Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Salt!
Salt is a bit daft, but is also a very enjoyable, very well made and well acted action thriller. Angelina Jolie is excellent and leads a very good cast, Chiwetal Ejiofer from Serenity and Inside Man and Liev Scrieber from X Men Origins: Wolverine and Defiance also both very good as they lead the hunt to capture Salt. Plenty of twists and turns and things are not entirely...
Published on 2 Sep 2010 by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars who is salt?
who is salt? well, she is a female Jason Bourne, that's who. And it is as good as the Bourne movies until the ending. It just stops. There is no ending. It has a beginning, a middle, and a stop. You are left feeling angry, like you have been sucked into a money making exercise. Now I have to wait another two years to be ripped off again by a movie that wont be as good...
Published 12 months ago by Neal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maybe those who give it five stars like Angelina and not a plot, 4 Aug 2011
By 
Anthony Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
How I have entitled this review is, at any rate, the only basis on which I can understand anyone seeing this film as other than a more or less complete waste of time (there are three versions on the DVD - this review is based on the director's cut). And yet more people have given it five stars than one to three stars put together: they must like the actress or the action so much that they can forgive the fact that, in trying to surprise, the plot just doesn't work.

Oh, I did like energy of the trailer (which, as far as I remember, just featured Angelina Jolie with dark hair, and so couldn't have taken footage from the first half), and I know that action in action films doesn't have to be totally credible, so I decided to buy the DVD to watch as a bit of excitement. That said, her jumping eight floors down a lift-shaft from one set of girders to another several girders down (and not being heard or hurt), for example, is a bit unlikely, as is, however fit one is supposed to be, running (as she does in her other hair colour) long distances with what turns out to be a very heavy load, whilst wearing a thick coat and a knitted hat, without once breaking sweat. (Ladies don't sweat?)

But it is the plot from which no amount of action, or liking for the looks of Angelina (who, in the trailer, had been striking with her long dark appearance, but the trailer doesn't even appear to be on the DVD), can draw one's attention - with a film concerning agents, one knows that there is scope for betrayal, and for misplaced trust, but, to my mind, agents can only double- or triple-cross for so long before one's interest in whose side anyone is 'really' on must surely wane, and, with it, the desire to see the action unfold.

In the dialogue, there are even attempts to justify earlier actions whose appropriateness to whatever that person was trying to achieve (which itself did not really make any sense) is wholly dependent on Salt making escapes in the most implausible circumstances: looking back, they could never have been envisaged by the speaker at that time. For none of the rest of the film could have happened without Salt: escaping from a barricaded room in a most unlikely way and against all the odds; having been allowed to get out of the building and home with time to get together whatever she wanted; and then not having been caught when trying to run away again, not even when cornered with her hands up. The ineptitude that allows her to get where she does, and then just disappear, beggars belief!

The most striking visual indication that the director is attempting to make one trust characters and their motivations being true, only to seek to surprise by changing them, is the switch in hair colour. In that persona, Salt carries out actions to satisfy someone else that she herself should be trusted, one of which, in relation to her husband, she need not have done (since she regularly overpowers a whole host of armed men, and, in this case, does so shortly afterwards anyway), and the other of which (as an attempt to surprise not only us, but her latest set of colleagues) beggars belief - unless they didn't happen to be in on the plot, they would not have pronounced someone alive who had mysteriously been found not to be dead, since they wanted him to have been assassinated by their enemy's forces.

Couple this with the wayward (and unexplained) behaviour of a character with whom (also in a somewhat unlikely way) she had had a shared childhood, and a flimsy attempt, made in the closing voiceover in the same connection, to cast doubt on the new presidential figure (how has he been appointed, since this film seems to overlook the convention that the vice-president takes over when something happenes to the president?), and there is just such a mess that nothing redeemed it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Omg, 18 Oct 2013
By 
David Jacomb (Bishop Auckland, County Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Wow..... What a film.... What a BAD film this is.... Utter garbage, I would rather rub salt in my eyes than watch this film.this is one of he few films that I turned off before the end.. I actually think this film has stolen the 45minutes I sat watching it of me...45 minutes that I could have been doing something better like eating glass or swearing at frogs.. SALT should have been called CRAP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as made out...., 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Bought this as trailer looked really good and reviews I'd read had been rated highly for it. It was ok to watch the once but too predictable and cheesy in places, I felt it to be a bit of a let down and feel I should have rented this 1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Arrived earlier than stated which was very good.
Packaging was a quite thin padded envelope. There were three pieces of the casing which had broken off and these were in the bottom of the envelope. The case still opened and closed just not perfectly as it should.
The DVD inside was unharmed and, as my daughter was so looking forward to watching it, we didn't think it warranted a return and definitely not a complaint.
But you might want to review which padded bags you use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bland even with Salt, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Watching Salt is a bit like watching an entire series of 24 in 90min abridged form; agents become double agents and double agents become double double agents within a few minutes; presidents are shot, saved and run about corridors; cars jump off buildings and people jump on cars...it's all a bit of a rush, but the sort that raises a sense of incredulity rather than any adrenalin. Jolie looks far too pretty and slight to pull off a Bourne and as a result the stunts feel more like something out of The Matrix. Plus she can't run properly. Shame because there's more than enough room for a kick ass female spy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superior spy thriller which looks great on blu-ray., 7 Jan 2011
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Angelina Jolie is perfect as the CIA double agent spy and the plot is very clever with lots of twist to keep you guessing. Some of the stunts are amazing with Angelina Jolie's stunt double jumping from lorry to lorry for example. I've been looking forward to watching Salt for some time and it was even better then I expected it to be which was a nice surprise. As a actress Angelina Jolie as done many different types of roles and like her partner Brad Pitt she always performs well and is convincing. If you like your action films with brains and good acting then Salt will be right up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly silly.....but........, 1 Dec 2010
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Well, I have to say this was one of the most - if not THE most - ridiculous film I've ever seen. From the seriously over-the-top stunts, to the the utterly incredulous storyline...gosh, it was candy floss light.

Saying all that, I still enjoyed it - although I almost turned it off after the first 10 minutes! Jolie herself was excellent as Salt.

I suppose if I had to look beyond the undemanding eye candy, my main gripe would be the fact that this film never really knows what its identity should be - a harmless, high octane summer blockbuster - or a serious, Bourne style ripper with depth. Some of the violent scenes seem to be wholly out of context in a film that does not take itself seriously whatsoever.

And shame on you if you could not see the obvious twists!!

What was an entertaining film could have been a really terrific - and serious - film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What rubbish!, 2 Nov 2011
This is why Angelina Jolie should stick to adopting kids!

This film is predictable, poorly scripted and just plain stupid. The worst of it is they clearly tried to make this in to the first of many films... but it is just too rubbish to continue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good job from amazon, very poor movie, 14 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The product arrived in time as usual,
I'm a big fun of Amazon; the movie thou, is bad. If you like Angelina then you can
Watch it; otherwise don't waste your time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Thriller, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Salt [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I bought the extended version hoping to get a little more for the money. I didn't. What I found was an average drama/thriller based on the good old USA paranoia with a dolloping of the bad, don't want to let go, reds under the bed. This film would probably have tanked without the names used in the cast.

Don't get me wrong. This film makes passable viewing for a rainy day with a fresh pizza and decent beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salt [DVD] [2010]
Salt [DVD] [2010] by Phillip Noyce (DVD - 2010)
3.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews