Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paradox - or only half a paradox?
I gave this four stars because to be honest I really enjoyed the concept and execution of the series on their own terms. As well as appreciating the edge-of-seat tension that is ramped up through each of the episodes, for me, "Paradox" treats the whole business of seeing/changing the future in a more sophisticated way than FlashForward has done up to now. The moral,...
Published on 24 Feb 2010 by D. A. Jackson

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of missed opportunity
This was a fascinating premise, with some potentially interesting characters and a few good stories. So why only 2 stars? Three reasons.

First, all the stories are basically the same: from a few disjointed images and with a lot of coincidence and luck the team manage to get to the scene of a disaster or a crime either just too late or just in time...
Published on 14 Feb 2010 by A Seeker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paradox - or only half a paradox?, 24 Feb 2010
By 
D. A. Jackson "Deeannjay" (Oakengates, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paradox [DVD] (DVD)
I gave this four stars because to be honest I really enjoyed the concept and execution of the series on their own terms. As well as appreciating the edge-of-seat tension that is ramped up through each of the episodes, for me, "Paradox" treats the whole business of seeing/changing the future in a more sophisticated way than FlashForward has done up to now. The moral, ethical and practical conundrums of playing with destiny are always central to the story. Dr King very pertinently asks, at what must be the half-way point of the series: "Which is the bigger risk - do something, or do nothing?", and DI Flint's holy grail of a "victimless crime" soon turns out to be a poisoned chalice. The main characters may start off as a frankly unlikeable, annoying bunch, but we do see them all being deeply affected by the extraordinary dilemmas presented by the images that are so bafflingly served up to them, and thus they all become much more interesting as the series progresses.

That's the good stuff. The negative aspect, as pointed out by a previous reviewer, is the undeniable fact that we only get HALF a story. Without giving away the specifics, at the series' conclusion we have three of the four main characters in deep trouble and then, as a parting shot, a tantalizing hint as to where the images MIGHT be coming from. And that's it, end of. Writer Lizzie Mickery must be furious, she had apparently set the story up to run over two, possibly three seasons, and now it appears that this one season is all the BBC is prepared to give us.. It gives me no incentive at all to invest time and attention on future BBC drama series, and as a result, I can't give this DVD the five stars which its fascinating premise and exciting execution probably deserve. To me, it's still a work in progress. I can only urge you to watch "Paradox", enjoy it and wonder what might have been! (Oh, and if Ms Mickery ever fancies turning her screenplay into a novel to explain it all...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, not so great realisation, but still good, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Big Red - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paradox [DVD] (DVD)
On paper the concept sounds good. Paradox has much in common with series like CSI, New Tricks and Waking The Dead, only the clues are available to the team before the event occurs in the form of images relayed from space by a satellite. There's an unexplained sci-fi element, but it all sounds almost plausible.

So the team faces dilemmas like should they/shouldn't they try to manipulate events, save lives, break the law, that kind of thing. And they don't always succeed, which is a novel twist. Sometimes they are just too late to prevent disaster, sometimes powerless to act, other times they achieve their goal with unforseen consequences. This creates much tension within the team which often boils over and sadly sometimes becomes less convincing than images from the future.

Which brings me on to the less successful aspect of the series, the actual realisation. The acting is not the best, the characters not as believable and realistic as they should be (easy to forget they are police officers, they seem all too willing to commit crimes), and the scientist geek character and shadowy MOD figures are walking clichés. That said the supporting guest characters are usually very good and believable.

I'd say the positives outweigh the negatives. It's thought-provoking entertainment, not in a "is time travel possible?" kind of way, that isn't central to the series, but in a moral issues "should I kill one to save ten?" kind of way. So if you like things like CSI and a bit of sci-fi nonsense you might like this. I'd certainly watch a second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inteligent science fiction, 28 Dec 2010
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paradox [DVD] (DVD)
Paradox was a good and inteligent British Science Fiction series and was well recieved. It has themes already explored in other Science Fiction series but there is a mystery as what exactly is going on. And we never get to find out because the BBC decided to axe this series after only a few episodes. There was a lot of potential wasted because of that decision. But of course the BBC are more interested in giving us decades of Casualty and Holby, endless cookery programmes, un funny new comedians, mind numbing reality shows, programmes with the same predictable plots and faces and the usual brain washing tripe. Why would we want something different to that?.
Like a simular show from the mid 1990s "Crime Traveller" that also was clever, inteligent, had hints of time travel and was also axed, this series has some good use of the science fiction genre. The BBC showed that they still have a set agenda of "what we like" even in 2009.
This is a good mini series that hopefully is safe on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throughly enjoyed, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradox [DVD] (DVD)
Hello;

Science-Fiction at its finest. Though provoking.
Causes you to think about the proper use of knowledge
and what you would do if you had foreknowledge of an event
occurring that would have serious ramifications for countless people.
Would recommend this to anyone who enjoys science-fiction and mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One series not long enough, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradox [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series on the BBC when it was first broadcast and throughly enjoyed it then which is why I bought the dvd also.
The interaction between the main characters is fascinating to watch and leaves you wondering what will happen next
Without going into to much detail the endings to each episode always hold a surprise
Again like others have said before me the biggest disappiontment about the program is that there was no second series
I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys sci-fi or Police programs as i feel it links both genres very well indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb original innovative series, with excellent Character development, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: Paradox [DVD] (DVD)
Paradox works on so many levels. It is well written, well cast, and well produced.

Posing the freewill vs fate question; each episode is effectively a tense count-down to a would-be disaster,
predicted by a few jpegs of unknown origin, with the main cast frantically attempting to piece together the clues, and hopefully, prevent it.
The tension builds excellently, generating genuine suspense; As you will see, the outcome differs from episode to episode and anything is possible!

It is innovative, original, and the Character development is fantastic (Particularly with regards to the Rookie DC, Callum).
A refreshing change from the usual amnesia of 'Everything's back to how it was at the beginning of the episode' patronising formula that we are usually subjected to with contemporary British dramas.
Why on Earth a second series wasn't commissioned is beyond me, and I find that decision very disappointing, almost depressing - surely it's not 'too complicated' or 'too thought provoking' for the great british public!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars decided to delete further episodes I find amazing. Such a commercial product, 9 July 2014
By 
L. F. Cook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradox [DVD] (DVD)
Paradox---what a series. Why the B.B.C. decided to delete further episodes I find amazing.
Such a commercial product. Sod the "ratings". We the public need intelligent viewing and
entertainment. This product had EVERYTHING.
The "Elite" who have decided the public do not need this excellent entertainment should be
replaced..
Leopold Cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to watch, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Paradox [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting to watch. I had forgot that I had seen it on TV so that may suggest how memorable it was. In all fairness it must have been some years ago. I still enjoyed watching it the second time though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an unsung hero of television, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradox [DVD] (DVD)
I just cant believe how this was not a success. its absolutely brilliant. gripping story lines with tension. never giving the game away until the end, so you think up of many plots to the storyline yourself.

maybe this didn't succeed because it wasn't American. It just doesn't have the violence in it that American programs have. I say that as many people say person of interest is the American equivalent and that has proved a hit, and that is so much more violent

it wasn't a success but this is great viewing and died the death because of poor viewing figures and being too tame for todays generation.

tamzin and the rest of the cast and writers should be proud of this production, I hope they are. it deserved so much more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paradox [DVD], 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradox [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed Paradox when it was shown on TV, but missed the last few episodes and hence bought this DVD. It really was a good story, with the last episode leaving lots of loose ends, that made you very hungry for the second series...
...that sadly never happened. It's still worth watching though. You never know, one day...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paradox [DVD]
Paradox [DVD] by Tamzin Outhwaite (DVD - 2010)
9.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews