Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bouquets and brickbats
At last, a Franklin crossword solver that overcomes the main drawbacks of the earlier Puzzlemaster CWM206--discontinued--and the Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR206--still available. (See my reviews of these machines.)

The earlier models had a poorly designed hinge; the lid soon came loose. One or more of the small rubber pads, glued to the base, fell...
Published on 10 Feb. 2011 by Born Again Cruciverbalist

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Words cannot describe it !
Unbelievably bad!
Never having posted a review before, I am compelled to do so in this case simply to prevent others making my mistake and actually buying this piece of junk .
First of all this is not a dictionary despite calling itself so. This I could accept ,as it is euphemistically called a "crossword dictionary". What I cannot accept ,as other...
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by Mrs Maureen McLean


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bouquets and brickbats, 10 Feb. 2011
By 
Born Again Cruciverbalist "Geoff" (Stockport, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR319 (Office Product)
At last, a Franklin crossword solver that overcomes the main drawbacks of the earlier Puzzlemaster CWM206--discontinued--and the Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR206--still available. (See my reviews of these machines.)

The earlier models had a poorly designed hinge; the lid soon came loose. One or more of the small rubber pads, glued to the base, fell off, so the machine wobbled. Worst of all, after regular daily use, some of the keys--especially the on/off key and arrow keys--had to be pressed several times and eventually stopped working altogether.

The lid of the CWR319 has two separate hinges; they should last much longer. The rubber pads under the base are plugged firmly into recesses. The keys are more robust and should last longer, though only time will tell.

The display shows two lines of blue text, or one line with larger letters. Entries are typed as capitals; answers appear in lower case. Earlier models showed only one line in black capitals.

The CWR319 stores over 500,000 solutions, not just words from the Chambers Crossword Dictionary but hundred of categories of proper nouns such as the names of abbeys, actors, football teams, Prime Ministers, rivers, etc, all listed by word length.

It can solve anagrams where the answer is more than one word. The words `foam lies in' became `Isle of Man'. The CWM206 and CWR206 find only one-word answers.

It can also find synonyms, listed by word length. You can specify the number of letters to see synonyms that will fit your crossword.

However, with anagrams or missing characters, the CWR319 fails to find some plurals and derivatives. It found minnow but not minnows, countermand but not countermanded. The earlier models find far more plurals and derivatives.

It also failed to find some not unusual words; for example, culinary and semifinal. These words are not in the Chambers Crossword Dictionary book but they are in the CWM206 and CWR206 and in my Seiko ER6000 Oxford Dictionary and Thesaurus.

The CWR319 can be used for Countdown using a feature called Word Builder. Enter the nine letters shown on the TV. It then displays, one at a time, the longest word(s) then the next longest and so on, including proper nouns and phrases. But it takes about 30 seconds to build a complete list so the Countdown contestant may beat the machine.

If you want a fast, easy to use crossword solver, buy the much cheaper CWR206 but the lid may fall off and the keys will wear out. For a more robust machine with extra features and a few drawbacks, buy the CWR319. Better still, buy one of the more expensive Seiko machine, excellent for crosswords but no good for Countdown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits the Purpose Exactly, 3 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR319 (Office Product)
This is a wonderful compact aid for crossword puzzlers.
It's neat, economical and offers several ways to use its data.
Easy to understand and use. Easy to change contrast so you can view it in all lights.
Can change case easily and the games are fine for amusement.
On reflection, I would have bought have bought a dictionary/thesaurus as well, but that must not detract from this little solver.
Well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crossword solver, 7 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR319 (Office Product)
i decided to buy this franklin chambers crossword dictionary after reading the reviews i had a seiko er3200 before it did not do names or places but the franklin chambers does it all names places you also get more words at the touch of a button
brilliant purchase 10-10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what I needed., 30 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR319 (Office Product)
This is the best crossword helper i've had. As well as the crossword solver,the anagram game and solver are great as are all the other games on it. Well worth the money, and on Amazon I saved around £15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Words cannot describe it !, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR319 (Office Product)
Unbelievably bad!
Never having posted a review before, I am compelled to do so in this case simply to prevent others making my mistake and actually buying this piece of junk .
First of all this is not a dictionary despite calling itself so. This I could accept ,as it is euphemistically called a "crossword dictionary". What I cannot accept ,as other reviewers have already pointed out , is its' inability to recognize many basic
words ,and as for any plurals ...well just forget them ! This is inexcusable in a product that purports to be an anagram solver ...better hope those anagrams don't contain an "s".
I simply cannot believe that some reviewers have given this product 5 stars.
I could go on ,but I cannot find the words ,nor in a lot of cases can this !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Useless dictionary, 19 Nov. 2011
By 
P. TENNISON "Pete" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR319 (Office Product)
This is the worst dictionary I have ever used. I still have a very old puzzle solver, but the buttons are sticking, hence my buying a new one. My old one gives me sometimes four or five word options, while this one struggles to find me one. Often it offers no words at all. Even if you input some words in completely, it still says " sorry not found", whereas if I put in the same letters on my old one it recognises them. I would NOT reccomend this product at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very dissapointed with the operation of the CWR 319, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR319 (Office Product)
I already have a CWR 206 version of the dictionary which is very easy to use and ergonomicaly good to handle but because my wife and i often want to use the same we decided to get another.This proved impossible through WH Smith as they couldn't find one.
This was the alternative but is updated badly, in the style it is trendy but not feelly. More to the point the keys do not respond to the touch unless you hit them very hard. Instead of just getting on with it you have to make lots of choices which are meant to be helpful but stops the flow. The answers are not as comprehensive as they could be and do not always match the previous version.
It works but is irritating and only is an improvement slightly by giving you an anagram solver.
I wouldn't recommend it but is there a better alternative probably not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crossword slover, 2 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR319 (Office Product)
Like the large print. Also able to play games, especially hangman. Does not seem to show all words in our Chambers dictioary. Like thatb it takes AAA batteries and not the small watch size ones. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Frankin Chambers Crossword Dictionary and Solver, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR319 (Office Product)
This crossword solver has been a slight disappointment. Initially I found it difficult to type words as the keyboard is not at all sensitive and it only works well enough if you place it on a hard surface and then press very heavily and slowly I.e useless to use on your lap. I returned it and it was replaced quickly without question.
However this second unit displays the same fault.
Also when it comes to its primary function of solving words and anagrams it is often unable to help,whilst my smaller and cheaper Franklin crossword solver often can find the necessary result.
In my view this model does not offer value for money and I would not recommend it for use wit the Daily Telegraph crosswords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the old one!, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Franklin Chambers Crossword Dictionary CWR319 (Office Product)
This model is nowhere near as good as the old version. It is more inflexible because a number of letters has to be selected before it will give options, instead of being able to trawl through all options. There are too many choices of games etc. It is far better to have a thorough good crossword dictionary on its own rather than try to pack in other facilities. The only reason I bought this one was the fact that I have previously bought other makes and the buttons/keys are so small that they are very difficult to use when you have large hands, which I do. Very disappointing and I wish my old model hadn't died of old age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews