Customer Reviews


184 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family entertainment
The whole family enjoyed this - each laughing in different places as different aspects were appreciated by different age groups. A touch of Fantasia in the synchronised piglets - adorable. Particularly well written and set in 1940s with nods to the Famous Five 'lashings of ginger beer' and the derring-do of Wallace And Gromit style chases in motocycle and sidecar. We...
Published on 13 Aug 2010 by katrina_marina

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nanny McPhee & the Big Bang
Wasn't impressed with this one. Nowhere near as good as the original Nanny McPhee. I was quite disappointed. The prompt delivery was good though.
Published on 9 May 2012 by lynnewivanee


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family entertainment, 13 Aug 2010
This review is from: Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD] (DVD)
The whole family enjoyed this - each laughing in different places as different aspects were appreciated by different age groups. A touch of Fantasia in the synchronised piglets - adorable. Particularly well written and set in 1940s with nods to the Famous Five 'lashings of ginger beer' and the derring-do of Wallace And Gromit style chases in motocycle and sidecar. We all loved it, and if you're looking for a DVD for Christmas viewing when all the family are together - this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nanny McPhee & the Big Bang, 9 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD] (DVD)
Wasn't impressed with this one. Nowhere near as good as the original Nanny McPhee. I was quite disappointed. The prompt delivery was good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved Nanny Mcphee, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD was great it kept the gran kids quiet and gave me some quiet time It was great
can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD] (DVD)
Nanny Mcphee And The Big Bang was a really good purchase. Great family film.
Emma Thompson as always is such a good actress and Ralph Fiennes is just gorgeous.The children's acting was excellent.
It was so easy to purchase from Amazon and came by first class post very quickly and much cheaper than most supermarkets.
I would certainly use Amazon again, most efficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I feel very angry about this purchase!, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD is being offered for sale in the UK under the title of Nanny Mcphee Returns..
This film has been released in the UK with the title Nanny McPhee and the Big Bang.
I complained when I realised what it was ~ the seller assured me if I returned it I would be refunded, I posted it back as agreed one month ago and am still waiting for the promised refund.
Very disappointed.
I will not buy from this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NANNY McPHEE & THE BIG BANG, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD] (DVD)
it is FABULOUS!!!!! my grand daughter loves it she watches all the time. We recommend it wholeheartedly, will have to buy replacement before long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice film, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD] (DVD)
A nice film for all the family, I brought this for a friend who enjoys watching all the Nanny Mcphee films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very similar to the first film-Still enjoyable, 1 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD] (DVD)
The second Nanny McPhee movie varies very little from the format of the first. A parent living on their own struggles to cope with a number of "high spirited" children. A magical Nanny appears uninvited to teach the children a few lessons about socially acceptable behaviour, gradually improving her physical appearance as each lesson is learned.

This time Maggie Gyllenhal is the stressed parent. Her husband is fighting in the war and she struggles to run the farm, especially with debt ridden brother-in-law Rhys Ifans trying to persuade her to sell the farm.

Happily this time the children aren't as annoying as in the first film. They are very helpful around the farm but do not get on with their two visiting posh cousins. Thankfully Nanny McPhee teaches them the benefits of everyone getting along together.

Written by Emma Thompson the young ones will enjoy the slapstick and chase scenes but adults who have seen the first film may find it a bit repetitive. The acting is generally good. Ms. Gyllenhal's English accent is excellent though her acting veers towards the shrill at times.

An enjoyable if unoriginal children's film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical "Nanny McPhee", 14 Oct 2014
This review is from: Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD] (DVD)
The gifted Emma Thompson adds to her already impressive writing credits with this delightful sequel to 2006's comedy fantasy "Nanny McPhee".
Thompson reprises her role as the mysterious, magical Nanny, who this time must use her special talents to sort out the mayhem which ensues when a couple of snooty young evacuees from wartime London and billeted on their unruly country cousins.
I think the secret of this film's success lies in the fact that it has appeal across the age spectrum. Younger viewers can revel in the slapstick and animation. Older viewers can enjoy the sly wit and finely pitched comic performances of not only Thompson but Maggie Gyllenhaal, Rhys Ifans, Bill Bailey, Ralph Fiennes and Maggie Smith (a special mention too for the younger actors who contribute admirably). The whole effort is brought together with deft assurance by director Susanna White.
My wife and I purchased this film for our granddaughter, but have to own up to sneaking a look before passing it on, and we're very pleased that we did. It's the classic "for kids of all ages" film; mad as a box of frogs and utterly enchanting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great watch, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD] (DVD)
the kids love it and the adults love the sight of the kids watching it, there little faces shocked and amused by Nanny McPhee
well worth the money and loads to questions from the wee ones once the film ended .. like is nanny McPhee coming round here if we are naughty.. yes i hope so is the answer

worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD]
Nanny McPhee & The Big Bang [DVD] by Susanna White (DVD - 2010)
£3.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews