Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This IS the show.
Dara O Briain has made quite a reputation for himself over the last few years as one of the leading comedians on the circuit today. All this comes to a head in the performance(s) showcased on this DVD, which captures the Irish funnyman at his very best.

The material is fresh and constantly of top class, never relenting in pace or hilarity. The audience...
Published on 28 Nov 2010 by K. R. Bell

versus
1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disapointed fan
Heard so much about this comedian that I bought A dvd and advd box set only to be very disapointed.A lot of swearing!
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by Linda


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This IS the show., 28 Nov 2010
By 
K. R. Bell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Dara O Briain has made quite a reputation for himself over the last few years as one of the leading comedians on the circuit today. All this comes to a head in the performance(s) showcased on this DVD, which captures the Irish funnyman at his very best.

The material is fresh and constantly of top class, never relenting in pace or hilarity. The audience participation is great as always (including a young lad in the front row who was persistently trying to film the show, who was brilliantly dealt with!)

I will whole heartedly recommend this to everyone as there really is something for all here. This really is the show!

P.S. One of the DVD extras is a second show (hence plural of performance above) filmed in Dublin, of which 40 minutes of material is shown (that which was not the same as the main feature) and is equally funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 4 Nov 2010
This review is from: Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw the show a couple of times with different people and we all loved it. It's the best stand-up I've seen in years (and I've seen a lot of stand-up). His timing is spot on, the delivery is exhausting and the whole show is a great mix of surreal and real-life stuff. The way he teases the audience and weaves stuff around what they do for a living is spectacular. You'll never view mouthwash in the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The stand out stand up of 2010, 30 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Christmas 2010 ended up being a pretty poor one for stand up comedy. Some of the heavy hitters came out swinging and missing.

Thankfully, this DVD/performace saved it from being a total disaster!

Dara has a natural talen for fan interaction and tying it all up seamlessly into his pre-written material.
This show is always fun, never offensive and just brilliant from start to end.
It is a real credit to his charm and natural ability that he spends so much time talking to the audience and it never feels like a drag. He takes the mic out of people but he never treads into making them feel uncomfortable, its all like good banter with friends. And I think this is one of his greatest qualities as a comic, he is friendly.

The material its self is sharp and well observed. He spends some time on topics, such as family and kids, that dont always register with me. This doesnt stop it from being hilarious.

Overall, the shining moment in Daras career so far and a stand up dvd that must be added to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dara O'Brian Review, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant DVD, love the way Dara can use the audience's comments to prolong a joke or include it in further places within the performance. His one liners are very entertaining and the irish accent compliments his ability.

Very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant...again!, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Amy (Cambs, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big Dara fan and this DVD did not disappoint.

I really enjoy the way he interacts with the audience without being insulting and is incredibly quick thinking. I found this so funny I even had to pause the DVD, when he was talking about his experience on the London Underground, so that I could compose myself.

If you like Dara you'll definitely like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
If you like mock the week, you'll love it. Much better than Frankie Boyles stand up.
Well worth the money, good service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not his best, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Without doubt Dara O Briain is the funniest and most consistently funny comedians I have ever seen. Previous material of his I have seen has been brilliant, especially the seamless switches between audience and material. This how feels a lot more personal, as O Briain opens up a little more to us, talking about his own life rather than more abstract observations. However, the audience material doesn't quite work. Certainly there are flashes, and I would argue that he didn't have a lot to work with compared with other shows I have seen, and unfortunately this let's the show down. It never quite feels like it takes off.
Undoubtedly one of the all time greats, this is really good, but not his best. Still a good buy though :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful!!, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Superb show by a fantastic comedian who knows how to appeal to as many types of person as it is humanly possible. He is also the best with the crowd and the front row of the crowd of any comedians i have seen as he genuninely attempts to make them feel good at sitting there and makes them into 'heroes' by the end of the show by improvising with whatever job they have and making it seem great. This is is a great show well worth getting on dvd to watch time and time again over the years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant stand-up, 29 Dec 2010
By 
JKChicago "jketchmark" (Tinley Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
I discovered Dara O'Briain on YouTube, and immediately purchased the Talks Funny DVD and a multi-regional DVD player on which to view it. I cannot remember the last time a stand-up show made my stomach hurt so much from laughter. This is the Show is just as good; the speed at which he improvises during audience interactions is mind-boggling, and his prepared material brilliantly riffs on everything from midwives to Grand Auto Theft. My only complaint is the same one I have with most British comedy DVDs; get these on Region 1 so my fellow countrymen/women can experience quality stand-up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Side splitting, 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
We were there for this recorded show at Hammersmith Apollo.

He was painfully funny, sides did almost split.

I am not sure if the teenagers who were recording on their mobile phones made it into the DVD, but they caused a hell of a laugh.

Also the brain surgeon with the alpha-betty spaghetti and the mutating neutrino's, it was funny - as they say "you had to be there".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad8214c8)

This product

Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD]
Dara O Briain - This Is the Show [Live] [DVD] by Dara O Briain (DVD - 2010)
4.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews