Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE
This is a movie that has no guns, no car chases and no sex but is a must have as it is just one of those heart warming movies that you need to see to make life worth living. FANTASTIC
Published on 14 Feb 2011 by BILLYJOH

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching as it's a true story
As a record of a true story, it's worth watching, and the story is interesting although the film is a little slow at times. Sandra Bullock, as always, is very good in her role, but I found the rest of the acting to be rather stilted.
Published 3 months ago by Glenda Wray


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE, 14 Feb 2011
By 
BILLYJOH "Jojo" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a movie that has no guns, no car chases and no sex but is a must have as it is just one of those heart warming movies that you need to see to make life worth living. FANTASTIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars make you laugh and cry., 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This film had such an impact on me the story is amazing watched twice in one weekend. From my Mum age 70 to my girls aged 12 we all loved it and was gripped from the first few minutes. Even if you don't understand america football as I don't it still has a lot of meaning to it and Sandra Bullock is brilliant.

worth watching and not just once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
No movie has ever made me cry - except this one. The Blindside is the true story of Michael Oher, a homeless African-American 17 year old. He has moved from foster home to foster home, and finally found himself staying with a friend who drafted him into a private school, where he met SJ, son of Leigh Anne Leigh Anne Tuohy who takes him in.

Sandra Bullocks's performance in this film is definitely the best from her entire career. Sandra Bullock was going to turn down the offer to do the film, but after meeting Mrs. Tuohy she didn't want to see anybody else do the role, and good job too as the role left her with an Oscar.

The film is charming, inspiring and a real tear jerker. The first time you watch the film you do feel by the end that you've been sat on the sofa for the past 3 days, as it is a long movie and there is so much information to take it. Despite this though, it's one of those films you can go back to over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving and definitely worthy of an Oscar or two, 21 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Sandra Bullock's performance, as Leigh Ann Touhy, a well-to-do mum with a heart of gold and strong Christian values, is outstanding.

She takes in Big Mike, or as he prefers, Michael, played by Quinton Aaron. Michael is a friend of her son, SJ, played by Jae Head. He is homeless, having been removed from his drug addict mother, and his entire possessions fit in one small plastic bag. Michael is black, a gentle giant, has a low IQ, and is an underachiever at school, but scores 98% for protective instincts.

He has to drastically improve his academics, helped by understanding teachers, and his tutor Miss Sue (Kathy Bates), before he is even allowed to start to develop his great promise at sports. Once he is able to relate his protective instincts to his fellow team mates he makes a formidable player, being wooed by university coaches across the country.

This is a truly heartwarming story, all the more so as it is based on a true story. This is definitely a movie to restore your faith in human nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Anything Is Possible..." - The Blind Side on BLU RAY, 13 April 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Separated as a child from his older brother Marcus and raised by a drug-addicted mother with 11 other kids in tow (his father was entirely absent) - 16-year old Michael Oher barely registered on public records. He'd been in and out of foster homes since the age of 7 and with a below average IQ of 80 and school grades barely scraping zero - the American education system also considered him to be simple as well as useless. And few in the Hurt Village area where he lived (notorious Housing Projects in North Memphis) fended for him - let alone made it into their twenties alive.

One day a school football coach is approached in his offices by Oher's then black stepfather Big Tony the Mechanic (Michael is sleeping in his house on the sofa). Tony wants a place for his small son and 'Big Mike' at Wingate Christian School in Texas. When Coach Cotton looks out the window - he sees Big Mike (played to perfection by Quinton Aaron)- a grizzly-bear black teenager playing hoops like he was born to. But more than taken with Mike's athletic skills - Coach Cotton is moved (great work from Roy McKinnon). He decides right there and then to persuade a reluctant school panel to give this massive teenager a second chance.

They agree - but then feel they may have made a mistake - as Michael appears incapable of learning and his sole contribution to an exam paper is to draw a sailboat on the back page with a singular child in it - lost at sea. But one teacher Mrs. Boswell (beautifully played by Kim Dickens) believes there's intelligence in Mike - if only she can find a way to get it out and up his grades (thereby keeping his place in the program)...

Also in Wingate School are S.J. and Collins Tuohy - the 7-year old son and 16-year cheerleader daughter of Sean and Leigh Anne Tuohy (Tim McGraw and Sandra Bullock) - wealthy owners of 86 Taco Bell food outlets. They are a faith-based white family with little to worry about monetarily but genuine in their beliefs (dialogue above).

Leigh Anne Tuohy is a Southern Lady - all tight skirts, sunglasses in her hair, perfect make-up and possessed of a non-nonsense practicality aligned with a will of iron few will tackle (she mutters "well all right..." all the time). But beneath all that steely mettle is a heart of gold - a woman who practices her Christianity - rather than just spend time with it on a Sunday. To Leigh Anne giving is as natural as speaking - and colour is not an issue.

Slowly Leigh Anne begins to notice her vivacious but tiny son S.J. gravitate towards the protective frame of Big Mike - a gentle giant with no malice in him and a handy ability to forget the past. One night walking back from the Coin-Op Laundry where Mike washes and dries one of only two teeshirts he owns (he's been made homeless yet again) - Leigh Anne is driving with her family in tow and spots Mike walking in the freezing night air in flimsy clothing. He seems lost and even defenceless. She makes a decision to give him a place to stay that night - the opulent Tuohy home. And so it begins - a loving relationship that will eventually see him become a member of the family and Sean and Leigh Anne Tuohy become his legal guardians.

But then Mike begins to realize that when it comes to American Football - his 98% Protective Instincts (the only test he ever scored highly on) make him the perfect Left Tackle - the man who protects the Quarter Back. Soon huge clubs (six legendary football coaches make cameo appearances) are noticing his extraordinary natural ability to block anything that threatens his 'family' (the team) and soon he is learning at school too. But it could all be derailed by the Social Services people who feel Leigh Anne may have set Big Mike up all along so that he would play for their beloved team 'Ole Miss' (Mississippi). Soon he is back at the drug-infested Projects and then the Coin-Op - confused and hurting...

What gives "The Blind Side" a beating heart is that it's beautifully played by all - especially Sandra Bullock and Quinton Aaron. There's a danger that it all descends into a rich-white-woman's plaything - a patronizing project she's taken on - it's not like that. Bullock is fabulous in the role (and deserved her Oscar) while Aaron's dignity in the face of ridicule and pain is filled with a grace that is still, peaceful and intensely moving.

The BLU RAY picture is GORGEOUS - defaulted to Full Aspect - it looks incredible all of the time. In fact at times you can see just a little 'too much' makeup. Audio is English 5.1 Dolby Digital, Castilian Spanish 5.1, German 5.1 and English 2.0 Audio Descriptive Service. Subtitles are English, Castilian Spanish, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, German, Norwegian and Swedish. Extras exclusive to BLU RAY are - Sidelines: Conversations On The Blind Side, The Story Of Big Quinton, Michael Oher Exclusive and Acting Coaches: Behind The Blind Side.

As Michael studies for an exam - he's given the academic task by his teachers (who have come to believe in him) of appraising "The Charge Of The Light Brigade" poem by Alfred Tennyson. Michael surmises that you - "Hope For Courage, But Try For Honour..."

By the time the end credits roll - with real footage of Michael Oher joining The Ravens for the NFL Draft of 2009 as Team Member 74 - and then onto stills of him and his adopted Tuohy family - the tears are flowing and your warmth towards these fabulous people is genuine.

The true story of MICHAEL OHER is extraordinary - and John Lee Hancock's wonderful film "The Blind Side" does his redemptive life-path proper justice.

An emotional touch down...and how...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Brilliantly cast, incredible true-life story. So glad they didn't make this a slush-fest, which they could have done. Really couldn't fault this film at all. I loved Sandra's character - strong, to-the-point, yet had her secretive softer side. Super ending too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films I've ever seen, 15 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I absolutely loved this film from start to finish. I cried happy/sad tears through most of it but it was so inspirational how can you not love it. I didn't actually know anything about it before I watched it so had no idea it was based on a real story which made it all the more poignant. If you're feeling a bit sorry for yourself watch this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A GENUINE FEEL-GOOD MOVIE', 25 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
.'Sandra Bullock' wins, some would say an overdue 'oscar' for her performance in this 'really good movie'
I did actually feel that 'Quinton Aaron's role as 'Michael Oher' was an amazing portrayel was well worthy of the
award he received and the nominations in various categories at that time.

There is no question that 'Sandra Bullock' a genuine talent, and yet. not all her 'role' choices have done her justice.
In recent times i re-watched and enjoyed 'The Proposal' ( couldn't stop laughing ) on the strength of her role in that film i bought and watched 'All about Steve' back then and was hugely dissapointed, it was a real 'turkey'
This film is based on a true story -
In this film 'Leigh' ( sandra bullock ) takes pity on 'Michael' ( Quinton aaron ) when she see's him wandering the street with nowhere to go and without asking her family invites him into her home for the night.
'Michael' had recently been given a place in a local school after a 'coach' at the school had seen him sink several balls into the basketball net, the 'coach' see's potential.
'Leigh' and her family quickly take 'Michael' into their hearts ignoring the racial jibes.
They set out not only to be-friend 'Mchael'' they set out to help him become all that he can be, both with his education and obvious flare for sport.
This is far and away one of the best movies I had seen in 2010, should 'Sandra Bullock' have won 'best actress' ? ?.. it was certainly a great performance from her.
In my view the film itself was almost certainly worthy of both acclaim and probably should have won 'Best Film' of that year.
The film is certainly worth a re-visit.......enjoyed it as much this time as I had first time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Blind Side, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I wanted to start off by saying I was surprised just how good `The Blind Side' is, I knew this had a lot of hype and Bullock won the Oscar for her role (most deservedly as well), but I wasn't expecting to enjoy this as much as I did.

This is based on a true story and follows a young black guy, called Big Mike (or Michael Oher), who comes from a rough area and becomes homeless after his mother has drug problems. He attends a Christian school and when he's spotted roaming the streets he is taken in by a rich white family who help him through school and give him a home and some stability in his life. He subsequently gets a football scholarship and attends university before hitting the big time.

This has plenty of scenes that raised a smile or laugh, although this is in no way a comedy film, and the best way to describe this would be as truly heart-warming. It is genuinely a feel good movie and whilst there are certain moments that seem grim for Michael, overall this is a very upbeat and positive story.

The relationship between Michael and Leigh Ann (his `new' mother) is wonderful to see and you also see how helping Michael also has a positive effect on her and the whole family in turn. Kathy Bates makes an appearance as his tutor and as always she is delightful to watch, but to be honest everyone plays their roles superbly, which makes this a joy to watch.

All in all, this is a great film and offers up a decent story (all the better for being real) that leaves you feeling buoyed up and positive. It is directed well, acted well and is one I would happily watch again.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt true story, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I once read a review in the paper about this movie claiming that it was boring and too far-fetched to be believable. I felt like ringing the paper and pointing out to the journalist who wrote the review that if they had done their research they would know that it is based a true story.

As a sucker for any kind of emotionally moving true story I went to see this at the cinema as soon as it was released. In a way I would agree with the journalist, that in parts you may think "like anybody would do that", but then you remember that they did. A persons life was completely turned around simply due to the kindness of another.

It is the little things which make the movie and the story it is portraying so remarkable. My all time favourite part of the movie is the following exchange between Leigh Anne (Bullock) and Michael (Aaron) when she shows him what is to be his room:

Michael: I've never had one before.
Leigh Anne: A room to yourself?
Michael: A bed.

In my opinion, that short exchange encompasses the movie...emotionally moving both with tears and smiles.

I can't even put into words how amazing this movie is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blind Side [DVD] [2010]
The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] by John Lee Hancock (DVD - 2010)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews