Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars278
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a review of the standard-def DVD released 19th July 2010

Five years on from the original film, this sequel sees Emma Thompson again play the part of the mysterious nanny who appears when she's needed the most and wanted the least. This time she finds herself on a family farm set during World War 2, and mayhem has broken out between some boisterous country children and their spoilt city cousins who have been sent away for their own protection. Nanny McPhee is there to help bring some peace for Mrs Green, who is the mother of the three country kids and aunt to the two others. Using such aids as a flying motorcycle and a tree-climbing piglet, Nanny McPhee conjures up just the right formula to teach the children five new lessons.

While my children thought this was as good as the first film, I thought it lacked some of the colour and cartoonish appeal its predecessor had, due in no small part to the characters who are missing this time round. Colin Firth was outstanding in the earlier film, but his equivalent in this tale, Rhys Ifans, lacks the comic subtleties that appeal to young and old alike. As a story it's quite good, and efforts have been made to include a little more of everything - particularly animals and birds - but despite good production design it still feels slightly disappointing, the overall concept too similar without any really new ground being covered. But the primary target audience is primary school children and my own expert offspring have already passed judgement and have decided that the sequel is every bit as good as the first.

On the DVD there are 11 deleted scenes and some featurettes including some 'behind-the-scenes' footage of how some parts of the film were made, and a speeded-up short film of Emma Thompson having her very heavy make-up applied. Finally there is a full re-run of the film with a voice-over (commentary) by the director Susanna White.

It's a pleasant enough family film which will probably please most of those who enjoyed the original Nanny McPhee film, but it isn't as funny or as memorable and I doubt that it will get as many repeat viewings. Although I bought it, on reflection I think renting might have been a better option.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
This film is set in the 1940s and features a family who live on a farm, whose father is away in the war. Isabel (Maggie Gyllenhaal), is a stressed mother of three, expecting a niece and nephew as evacuees. They turn out to be spoiled and snooty, and sparks fly until Nanny McPhee arrives and treats the children to her rather coercive style of ‘teaching’.

The whole thing is caricatured, with slapstick humour and a predictable (if satisfactory) ending. Isabel’s brother-in-law Phil (Rhys Ifans) makes an over-the-top villain who wants to force her into selling the farm so he can repay his debts. And there’s a delightful cameo role by Maggie Smith as Mrs Docherty, the elderly and scatty Mrs Docherty.

The star is officially Emma Thompson in the title role, but she seems little different from the first DVD. We thought that the children were the real stars, with good on-screen rapport and (almost) believable relationships. There's some poignancy as well as humour, and their gradual acceptance of each other - along with courage and faith - is what lifts this film above the average.

The action is well-paced, the dialogue good, and some quite tense scenes (at least from an adult perspective) played out nicely. The rating is U, presumably because there’s nothing specific that would trigger a higher rating, but I’d see this more as a PG: there are a few scenes that could scare a sensitive child.

Overall we thought this a good sequel. Note that it's marketed in the US as 'Nanny McPhee returns'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
I was watching TV when this film came on and found that I just had to keep watching. It's a feel good film. Rhys Ifans is very charismatic and watchable and the rest of the cast are excellent - sometimes when children are involved this isn't always the case - but they are great. There are no dull moments and the section with the piglets (without going into detail and spoiling it) is priceless. I then bought a copy and sent it to my daughter for my granddaughter and they both loved it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
the kids love it and the adults love the sight of the kids watching it, there little faces shocked and amused by Nanny McPhee
well worth the money and loads to questions from the wee ones once the film ended .. like is nanny McPhee coming round here if we are naughty.. yes i hope so is the answer

worth buying
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
This is a great dvd for all the family. Even my two year old grandson loves it! I have watched it many times with my grown up children and grandchildren and never tire of it. A lovely message through it too. Emma Thomson is brilliant as usual. I highly recommend this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As the majority of reviewers have said this is a fantastic family film, reminiscent of the likes of Chitty Chitty bang Bang and Bedknobs and Broomsticks from the golden age of fun fantasy fare.
Thompson is almost unrecognisable at the start of the film as the hideously ugly Nanny but puts in a fine performance which is supported by well-cast children and welcome appearances from the likes of Maggie Smith, Bill Bailey and Rhys Ifans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
The second Nanny McPhee movie varies very little from the format of the first. A parent living on their own struggles to cope with a number of "high spirited" children. A magical Nanny appears uninvited to teach the children a few lessons about socially acceptable behaviour, gradually improving her physical appearance as each lesson is learned.

This time Maggie Gyllenhal is the stressed parent. Her husband is fighting in the war and she struggles to run the farm, especially with debt ridden brother-in-law Rhys Ifans trying to persuade her to sell the farm.

Happily this time the children aren't as annoying as in the first film. They are very helpful around the farm but do not get on with their two visiting posh cousins. Thankfully Nanny McPhee teaches them the benefits of everyone getting along together.

Written by Emma Thompson the young ones will enjoy the slapstick and chase scenes but adults who have seen the first film may find it a bit repetitive. The acting is generally good. Ms. Gyllenhal's English accent is excellent though her acting veers towards the shrill at times.

An enjoyable if unoriginal children's film
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
I loved this funny and quirky film. Children and adults will enjoy it alike and if you loved the first film, you will not be disappointed about this one.
This film is set in 2nd world war Britain and is not quite as brightly coloured than the previous film but there is a lot of attention to small, quirky details and the more you watch the fim, the more of these you will notice.
I was not so keen of Maggie Gillenhaal's performance, which I found very exaggerated and a bit artificial but my friends did not agree with me, so that's just my personal opinion!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
OK, it's not bad - if you haven't seen NMcP 2 - but please see this one first if you're going to bother at all because you'll you disappointed otherwise.
Still, it's quirky and amusing enough with great characters from all (except perhaps Colin Firth who really looks as if he's doing a favour for Em..)
Still, 3 stars for all the great magic & morals!!
Brims
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I loved the first film so much that I was afraid this would not match it. I need not have worried - it was every bit as good as the first. It was a very different story, less bright colours and exaggerated characters but every bit as magical with performing pigs and a flying motor bike. Nanny McPhee is far better than Mary Poppins and hope there will be lots more stories to come. Great film for adults as well as children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.