Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criminally misunderstood
Clearly, this is not a film the majority of people will enjoy, or even understand. Disturbing and highly emotional, this is a piece of brilliance which is sadly being judged too harshly on it's surface material.
Suicide is filmed in a style similar to the Dogme 95 directors of legend, this is probably due to the complete lack of budget Raoul Heimrich had to work...
Published on 7 Jan 2006 by neopowell

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very slow & boring.
Unfortunately I have to totally disagree with the other review of this movie. Having looked forward to seeing it I was hugely disappointed.
To come up with an idea for a zero (& this time I really do mean ZERO) budget film, then get it marketed is a very hard thing to do & I must give credit to those involved with this dvd for having achieved that.
Unfortunately...
Published on 20 Mar 2004 by Russell Tit Davies


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criminally misunderstood, 7 Jan 2006
Clearly, this is not a film the majority of people will enjoy, or even understand. Disturbing and highly emotional, this is a piece of brilliance which is sadly being judged too harshly on it's surface material.
Suicide is filmed in a style similar to the Dogme 95 directors of legend, this is probably due to the complete lack of budget Raoul Heimrich had to work with, but the effect is no less stark. The vast majority of scenes are done in a single, continuous take, with no editing tricks or special effects coming between the viewer and the naked performances. Cutting is kept to a bare minimum, typically used only to change from one scene to the next, and the shooting is (naturally) all hand-held. No attempt is made to disguise the prescence of the camera, indeed, the plot not only requires but also benefits from the involvement of the largely invisible cameraman.
Of course, the less visual trickey a film has to work with, the more it leans on the actors to hold your attention (for example, the fact that Daniel Radcliffe cannot act is largely irrelevent in the sea of breathtaking CGI that is Harry Potter. No such luxuries here). Whilst I don't believe for a second that the actors were so emotionally involved they could only do their respective scenes once, as the box proclaims, the performances are utterly spellbinding. On paper, the measured pace and lack of dialogue sound catatonically sleep-inducing. On film, it works. Although some of the scenes are more memorable than others, each one is acted to perfection and the end result is as moving a piece of cinema as you will ever see. The stand-out performance, a true gem, lies in the slow, pill-induced attempt at suicide of two young girls. Containing only two words of dialogue, the scene is utterly engaging and powerful, as we see the horrors of despair laid completely open. The camera barely flinches as one of the girls begins vomiting, whilst the other slowly drifts out of reality, eventually laying her head down to die. Utterly bleak, yet still compelling, this is fearless portrayal of the end of two people's downward spiral.
Elsewhere, the film keeps up a similar standard of fearless quality. There is a loose plot connecting the various deaths, and the ending is a genuine shocker, but the five stars are earned purely by the power and morbid beauty of the actors and their moments in the camera's eye. On the side, for those more interested in the messages contained in great pieces of cinema, it's a frank exploration of the theory laid out by Slavoj Zizk and the relationship between voyeur/voyee. We see the subconscious desre of human beings to be watched in everything they do, even the final moments of their life, shown particularly by the scene in which a Satanist attempts suicide, with the camera present, surrounded by candles and burning incense. We are witness to his self-serving theatrics, a dramatic speech, and on the first sight of blood, he backs out and demands the camera be switched off. Almost a spoof, this scene is a highly intelligent observation on the human desire for an audience.
Calling this film 'dangerous' is to do it an uforgivable injustice. For those considering suicide, I would suggest this film not to find ideas for taking their own lives, but as a wake-up call. Seeing the depths of emotion portrayed in this film is enough to scare anyone off suicide forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suiceide to miss it., 25 Mar 2003
By 
Mr. P. Wade "paulwadeuk" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a knewly converted fan of german film I approached this offering with average expectations. I was hoping for an emotional journey into the last moments of the lives of people who wished to live no longer and were prepared to take thier lives from themselves.
The film opens with a descrete description of what is going to come as a man climbing to his death explains to the cameraman why he has chosen this particular method of ending ones days. The film never stops and gives you no time to pause for breath which helps reflect the speed at which many people take their own lives. Suicide is a film you must watch in one sitting. It is too addictive to stop and start again.
With a near artistic realism in all the death scenes as the film goes on you begin to will the characters to get it over with, you begin to wait to see them die. In all a truley touching film which has approached and captured a horrific subject yet delt with it in a beutifully humane way.
A must see for anyone that can bear the slightly morose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very slow & boring., 20 Mar 2004
Unfortunately I have to totally disagree with the other review of this movie. Having looked forward to seeing it I was hugely disappointed.
To come up with an idea for a zero (& this time I really do mean ZERO) budget film, then get it marketed is a very hard thing to do & I must give credit to those involved with this dvd for having achieved that.
Unfortunately the content of the movie is dire. If a ten minute segment showing a junkie prepare a fix to give himself an overdose or seeing a girl swallow dozens of sleeping pills then vomit half of them back up is your cup of tea then go for it, you'll probably enjoy this.
It did absolutely nothing for me & I'm pretty sure most people would not be interested in seeing those things & worse. Let this be a warning to the normal, sane people!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrific, sickening and gratuitous (really zero-stars), 22 July 2004
By 
K. S. Culling "Katy Sara Culling" (Derby/Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am an expert on suicide both professionally and personally. I am no stranger to real life suicide, the attempted suicide victim, and the person left behind after suicide. As a result I suppose I am rather too much obsessed by suicide, so I bought this DVD.
It is sickening. Despite a hardened psyche to all matters of suicide, I could not continue to watch this film through to the end. It is gratuitous, unpleasant, and medically inaccurate. I strongly recommend you do not waste your time, or out of curiosity, inflict such upset upon yourself.
If by chance you are looking for help in methods to kill yourself, this film will not help you. We all know obvious ways to die, and we all think we know ways to die. I reiterate, this film is inaccurate and possibly harmful. Do you want to be maimed or disabled for life?
If unfortunately, you are looking for a film to better understand the loss of a loved one, do NOT pick this film. It is not a sympathetic film, nor does it give any answers. To avoid heartache, and severe distress absolutely DO NOT watch this 'film.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i was hooked!!, 14 Jan 2008
i'm quite macabre in that i enjoy films to do with death and so this grabbed me the entire way through. Half of my friends who have seen it are actually convinced tat these killings are of real people. In that case it cant be that bad. As i have studied the dogme style at university i was slightly more aware however, and while i wouldnt say i enjoyed it, i was certainly watching to the last minute and even go back for replays occasionally!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Suicide, 7 Jun 2008
By 
M. Devine "Big M" (Belfast, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I received this DVD this morning and watched it and thought it was the most pointless pile of crap I have ever seen! What was the point in even making this and I seriously doubt that any of the suicides were real...!! If they were real there would most definitely be legal charges brought against its makers. If you are thinking of buying this crap, DONT, give the 6 to a down and out who you may pass in the street...!!

Anyone who enjoys this is one sick sad puppy...!!

TOTAL CRAP..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Leave it..., 30 Aug 2011
This review is from: Suicide (Beyond Terror) [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the worst movies i've ever seen.
Poor quality, the so called actors were horrible. I'm ashamed, that this piece of ....; is from germany.
Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SUICIDE-VIPCO., 29 Aug 2008
By 
P. I. Newman "pat newmanbook worm" (eastleigh,hants.england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THIS DVD WAS COMPLETE AND UTTER CRAP, NOT WORTH THE 3.99 I PAID FOR IT.
THE DIRECTOR SHOULD THINK OF TRYING ANOTHER FIELD OF EMPLOYMENT. I TURNED
IT OFF AFTER 5 MINUTES THAT'S HOW BAD I THOUGHT IT WAS. ADVISE YOU DON'T
WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS ONE.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Rubbish, 11 Oct 2005
By A Customer
It totally doesn't even deserve 1 star. Don't waste your time with this one. Sickening and pointless. The only reason I've bothered at all to write is to hopefully save anyone out there considering this waste of film / disc space the misfortune and total displeasure of watching such rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suicide (Beyond Terror) [DVD]
Suicide (Beyond Terror) [DVD] by Raoul Heimrich (DVD - 2010)
9.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews