Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational
No movie has ever made me cry - except this one. The Blindside is the true story of Michael Oher, a homeless African-American 17 year old. He has moved from foster home to foster home, and finally found himself staying with a friend who drafted him into a private school, where he met SJ, son of Leigh Anne Leigh Anne Tuohy who takes him in.

Sandra Bullocks's...
Published on 29 Dec 2010 by Charly Dunning

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars so - so
not too keen on this film, storyline is not that great and the film is slow to start. wouldnt recommend to watch
Published on 10 Dec 2011 by mos


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
No movie has ever made me cry - except this one. The Blindside is the true story of Michael Oher, a homeless African-American 17 year old. He has moved from foster home to foster home, and finally found himself staying with a friend who drafted him into a private school, where he met SJ, son of Leigh Anne Leigh Anne Tuohy who takes him in.

Sandra Bullocks's performance in this film is definitely the best from her entire career. Sandra Bullock was going to turn down the offer to do the film, but after meeting Mrs. Tuohy she didn't want to see anybody else do the role, and good job too as the role left her with an Oscar.

The film is charming, inspiring and a real tear jerker. The first time you watch the film you do feel by the end that you've been sat on the sofa for the past 3 days, as it is a long movie and there is so much information to take it. Despite this though, it's one of those films you can go back to over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving and definitely worthy of an Oscar or two, 21 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Sandra Bullock's performance, as Leigh Ann Touhy, a well-to-do mum with a heart of gold and strong Christian values, is outstanding.

She takes in Big Mike, or as he prefers, Michael, played by Quinton Aaron. Michael is a friend of her son, SJ, played by Jae Head. He is homeless, having been removed from his drug addict mother, and his entire possessions fit in one small plastic bag. Michael is black, a gentle giant, has a low IQ, and is an underachiever at school, but scores 98% for protective instincts.

He has to drastically improve his academics, helped by understanding teachers, and his tutor Miss Sue (Kathy Bates), before he is even allowed to start to develop his great promise at sports. Once he is able to relate his protective instincts to his fellow team mates he makes a formidable player, being wooed by university coaches across the country.

This is a truly heartwarming story, all the more so as it is based on a true story. This is definitely a movie to restore your faith in human nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE, 14 Feb 2011
By 
BILLYJOH "Jojo" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a movie that has no guns, no car chases and no sex but is a must have as it is just one of those heart warming movies that you need to see to make life worth living. FANTASTIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars make you laugh and cry., 24 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This film had such an impact on me the story is amazing watched twice in one weekend. From my Mum age 70 to my girls aged 12 we all loved it and was gripped from the first few minutes. Even if you don't understand america football as I don't it still has a lot of meaning to it and Sandra Bullock is brilliant.

worth watching and not just once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Brilliantly cast, incredible true-life story. So glad they didn't make this a slush-fest, which they could have done. Really couldn't fault this film at all. I loved Sandra's character - strong, to-the-point, yet had her secretive softer side. Super ending too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films I've ever seen, 15 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I absolutely loved this film from start to finish. I cried happy/sad tears through most of it but it was so inspirational how can you not love it. I didn't actually know anything about it before I watched it so had no idea it was based on a real story which made it all the more poignant. If you're feeling a bit sorry for yourself watch this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This film will definitely make you cry. Great film i would recommend it to everyone, and is based on a true story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this movie, 7 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I am not going to bore you with an in depth analysis of the movie. I just want to say that I loved this movie and it fully deserved its Oscars. I watched it while on a long flight and I normally find the movies send me to sleep, but not this one, it was entertaining from start to finish. It was heartwarming and funny, really laugh out loud funny in parts, I will definitely add it to my collection when it comes out on DVD, it's a fabulous movie, one of the best I have seen in a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring tearjerker, a must see!, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I bought this as a hit or miss purchase on the basis that I like Sandra Bullock movies, I was not disappointed.

I pretty much cried from start to finish with the husband laughing at me throughout. One I will watch again and again. Inspiring, thought provoking, and a real feel good movie. Such a nice change from the dark ages of film which is shot for the awards, this just tells the story without the fancy camera work. At this price worth every penny, a joy to behold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Excellent movie. definitely should be on your "films to see" list. From start to finish, is an excellent movie. See it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac356570)

This product

The Blind Side [DVD] [2010]
The Blind Side [DVD] [2010] by John Lee Hancock (DVD - 2010)
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews