Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth the extra few pounds over the standard action cam
Firstly ,
1. battery lasts up to four hours
2. comes complete with sd card
3. small / compact
4. aluminium case (not plastic)
5. excellent picture.

all very good selling points , i had the cheaper action cam by comparison this is a decade ahead in so many ways.
I cycle with mine it lasts the whole ride and gives perfect pictures...
Published on 12 Aug 2010 by W. G. Dobson

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chilli Action Cam
Like one of the other reviewers, I bought this product to mount on my road bike to capture abuse etc. by vehicles. Although the image quality is good in the HD setting, I found the camera useless for the purpose I had, because:
* The camera records in chunks, and creates a a file for each chunk. In HD mode, a chunk lasts for 2mins 27secs. Unfortunately, the camera...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Berni


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth the extra few pounds over the standard action cam, 12 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera Max (Sports)
Firstly ,
1. battery lasts up to four hours
2. comes complete with sd card
3. small / compact
4. aluminium case (not plastic)
5. excellent picture.

all very good selling points , i had the cheaper action cam by comparison this is a decade ahead in so many ways.
I cycle with mine it lasts the whole ride and gives perfect pictures (apart from the shaking)it looks like another torch attached to the bike so i dont have any issues with strange looks from passers by.

it does have some down sides by comparison to the earlier model, the charger system (by usb from laptop)could be so much easier and better with a seperate charger for direct current or cigarette lighter, once the powers gone its back home to the pc and recharge.the on/off switch is below the cap at the end , i don,t see why it could not be externally mounted on the case, if it rains its a case of unscrewing the cap exposing the inside if you need to turn off. the bracket that is shown on the listing is not the bracket that comes with the camara, its far far far cheaper with rubber bits to hold the camara in position, i cannot help but wonder if the bracket shown would do a better job of keeping the camara still whilst riding.

Still all that said I can still see why this is worth the 43.00 I paid, i would recommend to anyone even if its for peace of mind most cyclists will tell you of their close shaves with car drivers , at least this camara will record them and should the worst happen .....be availble in good quality evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chilli Action Cam, 5 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera Max (Sports)
Like one of the other reviewers, I bought this product to mount on my road bike to capture abuse etc. by vehicles. Although the image quality is good in the HD setting, I found the camera useless for the purpose I had, because:
* The camera records in chunks, and creates a a file for each chunk. In HD mode, a chunk lasts for 2mins 27secs. Unfortunately, the camera frequently (2 or 3 times in a 60 minute commute) stops after writing a file, and has to be restarted manually. Turns out this is because of vibration - but that's pretty pathetic where the vibration is just what is being caused by a road bike on tarmac.
* There is a gap of about 3 seconds between the end of one file and the start of the next.
* After a couple of weeks of use, the camera has started losing the first 9 or 10 files it recorded.
* Night image quality is poor - too much camera shake to be of any use.
* The sound is useless - nothing but wind noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Action camera from Chilli Technologies, 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera Max (Sports)
The camera from Chilli Technologies is ok as it records video well, however it doesn't have any sound only a sort of clicking noise so I mute the speaker. I bought a similar product with a different brand name 11 months ago, and this did have some sound.
I want it for the bike to have evidence in case of problems so it is ok it does the job but it is not as good as the other one from Swann who's battery ran out after 11 months.
The problem with these cameras is that you should be able to change the rechargeable battery if you have electronic skills, but I haven't been able to find replacements so I have had to buy a new camera. As I am a professional electronic engineer I don't like designs that are throw away jobs because it is so bad for the environment to send things to landfill which could be used for much longer. Also electronic devices should be repairable. To a point the Chilli Technologies documentation is better than Swann's because in their prospectus they give you enough information to take the product appart.
To conclude it is a useful product but it can be improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "action cam" NO IT AIN'T, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Cj Reynolds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera Max (Sports)
this product has been a string of dissapointments...

from the initial video quality, the completly useless (at anything other than a standstill) HD mode, the very poor low light performance, the record 500mb then stop. (sometimes it'll start a new file and carry on recording, i asume that's what was intended),
the hit the record button, do your run, at the end realize it's no longer recording, get home and find it's recorded:-

!! NOTHING AGAIN !!

rather too many times now.

the very poor design of the mounting options (won't hold it in possition on any handlbars without drooping, helmet mount is ***p (would work on your bare head, i'll give them that much). windscrean mount looks like it'll probably work (don't own a car, there's a good chance it'd fall off half way round the lap by the quality of the rest though) but you'll have to have a passenger to check it's recording (unless you don't mind doing your lap checking the led status).

if it ain't in line of sight so you can constantly check to see if it's recording your unlikely to get any videos, kinda takes 'action' out of the equation.

dissapointing don't realy cover it.

DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS PRODUCT.

poor accesories, unpredictable performance, OK build quality of the camara though... so 1 whole star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price but you need to be careful, 10 Dec 2010
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera Max (Sports)
I bought this item to use as a helmet camera whilst commuting by bicycle. With an aluminium case, it has a good build quality, and video quality is fairly good in good conditions. Low light quality is not great, making it difficult to read registrations numbers from videos made using street lights. Battery life seems to be no more than 2 hours on the unit I have, but this is OK.

There was not a good mount for my cycle helmet, but I managed to fit it by removing the camera retaining strap from the handlebar mount, fastening it upside down to the helmet using a couple of cable ties and using the handlebar strap to hold the camera. It works well in this configuration.

I have arrived home a few times to find that the video has failed and the micro-SD card contains a corrupted file; this was using two different memory cards. I think this may be due to cold weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good enougth, 8 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. Robert Davis (Bristol ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera Max (Sports)
It is true that this cam records in "Chunks" Sound is quite bad but you can improve on this and camera does shake through vibration BUT This cam Will record any abuse you come across with a time and date stamp (Must be enabled through your computer) and Records enougth good evidence to convict the abuser..I'm unsure how good this will be as an action cam in sports as I havn't used it in this way yet,
If you want to join the AVI files together Search on the internet for a prog called AVI joiner and this will do the job for you and make one big file with all clips joined together in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quick Review, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera Max (Sports)
I bought this item with the express use of video recording my commute to work on my bicycle. For this purpose it is OK. The image is a bit shaky, and the sound fairly low standard. For the purposes of recording your journey it is fine though. I would and have recommended to a friend for the smae purpose.
Interestingly the model I recieved was not the one specified, I got a 5 Mp camera instead of a 3 mp and it records in 720p hi def as well as vga standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars actcam, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera Max (Sports)
Bought two of these action cams, one each for my BMX mad grandsons, they think they are so cool and the quality of film and sound is great ,brill product, very user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful product..., 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera Max (Sports)
Awful product - the tiniest breeze (or just movement through the air when using it on my bike) mean all you hear is a sound like someone blowing into a microphone! The slightest movement of the camera (for example on my mountain bike going across country) means the picture goes all wavy! Considering it is supposed to be built for outdoor use that is the last place you should use it to get a decent picture and audio track!!

Steer clear of this one.

Stuart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Actioncam Action Video Camera Max
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews