Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn you Vinnie...
Just when you have decided that you really do not need any more Durutti Column albums, he goes and releases this.

A Paean to Wilson joins that select list of truly, magnificently great DC albums, up there with 'The Return of', 'Without Mercy''Vini Reilly' 'Time Was Gigantic' and 'Keep Breathing'.

There are no Vini vocals, though there are vocal...
Published on 5 Feb. 2010

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I hoped it would be
I really wanted to like this album - both as a long-time fan of The Durutti Column and as an admirer of the late Anthony Wilson (there aren't enough Mancunians like him).

Sadly, on this occasion the whole is less than the sum of the parts - much less, though it pains me to say that. Not that this is a bad record. It's just that for me, the magic has gone...
Published on 22 Feb. 2010 by Colin McCartney


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn you Vinnie..., 5 Feb. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Paean To Wilson (Audio CD)
Just when you have decided that you really do not need any more Durutti Column albums, he goes and releases this.

A Paean to Wilson joins that select list of truly, magnificently great DC albums, up there with 'The Return of', 'Without Mercy''Vini Reilly' 'Time Was Gigantic' and 'Keep Breathing'.

There are no Vini vocals, though there are vocal samples dotted around.

Much of the content treads familiar ground, but does so with more grace, maturity, melodic assurance and beauty than he has ever done before. As well as Vini's guitar and machines, we get the great Bruce Mitchell on drums, Keir Stewart (bass/keyboards), Poppy Morgan (piano) and old friends John Metcalfe (viola) and Tim Kellet (trumpet). The textural layering is breathtaking. It's a very long album (73 minutes) but there is nothing here which is a second longer than it needs to be.

The album grew from loss (of his close friend and benefactor Tony Wilson) but I have never heard Vini sound this at peace with himself and his talent. At times the depth of melodic beauty on display is almost heartbreaking, which is, perhaps, fitting.

Still not sure? Try hearing 'Duet With Piano'. Familiar and yet...

And as a bonus you get the Heaven Sent ep (originally a digital download only) thrown in on a bonus CD. Another slice of prime DC and if you ain't got it yet, then make it so. Now.

And I've got enough DC albums now. Right?

Yeah, sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 12 July 2010
This review is from: Paean To Wilson (Audio CD)
I really enjoyed this. I am a huge fan of Vini but think this album is one of the few that does not have any bad tracks. It may retread some old ground very well but then this album was written for Wilson and based on what Vini thought he would like to hear. Well recorded, produced and always a pleasure to listen to. Worth seeing live as they were doing dedicated 'Paean to Wilson' sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melancholia Reigns Supreme, 3 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Paean To Wilson (Audio CD)
Oh this is simply a work of great skill and maturity. Vini Reilly has struck a seam of pure gold. He communicates his deep feelings of loss and melancholy so fluently, and if this music fails to reach you somehow, then I can't imagine what you expect from music. To my ears, (and I have listened to a lot of his music), this sounds so refreshing and new, in spite of all the familiar motifs and choice of effects etc; these just seem like old friends now and seem even more powerfully evocative than ever before. The ideas expressed and the clarity and purity of sound on this recording are absolutely stunning. Thank you Mr. Vini Reilly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for The Duruti Column fan, 15 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Paean To Wilson (Audio CD)
In my opinion, this is the best Vini Reilly/Durutti Column's album in last ten years. A consistent piece, it keeps your attention all the time. It is the album that you could listen while you are writing or painting/working but also the piece you can sit comfortably in armchair and just listen to it.
Line-up includes all time members: Vini Reilly, genious on guitar, ukulele, Bruce Mitchell, genious on drums, percussion, Keir Stewart, bass, Poppy Morgan on piano and John Metcalfe, viola and Tim Kellett on trumpet.
And you get a bonus CD! Fantastic "Heaven Sent" available before just as a download album.
Two CDs are packed in nice digipack case.
Highly recommended, enjoy!
Aleks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vini is still genius, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Paean To Wilson (Audio CD)
obviously some revisited themes but ever beautiful and timeless.
i wasn't a huge fan of wilson but i've nearly a tear in my eye as vivn plays his tribute to his friend.
the album is almost worth it for the rendition of Royal Informary as Duet with Piano
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I hoped it would be, 22 Feb. 2010
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paean To Wilson (Audio CD)
I really wanted to like this album - both as a long-time fan of The Durutti Column and as an admirer of the late Anthony Wilson (there aren't enough Mancunians like him).

Sadly, on this occasion the whole is less than the sum of the parts - much less, though it pains me to say that. Not that this is a bad record. It's just that for me, the magic has gone. Whereas once there was a spring morning freshness to Vini Reilly's music, now he seems to be retreading old ground. For sure, time sometimes catches up with the innovators (and Vini most certainly was one) but there are nevertheless well-established artists out there, the likes of Ryuichi Sakamoto for example, who have somehow managed to retain that freshness and to say something new in a familiar way. Not so for "Paean to Wilson" - it has its moments, but it's generally tired-sounding, retreading old ground and waaay too long. Paradoxically, perhaps those new to DC may find something to enjoy (and no bad thing) - the sound is still uniquely Vini. But for the likes of me, for whom Circuses and Bread (Remastered) was a real benchmark - a benchmark for ALL music - to have heard that, then later to have witnessed newer artists like The Orb and Boards of Canada emerge and build on the ambient (I suspect VR probably hates that word) template (marginally less successfully, I might add) this CD is a let-down, albeit a very nicely packaged one.

Whether you're new to The Durutti Column or not, my advice would be to stick with the Factory albums as they contain some of the most under-rated music of all time. "Paean" though, doesn't.

Sorry Vini.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paean To Wilson
Paean To Wilson by Durutti Column (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews