Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It would be a Scandal NOT to buy it....
Released to generally positive reviews in 1989, Scandal tells the true story of the Profumo Affair of 1963, a political scandal that eventually saw the collapse of the Conservative Government.
Christine Keeler, an exotic dancer meets and becomes socially involved with social-butterfly Dr.Stephen Ward who in turns introduces her to lifestyle of glamour, riches and...
Published on 31 Jan 2010 by Robster

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not So "Un-Cut" !
I do take umbrage when the cover sleeve makes an issue to specifically state that the movie is uncensored and uncut, when in truth the opposite is realised when viewed.

The Peter Rackman( Johnny Shannon ) and Mandy Rice-Davies ( Bridget Fonda ) "no kissing" hotel bedroom scene which should have been in chapter 15, between the scene of the two girls ( Fonda &...
Published on 23 Mar 2008 by Richard H


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scandal DVD, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandal [DVD] (DVD)
I am Very happy with this product and service from this company and would certainly use this company again :) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scandal film, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandal [DVD] (DVD)
It was well made and it combined a good story line with entertainment. I liked the casting and the script
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 16 Sep 2014
By 
Mrs. R. Wright "Mrs. R. Wright" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandal [DVD] (DVD)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandal [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 28 Aug 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Film of the true story that came to be known as 'The Profumo Affair'.

Not a bad movie telling this story, but way over the top with regards to nudity and 'explicit' dialogue. However, the main facts of the time come across pretty well, and also shows both how irresponsibly people can behave in high government offices, and equally how people can be used as 'scapegoats' and 'dropped' at the tip of a hat when necessary.

No one could watch this and not come away from it feeling quite nauseous as to how politics and those in high places behave... Despite all this though, sympathy for 'Ward' (played by John Hurt) does surface at the end.

The film is rather slow, and does not really get going until about an hour in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars top film,wrong sound, 6 Aug 2011
By 
Mrgvase - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandal [DVD] (DVD)
I will not dwell on how great this film is,like everyone else I think it is one of the best british films made,but I wish either the film industry or dvd firms would get the information on the jewel covers correct,for godsake this is supposed tobe a special edition,so why does it say dolby two track stereo or 2.0 on the back when infact it`s 5.1 surround.I wish film buff`s ran the uk dvd industry as the boneheads who put this out should be sacked,also it`s 35mm full screen not widescreen,no wonder the public give up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film that is readily available on DVD at long last, 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandal [DVD] (DVD)
I had eagerly awaited an affordable DVD release of this film, as I really liked it when I saw it in the cinema around the time of its release all those years ago. I really enjoyed watching it again recently, the picture quality of the DVD is very good and the sound is fine too, and its only around five quid. I would recommend buying this DVD if, like me, you enjoy a well made movie that is aimed at a discerning audience, i.e. an audience that will not watch any old crap - and so many movies are, in my opinion, made for an audience that will watch any old preposterous crap. I can't comment on how historically accurate or not the film is, since I know hardly anything about the events back in the sixties which the film depicts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scandal (John Hurt), 11 Nov 2005
By 
C. Campbell "matched1" (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scandal [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A Good Film To Watch, A Good Adaptation Of The Perfumer affair, Good Acting, Faily Acurate To What Was Reported At The Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars easy watch, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandal [DVD] (DVD)
good, easy watch film, but didn't go into severity of situation in film and show long effect this scandal caused
Parliament and

Perfumo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SCANDAL DVD, 9 Mar 2012
This review is from: Scandal [DVD] (DVD)
My favourite film. Well worth the money. Joanne Whalley and Bridget Fonda are brilliant. Plus many other big names star in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scandal [DVD]
Scandal [DVD] by Michael Caton-Jones (DVD - 2010)
£6.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews