Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A memory that will not be lost, 23 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (CD/DVD Limited Edition Digipack) (Audio CD)
Not being immersed in the music world I may have missed a few nuances however I can pretty much quote from each song in the list. Everyone will have a favorite. The favorite may be base on a Hendrix original or a Hendrix interpretation of someone else's work. I bought this as an album because it is hard for me to pick. If it were to be one for me it would be "All Along The Watchtower." Well I also listen to Bob Dylan. Yet it was Hendrix at the time that carried me through a war and right in time for Woodstock.

Periodically I think back on the time and think "There must be some way out of here,"

If not buying this for nostalgia, or a project, it is work making some new memories of where you are now listing to this classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just quailty, 7 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (CD/DVD Limited Edition Digipack) (Audio CD)
Very well presented with an informative booklet. The accompanying DVD is also a worthwhile extra. The music sounds so different to anything else that it has not really dated much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb package!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (CD/DVD Limited Edition Digipack) (Audio CD)
A classic album, beautifully packaged and presented. A real must have for any serious record collector. As good now as the day it was produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but and unnecessary "new" version, 20 May 2010
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (CD/DVD Limited Edition Digipack) (Audio CD)
I love this album, it is full of musical delights but I already have a brilliant version of this album. This DVD might be interesting but I have a number of DVDs of classic album related material or live in concert DVDs and I rarely watch them.

The reason that the original "British" album cover was dropped for recent CD releases is because jimi Hendrix hated it, he had a phot shoot, with Lind Eastman behind the lens, which he whought would be the basis for the album cover and was really upset bu the naked women cover that was used.

If you do not already own this album that you should buy this new version but if you have the last version that this is strictly unnecessary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20th Century Masterpiece, 18 Oct. 2010
By 
J. Seem (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (CD/DVD Limited Edition Digipack) (Audio CD)
40 years ago today Jimi went "ad astra" (to the stars), leaving behind an incredible legacy of classic art. Much of it created in a mere 4 years from 1966 to 1970.

Along with all the Masters from other genres of Art (painting, literature, sculpture, architecture, poetry, etc..), this is a timeless, classic 20th Century Masterpiece.

If you like music, any kind really, you must have this in your collection. You must make time to "experience" this record in full....from start to finish.

Jimi steps beyond his first 2 recordings to fulfill the true potential of his sonic vision....and set a standard that others have been trying to meet for years.

5 Stars are really not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimi Digi, 13 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (CD/DVD Limited Edition Digipack) (Audio CD)
I have to admit that this digipak is really great to have, everything about it is cool. This was a landmark album for so many contemporary sound engineers, Eddie Kramer and the boys helped progress rock and blues in the studios. So many of their tecniques are still in full use today ! And of course - "the man with the guitar is Jimi Hendrix" !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlatives Do Not Do This Album Justice!!!, 16 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. K. C. Brook "KevBlut" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (CD/DVD Limited Edition Digipack) (Audio CD)
I have had this album on vinyl for ages, now. I even bought it twice! I can now add the CD to my collection for posterity.
This piece of musical art, originally splattered onto various recording acetates (Four Track, Eight Track etc) before finally being laid out onto the vinyl discs we all then went out and bought, from the maestro that was Jimi Hendrix is, probably, the finest album ever.
If by some strange chance you do not own this, the final studio album by The Jimi Hendrix Experience, I urge, nay, command you to purchase it forthwith!
18th September 2010 is the 40th anniversary of Jimi's death as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (CD/DVD Limited Edition Digipack) (Audio CD)
I Just love JIMI HENDRIX. Places the cover is peeled and crushed, but overall the state is saved. Rest contented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another wasted opportunity ..., 21 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (CD/DVD Limited Edition Digipack) (Audio CD)
... not to use the famous original British cover ?!?!? :@ 5 stars for the music, needless to say :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant cd, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (CD/DVD Limited Edition Digipack) (Audio CD)
Arrived so promptly as a Christmas gift for my dad now 60 who loves his music! He was totally delighted with it! Took weeks to order with hmv and so with a 3 day delivery timescale I was over the moon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews