Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars243
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2011
this is a fantastic film.funnier and funnier each time you watch it. the comedy appeals to "grown ups" and teenagers alike. Adam Sandler fans will not be disappointed. A real easy to watch feel good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
Don't waste your time with this movie, I found the comedy off and the movie longer than it needed to be and a boring dragged out story line. Not one you would watch twice, I was bored halfway through and can't believe I made it to the end of the movie! Alot of the acting in this movie was half-hearted and the actors just brought together to real off another "comedy" to make money. Adam Sandler put some effort into the next movie please!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
This is so lame, it relies on slapstick to make you laugh, Adam Sandler isn't even funny anymore, nor is anyone else in the cast. Don't bother!!!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
What a great film, we wanted to watch number 2 but decided we should watch 1 first. Had us in stitches, was hilariously funny. Adam sandler great as always, what an actor he is. A must watch, light hearted funny film. Make sure you watch the credits too, they got some out takes that will keep you laughing. I can watch this film over and over and still laugh just as much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
I saw this film in the cinema without knowing much about it, and certainly not reading any reviews. How surprised I was to see one of the funniest films I have ever seen. I could watch it over and over again. Good cast, good script and good music. Buy it. Now.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2011
Was only interested in this cause it had a load of my fravourite Comedy actors in it, I though either it'll work beautifully or crash and burn. Turns out it's a great movie. Kinda tries to send a message as well as entertain, but even though I don't like films that do that, They entertained me enough to not let it bother me. A definite must see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2010
'Grown Ups' is a coming of age buddy-comedy film that released in 2010 to overwhelming unfavourable reviews from the critics. However, the film deservedly became a box-office success. The movie is produced by its lead actor, Adam Sandler.

The movie centres around five best friends, Lenny Feder (Adam Sandler), Eric Lamonsoff (Kevin James), Kurt McKenzie (Chris Rock), Marcus "Higgy" Higgins (David Spade) & Rob Hillard (Rob Schneider) who after separating, reunite after 32 years.

The movie is basically 1 hour 40 minutes of simple light-hearted comic moments, that make you laugh. Mix in things like family values, friendship, a hint of cheesy emotions and the end result is pleasant entertainment. The slapstick moments along with some sweet one-liners are really enjoyable. The ending is nice and finishes on a high.

I'm a big fan of Adam Sandler/Rob Schneider comedies and this is up there with the BEST. This is Sandler and Schneider's 15th film they've acted together in. Adam Sandler, Rob Scneider, Kevin James, Chris Rock and David Spade are friends in real-life, which is evident on-screen. They all go out their way to make the viewers smile by working as a team.

The main flaw is there were very high-expectations from everyone who expected a classic laugh-out-loud film due to an all-star comedy cast. It should've been funnier than what it is, as we known what the makers and the actors are capable of.

Sandler, Schneider and Spade are the top dogs with excellent comic timing. A separate mention for Schneider who as usual is stupid and with a ridiculous hair-do is hilarious. Kevin James performs well. I was looking forward to Chris Rock's performance, which was disappointing. He doesn't get much screen time and when he does it's not funny for his standards. Salma Hayek, Maria Bello and Maya Rudolph are relegated to the back-seat because of our guys but still play a part. The pick of the ladies is Ebony Jo-Ann who enacts the role of Rock's mother-in-law, Mama Ronzoni. She is a treat to watch. Also watch out for an amusing cameo from Steve Buscemi.

The direction provided by Dennis Dugan who also has a cameo in the movie is perfect. This is Dugan's and Sandler's fifth director-actor collaboration after the following successes, 'Happy Gilmore', 'Big Daddy', 'I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry' and 'You Don't Mess with the Zohan'. On this occasion they've made a good comedy.

This feature is underrated for some reason. Watch it with no expectations and you'll be surprised.

The young at heart 'Grown Ups' will bring a smile to your face.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
I've enjoyed quite a few of Sandler's movies, and this is well worth watching. I know some people don't 'get him' but you just have to forget about being a critic and simply enjoy the laughs.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
Regardless of whether you find him funny or not, Adam Sandler has indisputably managed his career about as well as any comic actor of his generation. He's always known exactly when to deliver the kind of formulaic romp that made him a movie star. Although he does very occasionally stretch himself by acting in films by gifted writer/directors, Sandler retreats to exceedingly familiar territory with Grown Ups.

Executive produced and co-written by Sandler, Grown Ups is arguably the quintessential example of a movie that's far less fun to watch than it obviously was to make. The five leads are very comfortable together, and while their chemistry is appealing, the story has no narrative drive. They aren't playing characters as much as they're trying to come up with the best punch lines, but without a solid story to work from the jokes can't be anything other than throwaway one-liners, it's not exactly revelatory to hear insults about how fat Kevin James is or how big Adam Sandler's ears are. And while each of them has one or two zingers that get chuckles, it's David Spade who actually comes off the best by toning down the sarcasm from his usual 9 to about a 4, and still outsmarting everyone in the cast by a wide margin.

Sadly, the very talented female cast, including Maya Rudolph, Maria Bello, and Salma Hayek, have little to do other than show off their killer bodies in such a way that the film maintains its 12 rating. In fact the movie's biggest bummer is that it treats all the women like problems that would be solved if only they'd listen to their men, or hotties worthy of being ogled, or old and therefore a proper target for cruel barbs. It's not that these are bad performers, they're just stuck in a lazy script, assuming there was much of a script to begin with.

What sinks Grown Ups is its noticeable lack of ambition. It's impossible to escape the feeling that once Sandler cooked up the idea, and knew he could get four pals to come and play for a few months, nobody worried all that much about anything else.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
A very funny movie with a bit of adult humour thrown in. You won't be disappointed with this film which will be sure to make you laugh. A thumbs up from me!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)