Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is so much more than a film
I have seen hundreds of films in my lifetime - yet only a handful of them have made a lasting impression on me. Eat Pray Love is one of those few. Having had similar life experiences to Liz Gilbert (although without the world travel), I feel that Julia Roberts does an excellent job of portraying the many different facets of Liz's emotional journey. For me the film is a...
Published on 20 Oct 2010 by Sue

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful film!
I wasn't exactly expecting this to be an outstanding film, but thought it might at least be enjoyable in a superficial way. Wrong!
I could not sympathise with Roberts' character and the supposedly heart-wrenching marriage break-up. It just did not seem authentic or believable.
Then she goes off around the world (seeing that she is self-obsessed and doesn't have...
Published on 27 July 2011 by Spiritual lady


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful film!, 27 July 2011
This review is from: Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I wasn't exactly expecting this to be an outstanding film, but thought it might at least be enjoyable in a superficial way. Wrong!
I could not sympathise with Roberts' character and the supposedly heart-wrenching marriage break-up. It just did not seem authentic or believable.
Then she goes off around the world (seeing that she is self-obsessed and doesn't have any obstacles in the way, such as REAL LIFE or bills to pay). Then we see her eating pasta (for ages) and dabbling in meditation. Again, there was no depth or authenticity. It seemed an insult to the cultures she was sharing in. Cliches aplenty!!
In the end I turned it off as I was SO bored and could not take any more drivel. Painful to watch. You've been warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film of three parts, 6 Feb 2011
By 
C. Bellis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I haven't read the book but know friends who, having been through similar issues, rated it highly. And so a small group of us went to see the film.
I loved the first part explaining the break up and the trip to Italy. It was vibrant, it was fun and it showed Italy off beautifully.
For that section of the film, I enjoyed the friendships, the love of food and wine and the language. One particularly laughable part though
is where Julia tells her friend to stop worrying about putting on weight and to just get a bigger pair of jeans. The film then shows them "struggling" to get into what
must be size 8 or 10 jeans. Neither actress really looked like they had put on weight! A little reality wouldn't have gone amiss here - other actors put weight on for
their roles!
The second part of the film was tranquil,sedate. Certainly it was a slower pace and reflected the time the lead spent in the East. This is the more emotional part
so I understand why it had to be that pace. But I got restless, it seemed so self-indulgent. I guess this is where it helps to have read the book because I guess
that is what she was aiming for.
By the last part of the film, I'd had enough. As a previous reviewer said, the film was too long. I no longer really cared why, how or who. I just wanted to go home.
This is no reflection on Julia Roberts who, as usual, gave a great performance. I think I had too much fun in the first part of the film to actually enjoy the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
having read and quite enjoyed the book, I was really disappointed by how badly this film turned out. Decent cast but not given much to do except look alluring - Julia Roberts remains deeply unsympathetic throughout despite her 'journey' to herself (maybe a common problem when the narrator of the book ends up as the main character). Cheesily bad script that's full of cliches (everyone's happy in Italy because they understand pleasure and Americans are miserable because they are full of guilt). And overlong - you know the film is going to be in 3 parts so the lack of pace means it just becomes tedious. Yawn...solipsistic nonsense that is sadly geared towards a forgiving (and undernourished) female audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 13 July 2011
This review is from: Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Eat Pray Love is a 2010 film based on the memiors of Elizabeth Gilbert; having read and struggled to get into the book that was a smash hit in America, I had hoped the film with its all star cast would be better.

However, although there's nothing inherently wrong with the film, and it is visually stunning, I just found it lack lustre, even boring.

The plot sees a newly divorced New Yorker set off around the world looking for true happiness. Does she find it? Well you will need to see the film, but as the title suggests it involves a lot of eating, praying and a bit of loving with Javier Bardem. Not a film for me, poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fakey-Deep American Twaddle, 16 Sep 2011
By 
Crabbypink (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Armed with the American dream of 'finding herself', Lizzie sets out on a journey outside the safety of American borders. In Rome, she gets a short-term rent in what Americans think an Italian flat must look like - a 5th floor walk up with no hot water. She eats lotsa pasta, and meets the first of her 'best friends.' There is one in each of the three places she visits. These people, if they are not actually American, at least speak American with ease, using timely modern idioms. Moreover, all of these friends suddenly find time in their obviously not-so-busy lives to show her around town all day, every day, giving her 'clues' to her 'inner balance.' Of course, there is also a string of buff young men who suddenly cancel all their appointments in order to devote full attention to pursuing her. Solving the world's problems isn't difficult, either, as Lizzie meets a Balinese medicine woman, who apart from treating her leg wound, spills her heart and gives grave advice. Wishing to help the single-mum med lady, Lizzie is able to garner $18k in American money (which the Americans obviously think is welcome everywhere), by sending one multi-address email to her friends in the US. In short, this movie is fakey-deep American twaddle, further perpetuating the American ideas of what the rest of the world looks like and means to Americans. Utterly dreadful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable watch, 28 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I had recently read the book and so thought it might be good to watch the film afterwards too, despite friends telling me that the film was rubbish!
After reading some not-so-good reviews about the film version too, I decided to go ahead with the purchase anyway, and see for myself. As many people say about many films, 'the film isn't as good as the book', which I would totally agree with, as the film seems to miss huge chunks out.
However, having said all this, I did enjoy the film, but would definitely recommend reading the book first. If I had watched the film first, I would've said that it doesn't have much substance and the story could've probably been told in much less time. As it was, I suppose I filled in the blanks myself.
Verdict - read the book then watch the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible!, 29 Aug 2011
By 
Janbie (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is an incredibly irritating, tedious, self indulgent load of rubbish. Julia Roberts as Liz Gilbert came across as a thoroughly dislikeable and self obsessed person. I grew bored of this dreary, soul searching dross within the first 15 minutes. I only watched it through to the bitter end to see Richard Jenkins, who unfortunately had only a small part in it. My advice is don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars painful to watch, 10 May 2011
This review is from: Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Having read the book i was very much looking forwards to seeing the film. I wished I hadn't, I sat in a studio with eight other people for the viewing and three walked out! I stayed hoping it would get better it doesn't.

The film is a miss mash of stories and largely neglects to follow the spritual journey of Liz Gilbert and her struggle for self acceptence and love. I felt that the film could have have been so much more and is clearly Julia Roberts worst performance to date.If you loved the book as I did and still do, i'd give the film a miss and leave it the bargin bin where it belongs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stereo typed, Hollywoodish, 28 April 2011
This review is from: Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Most of the things about this movie - the dialogues, the people, even the settings - are cliched and stereo-typed. It's a perfect example of how not to make a film. They should have learnt a lesson by watching how directors like De Sica and Fellini filmed Italy, and how Satyajit Ray filmed India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watch. Ponder. Forget., 7 Dec 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Elizabeth Gilbert (Julia Roberts - Pretty Woman) is a woman who seemingly has everything, the high-flying job, the attractive and successful husband (Billy Crudup - Dr Manhattan from Watchmen) and plenty of material objects to fill her life. Yet for some reason Elizabeth feels hollow and deeply unfulfilled and decides that a radical change is needed for her to discover the root of her spiritual emptiness and general malaise.

After leaving her husband and a whirlwind but heartfelt relationship with David (James Franco - Spider-Man) an Actor/Yogi who inspires her to travel to meet his Yogic guru, she obsesses over learning Italian and so it is that Elizabeth sets sail for Italy to try and forget about the relationships she has left behind and her unhappiness. In Italy, she experiences the culture and cuisine and regains a love for food and friends making heartfelt connections with the people who welcome her into their life. She then heads onwards to India to spends some time with David's guru where she tries to regain her spirituality and connect with God and finally she heads onto Bali to spend time under an Indonesian medicine man to find inner-peace and balance.

Based on the memoir by Elizabeth Gilbert; Eat. Pray. Love. is the story of trying to find contentment and yourself in an increasingly materialistic and hollow world. The film (as well as the book) seems to have generated a high degree of controversy, dividing people into those who appreciate the spiritualistic side and those who are just offended by how self-centered and self-indulgent the character is.

The film is beautifully shot & directed by Ryan Murphy, capturing the true beauty of the environs the whole thing plays out in (tight & winding cobbled Italian backstreets, Indian ashrams and Balinese temples with sunset backdrops) and really deserves some credit for being a truly picturesque experience. Weighing in at a hefty 133 minutes (without the credits!!) this is an epic cinematic journey encompassing three continents and weighty subject material. The film is well acted by the capable and reputable cast and no-one's performance is unbelievable. The soundtrack is full of gems such as the Temper Trap and Florence & the Machine and you will probably find yourself tapping your toes at more than one of the high profile indie-tracks in the film.

However this is where the enjoyment begins to drop away. I appreciate the gentle but constant suggestion throughout this film that there is more to life than consumerism & that people should take time to revaluate their lives to assess whether they are truly happy - I really do. It is an important message that may make all of us a bit happier if we indulge ourselves at the cost of conforming with the given societal 'norm'.

What I found counter-intuitive was the fact that the film seems to preach the message that it is OK to make yourself happy, regardless of the emotional or financial toll you are exacting on those around you. Abandoning a husband for no apparent reason other than listlessness, leaving your best friends behind and leaning on them for financial support, eating without regard for your waistline or health - the list goes on. The message seems to be "As long as you are happy, screw everything else". It is this seemingly hedonistic urging that Elizabeth follows in the film. I have been told that this deviates slightly from the book, as she really does 'feel God' in the memoir as opposed to the film where she seems highly frustrated with the meditation and achieves very little, despite the guidance of her fellow American student Richard (Richard Jenkins - The Visitor). Javier Bardem (Vicky Cristina Barcelona) plays her final Bali-based love interest and she just seems to be completely indifferent to him, the relationship feels completely intangible, again things are vastly different in the book. Generally however the feeling is that Elizabeth is becoming happier as she truly connects with the people she meets and experiences she has.

In conclusion, this is a beautiful film but seems to be rather conflicted in it's message, instead of inspiring me, it made me think about just how self-indulgent and unattractive the protagonist was. I might be shot down by spiritualists who feel that anything that is counter-materialism is a good thing but they might have failed to realise that by buying this Hollywood-production they are just as linked into consumerism as the rest of us. This film just seems to be missing any of the spiritual and emotional weight that was conveyed in the book and as a result just seems paradoxical. However, it's a picturesque experience and Julia Roberts is fantastic nonetheless, approach with an open mind!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x104ff0c0)

This product

Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011]
Eat, Pray, Love [DVD] [2011] by Ryan Murphy (DVD - 2011)
2.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews