Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A BEAUTIFUL COVER! A GREAT ADDITION TO A COLLECTION
after nearly 30 years this cd gets a cd release..thanks you cherry pop!

the album cover is beautiful...i bought it on vinyl hoping it would be as beautiful as the cover!

after leaving guys n dolls..thereze and david had huge success in the singles chart with classics like "shooting star" "loves got a hold on me" and "who were you with in the...
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by Mr. Nathan Armstrong

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dollar - 2nd album
ok-ish album i suppose.

kenny everett was always mocking teresse and david as always being at each others throats ie "handbags at dawn".

the good tracks compensate the so-so tracks.

completes the collection if you are a hardcore fan.

cautious recommendation.
Published on 21 July 2011 by a.m.hardwick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A BEAUTIFUL COVER! A GREAT ADDITION TO A COLLECTION, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Paris Collection (Audio CD)
after nearly 30 years this cd gets a cd release..thanks you cherry pop!

the album cover is beautiful...i bought it on vinyl hoping it would be as beautiful as the cover!

after leaving guys n dolls..thereze and david had huge success in the singles chart with classics like "shooting star" "loves got a hold on me" and "who were you with in the moonlight"

signing a new deal with wea....this album and all 3 singles flopped big time...not down to promotion but down to the quality of the songs...

track by track

"radio" could have been a huge hit if it was released as a single! it has the true dollar feel and vocals are great! 9/10

"the girls are out to get ya" is a bit to rockabilly and was released as a single but failed to make the charts...its so unlike a dollar song who ever decided to release it was very much mistaken 5/10

"young love" is a nice enough pop track but it seems to hrk back to the 70's 7/10

"you take my breath away" has a merry-go- round-backing track which gets really annoying! the song was another single and i wonder if some one was out to destroy them...its pretty bad with it reggae backing 5/10

"love at first sight" is another song that sounds so dated and weak 5/10

"taking a chance on you" is a true pop classic, it was released as a single but failed to chart...it has the classic dollar sound but dollar were off the radar! 9/10

"ebony" has a a sweet sickly feel and is very weak 5/10

"no mans land" has a sixties rockabilly feel..it just isn't dollar 5/10

"don't change your mind" is more the dollar sound we know and love....a great pop track with great lyrics and great vocals....should have been a single 9/10

"love me slowly" is a great ballad with lovely lyrics and it shines 9/10

"girls are out to get you alternative version" is no better than the album version 6/10

"love dont come easy" sounds like some thing from "grease" its a great track and previously unreleased 8/10

"young americans talking" was davids first solo single so would have been more appropriate as a bonus on "the dollar album" however it is a stunning pop track that should have been a hit but stalled outside the top 40 9/10

"fight for this country" is another great david solo track....great to have it on cd 9/10

"ringing the bell" was a david track released under another name..it failed to chart but it's a great track 8/10

"young americans talking 12" - a great track given a true classic 80's style remix 9/10

although a bit dissapointing at times..it sounded dated at time and 30 years have done it no better!...

a blip as the next album was stunning!!!

the rare tracks make this cd a must for dollar fans!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! The Paris Collection Tracklist, 7 Jan 2010
By 
A. Connor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paris Collection (Audio CD)
2010 issue UK 16-track CD album

Originally released in 1980, Dollar's 2nd studio album spawned the hit 'Takin' A Chance On You'. This 2010 edition comes expanded with 6 Bonus Recordings including 'The Girls Are Out To Get Ya [Alternate 1980 Mix], 'Love Don't Come Easy' and the David Van Day singles 'Young Americans Talking [7" & 12" Versions]', 'Fighting For Your Country' & 'Ringing The Bell'. Complete with picture booklet containing original LP artwork, extensive sleevenotes and pictures of all relevant singles.

The Spring Collection:
1. Radio
2. The Girls Are Out To Get Ya
3. Young Love
4. You Take My Breath Away
5. Love At First Sight

The Autumn Collection:
6. Takin A Chance On You
7. Ebony
8. No Mans Land
9. Dont Change Your Life
10. Heartbeat (Love Me Slowly)

Bonus Recordings:
11. The Girls Are Out To Get Ya - Alternate 1980 Mix
12. Love Don't Come Easy

Bonus David Van Day Recordings:
13. Young Americans Talking - 7" Version
14. Fighting For Your Country
15. Ringing The Bell
16. Young Americans Talking - 12" Version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to look like therese, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Paris Collection (Audio CD)
Wow! The girls are out to get ya!.... is really quite brilllliant indeed!, Whose to say "oh it isnt a dollaresque track", i mean, i do wonder what people hear? Its just sizzling!! And ebony is a terrific and beautifully sung track, therese just shines, she has a georgeous voice and she does all her own multi layered backing too. A great album with some edgy and some beautiful and just two not fab tracks, overall it beggars belief that the album wasnt too big a hit, i love it, the next album is an aural treat, that helped shape the sound of modern electronic music, hats off to tb and dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, straightforward pop album, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. M. Leacy "Michael Leacy" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paris Collection (Audio CD)
At last Dollar's albums see the light of day on CD. This, their second album from 1980 is a good effort. None of the songs are classic, but each are entertaining enough. I would recommend this set to fans of pop music with the best tracks being "The Girls Are Out to Get Ya" (memories of Summer 1980 come flooding back!) and "Young Love". The real bonus here however is David's solo single "Young American Talking" - easily the best song of this compilation. A true 80s classic. Unfortunately the pointlessly long 12" version is also here, which doesn't stand up to even a second listen! Never mind, this album is worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good listen, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paris Collection (Audio CD)
Very Good listen -I thoroughly enjoyed the album . Well written songs and she sings them beautifully - as ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly liked it, 27 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Paris Collection (Audio CD)
after reading the other comments i did not think i would like the album, i just loved the not over produced and rockier sound they should have made more recordings like this, i missed something 30 yrs ago, i now cant stop listening to it. a true hidden gem at last brought back into the open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dollar - 2nd album, 21 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paris Collection (Audio CD)
ok-ish album i suppose.

kenny everett was always mocking teresse and david as always being at each others throats ie "handbags at dawn".

the good tracks compensate the so-so tracks.

completes the collection if you are a hardcore fan.

cautious recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Paris Collection
The Paris Collection by Dollar (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews