Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Niche Market
Although it does everything it states on the box I found this a strange programme, this is not to distract from what it does however this is really virtual scrapbooking as I have always used scrap books to hold mementos of holidays etc things like admission tickets or an emu feather so they can be used to relive memories. This programme produces scrap book pages but...
Published on 12 Mar 2010 by Bob

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Standard DTP software
This program is just DTP and photo editing software common to most PC's. It is easy to use for most as it follows standard MS WIMP menu and icon arrangements. It includes a wide range of templates, wizards and object libraries. However, commonly available office application suites with perhaps freely available programs available on the web give you all these features. The...
Published on 19 Jun 2010 by Toby le Rhone


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Niche Market, 12 Mar 2010
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Although it does everything it states on the box I found this a strange programme, this is not to distract from what it does however this is really virtual scrapbooking as I have always used scrap books to hold mementos of holidays etc things like admission tickets or an emu feather so they can be used to relive memories. This programme produces scrap book pages but unless you are going to use the embellishments etc to cut out and stick in a real scrap book the effect is lost.
This is version 2 and as I have not tried version 1 I can give no information on how important the changes are although from the manual they do not seem significant enough to warrant buying this programme as an upgrade.
Like all Serif product a full instruction book is available in this case included in the package, also unlike most companies they give you at least 30 days to return it if you do not like it.
Now what it does:-
It is supplied with a number of themes which consist of backing papers and numerous embellishments, picture frames, brush shapes etc etc each of these are fully customisable, serif calls these "digikits". Other digikits may be obtained free or purchased from "Daisytrail" which also seems to be owned by Serif; in my package there was a voucher to buy extra digikits.
There is a fairly basic photograph programme which allows some effects and correction of photographs together with adding and removing frames. You can add your own photographs or even complete albums. Although it allows you to import photographs in numerous formats the thing that it does not do is allow "pdf" input and there are many times when I would wish to either include a whole "pdf picture" or part of one.
The editing facilities are very comprehensive allowing you to use stencils cut outs and many text effects.
Built into the programme is the facility to upload to the daisytrail site so that you can let everyone else see your creations or keep them just to you and your friends. This is a free facility and I imagine it would also be quite useful for blogs. Unfortunately the only output is "pdf " either 96dpi or 300dpi which is quite limiting.
In summary if you want to do "virtual scrapbooking" then buy this, if you want to manipulate photographs or do desktop publishing this is not for you as many programmes do this better for example from the Serif range. Photoplus and Pageplus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Programme at a great price!, 19 Aug 2010
By 
Anne Nelson "Crafty Lady" (Pembrokeshire, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
This has to be the best piece of software I have ever purchased. I have always been a fan of Serif software and original bought DSA for making greetings cards but very quickly found out how versatile it is. DSA2 has some very powerful features which make it a 'one stop shop' for creating some fabulous artwork using photos and/or the tools and effects the programme has to offer. It has many features that you find in the high end programmes that cost 100 times more!!! The photolab and cutout studio are just brilliant and very user friendly. I use DSA2 for all kinds of projects from cards to scrapbooks (which I had never done!) to advertising posters and preserve labels. Printing from the programme at 300 DPI produces excellent results and the facility to save work as JPEGS etc. makes light work of producing some superb graphics for the web.

You don't have to use just the digikits that come with the programme or buy from the Daisytrail shop.....all kinds of graphics can be imported into the programme (including digi scrapbooking kits or craft graphics from anywhere else) and you also have the option of making them into your own DSA digikit complete with 'intelligent' photo frames where a photo can be automatically added and cropped to size! There are some great video tutorials (on Daisytrail.com)that will show you the basics of DSA through to more complex projects plus there are plenty of members in the Daisytrail community who are always willing to lend a hand if you get stuck.

The only limitation of this programme is your imagination!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for E-Cards and Invites, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm not a fan of home crafts, so I wanted to use this package for creating nice e-cards and invitations. It's pretty much perfect for the job.

The software is very easy to use. Pick a background, add your picture and/or text, then have fun layering on the embellishments fuzzy felt style - flowers, frames, stencil effects etc. You can work free-style from a blank canvas but using a pre-set 'digikit' theme is ridiculously easy and gives lovely results.

As the days of paper cards and notes seem to be over, I'll be using this software regularly to create personalised messages to send by email. (As a note, you can't save pages to jpeg format, only PDF and png.)

I'm marking this software down to 4-star as you need to get your credit card out early on - the software only has 5 rather bland 'digitkits' included, the rest are chargeable from the website (although a handful of free ones are also available). The package didn't come with a printed manual (something I personally like) and the software is a little unstable on my machine (Windows 7) - it doesn't open cleanly and I've had to reinstall it several times. That aside, this is a great fun, easy to use, piece of software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely templates and so easy to use, 30 Jun 2010
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a lovely creative product, aimed at 'digital scrapbookers', but actually quite useful for anyone who wants to do something interesting with their digital photos. It's completely easy to use - the interface is uncluttered and the main bits and pieces for adding elements to your creations are all in plain sight and not hidden away in menus. That's not to say there aren't higher-end features too, and if you're willing to experiment you'll find tools for adding shadows, textures and all sorts in the program.

There are a number of templates along different themes such as nature, gardens, fairytales and such like - the elements within these themes have a nice 'crafty' feel to them, like colourful buttons you can drag and drop onto your projects, sugar-paper textures shapes and cut-outs of bees, birds and flowers. With very little effort you can create something pretty to print out and use as part of a project - we used it to create a 'family tree' book with old photographs from the family laid out nicely, which was then used as a gift. If you have a decent printer and good quality paper, this software is a great source of these kinds of creative gift. The range of templates does include links to pay-for templates as well as the included ones, but to be honest, the included range is more than enough for the casual user.

There's also an export feature to save your artwork as a JPEG file - ideal for emailing or putting on an Internet page. You can also export as PDF, again, a nice way to share your work electronically with others.

The ease of use and the range of functions make this an ideal piece of creative software for novice and experienced PC users alike - really fun to use, with instant pleasing results!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best scrapbooking software ever, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
I am an avid user of Serifs Digital Scrapbook Artist and have been for the last year and 5 months, I can not recommend this product highly enough. This programme has everything and more to start creating your very own digital scrapbook pages. You can create them in your own style and be as fun and as adventurous as you wish. Each digikit comes with pre-made layouts to get you started if your not sure and you can add and delete embellishments, frames and papers as you wish.Once you are used to using the software,or if you choose to dive right on in, the interface and ease of use will have you creating your own keepsakes for your family and friends.
There are numerous fantastic features included in the programme and the snap to fit frames are a definate bonus. Once your photo is in the frame though, it does not stop there, you have the choice of moving your photo around, enlarging and using the photolab to create some wonderful effects. Also included within the programme itself are some fab brushes, edges and effects that you can apply to whatever you wish and that is just the start. It does come with some free digikits and there are plenty more free ones at the DaisyTrail website ( the DSA scrapbooking community)and these are also added to, so there is always a freebie to be had. Then there is the store... Here you will find a vast array of digikits from Serif and other designers and a whole lot of choice for every ones style or need and once again these are added to on a frequent basis, yes you have to pay,very reasonable prices in my opinion, but they are always full of high quality goodies and you get to see before you buy. You also get the added bonus of the Daisytrail community or family as I prefer to call it. There is always someone on hand to answer questions you may have, give you advice and a great way to make friends with like minded people.
All in all Digital Scrapbook Artist is a must have for any crafter out there, it is very versatile for scrappers and cardmakers alike and well worth its price...Not one to be missed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You may need to set time aside..., 17 July 2010
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As the title of the review states you may need to set aside quite a bit of time to trawl through the pages allocated to the PhotoLab. The Serif Digital Scrapbook Artist does everything it claims but it really gets a bit daunting when you want to simply re-style a photo layout and so many other options are available. I think this is mainly due to the fact that I am used to Adobe Photoshop and the two should not be compared.
If you are new to photo enhancing then the Serif package is probably a good place to start. It offers all the usual effects found in other packages and allows you to view the changes alongside the original so you can opt out if you wish. On the main page is another good feature - the size of the photo is shown as you alter it and this can be useful for photo layouts across the pages.
There is also a simple step-by-step guide on a given task and it is useful to bare this in mind but as a safeguard I would recommend saving the layout page everytime an alteration is made in case you cannot undo the task.
There is a variety of photo enhancements available including pencil, classic art style and even blurring. This individualises the photo and makes the pages of photographs more pleasant to the eye, as well as adding interest. Personally, I would show an enhanced photo with the original set off to its side or, at the very least, at the back of the scrapbook.
All in all, I recommend this package as a fun item and it should give some remarkable effects to your photos. But, you do need to set aside some time to play around with a blank page or using one of the scrapbooks available and be prepared for an unexpected 'sting in the tail'...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Standard DTP software, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Toby le Rhone (StaffordshireUK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This program is just DTP and photo editing software common to most PC's. It is easy to use for most as it follows standard MS WIMP menu and icon arrangements. It includes a wide range of templates, wizards and object libraries. However, commonly available office application suites with perhaps freely available programs available on the web give you all these features. The manufacturers dress up standard tools and features as 'specialist' by using non-standard terminology like blending and stencils.

This program would be suitable for newish PC users who have limited software installed on their computer, are relatively unfamiliar with the internet and are looking for convenience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scrap booking, 16 April 2013
This review is from: Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 is a program that you load onto your computer, it allows you to design and create scrapbook pages (or other paper projects) on your computer. You can print finished pages, save them to disk, or even upload them to share with others online.

To create projects, you choose a paper size and then open items from Digital Kits, to decorate your project. The digital kits contain, Background papers, embellishments, alphabets as well as layouts. To get started try using the layouts, these are pre made scrapbook pages, you can just add your own photograph and your page is done. The program comes with five digital kits, so you can play with the program as soon as it arrives. You can buy additional digital kits in packs of ten on CDs, or choose individual kits to download from Daisy Trail.

If you prefer a more hands on approach to your crafting, you can print out the background papers and elements and build your pages/projects in real life. Adding as much dimension as you like and you could make anything with this programme like cards, recipe cards, baby's first year books, guest books, etc with these too. The possibilities of this software are numerous.

Despite the numerous buttons to press the software is easy to use and is very user friendly and has a lot of high-end features that the very expensive software has, at a much more affordable price.

There is an online community called Daisy Trail, which has lots of helpful people to inspire you with their pages and help you out if you get stuck. You can upload your pages to share them with the community and buy further digital kits.

Digital Kits are excellent, with a simple drag and drop feature to add items onto your pages, if you want extra buttons you just drag them on too! Kits are completely compatable with each other and you can use any features from any kit.

Serif have been making software for over 20 years and this program has elements from their other programs, that they have put together in a really user-friendly stable product.

The program itself comes with 5 digital kits, you can choose to buy collections of digital kits on CD for around 30 for ten digital kits, or cherry pick your favorite kits and buy them individually from Daisy Trail. The program is a wonderful investment for the endless supply of options for creative projects. The individual kits are really affordable if you can't stretch to a whole CDs worth, so is real value for money

There is a free download of a trial of Digital Scrapbook Artist Compact available from Serif so you can see for yourself just how good this is. If you are not into scrapbooking this is also perfect for card making and any kind of paper crafting. If you just buy the kits for the papers, it's still a good buy.

I was a sceptic too, but after a couple of afternoons with this software, I love it. If you don't like downloading from the internet, you can buy many of the digital kits on CDs, from Serif.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I'd expected, 1 Jun 2011
By 
A. K. Davis "akg" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've made several photo books in the past using the standard software downloaded from the photo book websites. I have found these frustrating as they have not enabled me to do the layouts I want and the options provide to produce your own are minimal e.g. no align. I've been keen to give digital scrapbooking ago, but have been put off by needing to learn how to use Photoshop first.

I was delighted to find some dedicated digital scrapbooking software, but was dubious about how much flexibility it would provide. I was pleasantly surprised. It has similar functions to photoshop elements e.g.layers enabling you to editing different sections without 'damaging' other sections, but is focused on scrapbooking and not photo editing (although photo editing is included it is a feature you activate when needed). My intention is to export my pages as jpg and use them as a full page image in a printed photo book.

It is easy to use because you can simply drag and drop the items you want to include on the page, either from within the program or from explorer if you have your own items. You can also produce packs from your items so in future they are displayed within the program library (ou can also export items from the provided Daisy Trail packs, but these need to be done individually so it is time consuming). It is also easy to apply drop shadows to your layout to give the page the perfect final touch.

I have been very pleased with the software, despite a few niggles such as the software doesn't always select the item I expect it to, so I end up editing the wrong item. It has enabled me to learn how to do digital scrapbooking so I feel ready to tackle photoshop elements, but I still return here when I want to do a layout quickly, or I get frustrated with not being able to use photoshop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digi art, 5 Jan 2011
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Havent recently started scrapbooking I was interested to see how a digital scrapbooking package might assist me.
This was failry easy to instal and offers various packages - like embellishment papers, typefaces, cutting programs and photo improvement programs.
These were ok but not ground breaking. To cut to the chase I felt this package was quite basic. If you have a lot of scrapbooking experince then this isnt for you. If you dont and are on a limited budget- and have a very good printer - this would be fine. However if you are a very creative person you might feel this really falls flat, it did not realy aid me and I have decided I prefer my usual paste & sew technique 9 as it offers me far more freedom & creativity )combined with normal word & photobox documents.
This just feels to funcional for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD)
Digital Scrapbook Artist 2 (PC CD) by Serif (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews