Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really handy!
I bought this not for video editing liek it is intended but as a second HUI to see if I could make my design work more effective. I'm using it with Xara Designer and have programmed all the buttons to be specific tools (like pen, fill) and the wheels to be zoom and undo redo. It works really really well.
Consider it for any application that you find yourself cliking...
Published on 16 Feb. 2012 by MartinPluss

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good hardware but has issues with win7(64)
The actual physical feel of the thing is good. Good build quality too.

Unfortunately on Win7(64bit) the driver won't start automatically, needs to be started manually and with "Run as administrator"
Imagine if you had to start all your usb devices manually :)

A shame since it proves quite versatile.
Published 12 months ago by Iulian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really handy!, 16 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black (Electronics)
I bought this not for video editing liek it is intended but as a second HUI to see if I could make my design work more effective. I'm using it with Xara Designer and have programmed all the buttons to be specific tools (like pen, fill) and the wheels to be zoom and undo redo. It works really really well.
Consider it for any application that you find yourself cliking repeatedly in - I don't know how I managed without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect companion for editing, 18 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black (Electronics)
I can't live without it. I don't know why I didn't buy it before. It's the perfect companion for Final Cut Pro X. If you're an editor and you haven't got one, buy one now. It's fully programmable with any application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 5 Jun. 2013
By 
M. Adams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black (Electronics)
I'm using this mainly with Final Cut Pro X, Premiere and Davinci Resolve. It works really well with Final Cut And Premiere. When you switch between applications it automatically switches the configuration from one to the other, so it works seamlessly with both. It appears that Black Magic have blocked this "cheap" device, so you have to manually configure the default setting in order for it to work with Davinci Resolve. It makes it a bit more fiddly, but it doesn't take long to do. It's well made with good ergonomics. The only thing I'm not mad on (although I've got used to it now) is the inner wheel. I would have liked it to have had a bit less resistence. Once you get used to using the shuttle with your left hand and the mouse with your right, you'd never want to go back to editing video any other way.
Overall, I'm very happy with the purchase.
I also use a silicon keyboard overlay with all the shortcuts for Final Cut Pro X (Kbcovers) which is brilliant and well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Editing with speed, 16 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. Ali Cameron (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black (Electronics)
Love the idea of the Shuttle - I used these controls on many types of edit VTRs so it is familiar.

What it does, it does well but misses out the full functionality of these on-machine or edit control shuttles as the Shuttle Express does not drive Final Cut Pro X @ fast forward/reverse or very fast forward/reverse only at slow forward/reverse when in shuttle.

But for fine work this is a great help. Full integration with FCPX would be nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black (Electronics)
Great tool. Used with premierpro CC easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic item, excellent build quality, 11 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black (Electronics)
This item is a a MUST if you ever use a timeline-based applications, like a video or audio editor.

The Contour ShuttleXpress has -- let me be clear about this since it is a consumer product -- TWO dials. One, the single finger one, can function as fine adjustments back and forth, say frame by frame. The ribbed dial is spring-loaded are more suitable for moving large distances, say to the previous 5 bars of a song.

Build quality? Excellent. Almost flat, so no problems with ergonomy. Also, this one will last. Well built.

The software is excellent, and there is a large community on the web site for creating extra presets for new apps and discussing innovative new uses so YOU don't have to. No worries though, it ships with templates for enough apps that the dropdown fills my large screen. Some of the apps I haven't even heard of, and i have used a Mac since 1986.

Speaking of Mac, it works equally well with a PC.

Have I mentioned the programmable buttons? There are 5 of them, and some of them duplicate the transport controls on my Keyboard, so I just reassigned them. You can assign them to pretty much everything you can think of.

The driver automagically switches to an application's jog shuttle settings once you are in it, so no fiddling around. Set it up once by installing the drivers and then plugging it in, perhaps tune the response speed to your liking and you are DONE.

Get the latest drivers for Windows and OS X here:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good hardware but has issues with win7(64), 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black (Electronics)
The actual physical feel of the thing is good. Good build quality too.

Unfortunately on Win7(64bit) the driver won't start automatically, needs to be started manually and with "Run as administrator"
Imagine if you had to start all your usb devices manually :)

A shame since it proves quite versatile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for final cut pro, 6 Nov. 2013
By 
R. Shears (Exeter) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black (Electronics)
The only draw back with this is having to remember to start the software (or automate loading it like I've finally done).
Makes editing movies in Final Cut Pro so much easier. Your workflow will be a lot faster and easier than using the mouse/trackpad.
If you don't want to splash out for it's big brother then go for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just like using a jog shuttle on an edit VCR way ..., 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black (Electronics)
If you edit video on your PC (I use Premiere Pro CS6) then get this. It will make your life so much easier! Just like using a jog shuttle on an edit VCR way back in the day. The jog shuttle mechanism has a quality feel as weel, great piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black (Electronics)
Works with any software and has 100s of uses .... I use it with Maya, 3D Max ,C4D and Photoshop CS6 - for Graphic Design and Product Visualization and it is the perfect tool to aid my workflow and put some of those short-keys at my finger tips..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contour Design ShuttleXpress - Black
£39.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews