
I came to The Moons through a recommendation from West Heath Yard recording studios, and bought Life On Earth as a punt. I had no preconceived ideas of their sound or image. I was captivated by this album, and couldn't believe that no-one had championed them to global stardom. Yes, I am that naive. I went to see The Moons at King Tut's in Glasgow, and was shocked to discover their Mod roots. Imagine, perfectly formed songs, pop band with rock influence, so heavily influenced in the Mod culture. I do like Mod music, but hadn't noticed the inflection. Buy this album. Not for it's Modness. Buy it for it's perfection of modern pop rock melodies and well crafted songs. In fact, buy it just for 'How Long' my song of this century. So far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE MOONS (Audio CD)
In excellent condition when it arrived. I've been after this for ages. It was the cheapest by far and it arrived quite quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Northampton's finest!, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE MOONS (Audio CD)
These boys have musical style, class, and energy. Buy this album if you like the Beatles, Paul Weller or Miles Kane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE MOONS (Audio CD)
Bought this CD one day and it arrived the next day, What more can you ask for , First class service, I would highly recommend this company
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: THE MOONS (Audio CD)
One of the best debut albums i have heard in a long time - love every track. Can't wait for the 2nd album to come out !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 31 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE MOONS (Audio CD)
Being a massive Weller fan i was looking forward to seeing what Andy Croft could come up with.His band The Moons should appeal to all Weller/Small Faces fans.The CD is well worth buying,i would highly recommend it.After seeing them at the 1OO club Mod Christmas Fest Gig i can honestly say that they are just as good live as on CD.Keep up the great work Andy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE MOONS
THE MOONS by Moons (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews