Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Weekend - No evidence of "difficult second album" syndrome
Some reviews of "Contra" have come with the qualification that Vampire Weekend's second album is not the fun packed neo African rhythm monster of their infectious debut. The new album is indeed a much denser and fuller work its less "Upper West Side Soweto" and "preppy college" rock and takes its cue from a broader musical palette. Nonetheless the departure is not overtly...
Published on 7 Jan 2010 by Red on Black

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I had such high hopes!
After loving the 1st album I was Very disappointed to find that this album is nothing short of annoying!
It has 1 or 2 happy tunes on it in 'Hochata' and 'Taxi Cab' but that is really all I can say
Cousins is fun but wares thin after a while.
And the whole album is quite annoying if you are anything but chirpy!

If you want a good chirpy album I...
Published on 1 Feb 2010 by S. Mccarthy


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contra (MP3 Download)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 8 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contra [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Personally, i think amazon is amazing. I ordered using the free delivery and it came in 2 days. I was astonished at the speed and i'd like to thank amazon for delvering such a great service again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Smelly Cat, Smell-ly Cat. . ., 22 Jan 2010
This review is from: Contra (Audio CD)
I knew nothing of this album or band before someone gifted me this CD and having listened to all 37 minutes of it I had to look it up to make sure someone at the shop hadn't put the wrong disc in the case.

This album is, as of the date of this review, no.1 in the US and no.3 in the UK; Rolling Stone gave it 4/5, as did The Guardian - 8/10 from the NME. Though it's perhaps wise not to believe every glowing review or judge something by popularity, I'd expect this record to live up to at least a fraction of it's reputation: unfortunately the best way to sum it up is to quote Terry the once-proprietor of the Central Perk coffee shop in the TV show Friends when he says to Rachel about Phoebe's music "it's not that your friend is bad, it's that she's so bad, she makes me want to put my finger through my eye into my brain and swirl it around".

The full catalogue of reasons why this album is so shockingly irritating would probably exhaust the word limit allowed for Amazon reviews, so here's the top three:

Firstly, the production of this record makes it sound like the whole thing was played on a Fisher-Price toy keyboard. One of the band presumably bought an old Minimoog or DX1 synthesiser on eBay and suddenly reckoned he was Vince Clarke because the same feeble warbling bloopy synth sound can be heard on almost every track. It's as though they're trying to justify the purchase by showing off how useful it can be - ironically they chose to demonstrate the versatility of their vintage keyboard by using the same setting every time they played it.

Secondly, the Paul Simon thing. I won't go on about this too much as it has apparently been done to death: suffice it to say if you listen to "White Sky" on this album and then "Crazy Love Vol. II" on Paul Simon's album Graceland you will actually hear the point where "sounds-a-bit-like" crosses over to "flat-out-plagiarises".

Lastly, the lyrics read like a list of groups that 15 year old girls join on Facebook. One could quite easily place the phrases "has become a fan of" or "has joined the group" before any such lyrics as
"I had a feeling once that you and I could tell each other everything for two months"
or "That night I smoked a joint with my best friend/ we found ourselves in bed/ when I woke up he was gone"
or "Every dollar counts and every morning hurts/ we mostly work to live until we live to work"
They are the sort of puckish epigrams that kids write in the margins of their school text books so that they can impart something terribly profound to the next person who reads it just in case they are too anxious that the world consists solely of acne and sulking in darkened bedrooms.

I really struggled to find anything at all that I liked about this album. . .

The packaging was nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Marshbbad (Kidderminster, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contra (Audio CD)
Pretty good album, but it's not as good as the 1st one.
Having said that the 1st one was a cracker.

Buy both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second great album of 2010, 9 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. David A. Hume (Bishopton,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contra (Audio CD)
This is more melodic than their first album more laidback in style.Cousins echoing the glysandicness of "Wallcot" on their debut album.Still adhering to an orinalness all their own and to be highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LA CONFIRMACION DE UN GRAN GRUPO, 7 Feb 2010
This review is from: Contra (Audio CD)
Este disco ha confirmado la sensación que nos dejó el anterior de que estamos en presencia de un grupo que puede marcar época.
Sus canciones rebosan alegría y originalidad.
Contra es de escucha simple ya que engancha desde los primeros acordes de Horchata.
José
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Weekend are back...., 6 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Contra (Audio CD)
... and they did it again.

I must say i'm rather suprised with their new album. Personally i was expecting that this would be a Trainwreck, but the new album has everything expected from Vampire Weekend. It's their Music but it's not as similar as the last their debut album.
This time they went to a more Tribal music but deep inside you sense those elements that constitute Vampire's Weekend unique music.

So if you liked their first Album you should seriously try Contra out, who is until now the best indie album of 2010. Personally i feel it isnt as great as their Debut Album, but it has the same Vibe and it delivers very well the unique feelings that come with Vampire Weekend's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why bother?, 13 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Contra (Audio CD)
Graceland was a great album, some would argue a landmark album. Why Vampire Weekend seem compelled to endlessly remake it is perplexing. This time they have identified the less interesting aspects of Graceland and brought them to the front of the stage to take a bow. It's a deep mine Graceland and no doubt they will be able to dig a third album out of it next year

I suppose it is simply a generational thing. If you didn't hear Graceland when it first came out, then Contra might amuse and entertain. For the rest of us, we simply wonder what happened to the creative concept of finding your own sound and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contra
Contra by Vampire Weekend
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews