Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
Bought as a present for a male relative.

It's pretty much a spot on present in the 20-30 price bracket for any guy who wears work shirts IMO. Metal collar stiffeners are infinitely better than plastic ones. These are polished stainless, so they look nice and shouldn't rust or stain if they get washed by accident. There is a range of sizes for different...
Published 6 months ago by AH

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes........BUT!
Product very well presented in box making it an attractive gift. However, my experience is similar to the reviewer in March. On opening the box I discovered 1/2 the stiffeners were out of their elastic holders and one of the holders was broken. I suspect this may have been an unwanted item returned by another customer and not checked before shipping to me. Am returning...
Published 7 months ago by M. C. Winters


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Stainless Steel Collar Stiffeners in a Box - 4 Sizes - Deluxe Edition (Apparel)
Bought as a present for a male relative.

It's pretty much a spot on present in the 20-30 price bracket for any guy who wears work shirts IMO. Metal collar stiffeners are infinitely better than plastic ones. These are polished stainless, so they look nice and shouldn't rust or stain if they get washed by accident. There is a range of sizes for different collars.

The images give a very accurate depiction of what it looks like. The box looks smart, not amazing, but very presentable and something you would be happy to have out on your dresser. The box is good quality, it has an audible click when closing and feels robust. When the owner loses the stiffeners they can just buy replacements to keep in the box.

My only negative point/point of caution is that although for this price I think it is an excellent gift it is not a "top end" or "luxury" looking product. That should be obvious by looking at the pictures and price. But just in case you are expecting perfectly finished collar stiffeners and an expensive looking box, this is not it. It is nice looking, well presented and functional.

If I had a need to buy gifts for more people that this would be suitable for, I would have just bought 3-5 to hold as present stock.

Would buy again and would definately recommend to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful accessory for any gentleman, 3 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Stainless Steel Collar Stiffeners in a Box - 4 Sizes - Deluxe Edition (Apparel)
Unfortunately the price has gone up on this item since I bought it however looking at the other products available it still represents excellent value.

Starting with the box I am quite happy to leave it out on the dressing table in view rather than shoved in a drawer. It looks immaculate and has a reassuring weight and resistance to the hinges that suggests a higher quality than you would expect for the price. Don't underestimate how important it is to have these small, easily lost items securely and neatly housed in an attractive container.

The stiffeners are as described and look a class above standard plastic ones. Other than that they do their job as you would expect.

There are a few minor observations: there are an odd number of each combination of size and material, however the colour of the stiffener is irrelevant once inserted. Unless you live in the seventies it is unlikely you will have much use for the longer stiffeners. Finally, the weight of the longer stiffeners can cause collars to "hang" if the material is especially light (in my case a vintage polyester shirt), however as said you probably won't use them much.

EDIT - this product has changed again. The stays are now steel only, and none in bronze (good thing) and there are now four sizes, not two (no experience of using the two new sizes). Price still looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but unnecessarily large range., 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Stainless Steel Collar Stiffeners in a Box - 4 Sizes - Deluxe Edition (Apparel)
Very decent and do what it says on the tin. Rather nice presentation box. However I have only ever used the smallest sized ones. The largest size could probably kill a man. Furthermore I accidentally went through an airport with them in hand luggage and didn't get them taken off me. This could just have been a one-off though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, how did I live without them, 2 July 2014
By 
D. A. G. Charles "Notabanker" (Cambridge, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Stainless Steel Collar Stiffeners in a Box - 4 Sizes - Deluxe Edition (Apparel)
Fantastic. I always look at shirts of people on TV and they or their wives obviously haven't heard of these. Well presented and well made. A really good buy. Do not wash shirts with them in!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Collar stiffeners, lovely men's gift., 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Stainless Steel Collar Stiffeners in a Box - 4 Sizes - Deluxe Edition (Apparel)
Beautiful set, well made and nice case. Substantial metal and good choice of sizes. Lovely for anyone who wears collars with stiffeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Product review, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Stainless Steel Collar Stiffeners in a Box - 4 Sizes - Deluxe Edition (Apparel)
I needed this product because I use collar stiffeners in all my shirts and they are plastic and break frequently. These are metal and ideal for my requirement. Delivery was prompt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just like the illustration., 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Stainless Steel Collar Stiffeners in a Box - 4 Sizes - Deluxe Edition (Apparel)
Excellent product, nice presentation box, fast delivery - made a very well received present. I read some of the reviews and they were not talking about the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yes........BUT!, 5 Dec 2013
By 
M. C. Winters - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Stainless Steel Collar Stiffeners in a Box - 4 Sizes - Deluxe Edition (Apparel)
Product very well presented in box making it an attractive gift. However, my experience is similar to the reviewer in March. On opening the box I discovered 1/2 the stiffeners were out of their elastic holders and one of the holders was broken. I suspect this may have been an unwanted item returned by another customer and not checked before shipping to me. Am returning and re-ordering with fingers crossed the replacement arrives in pristine condition! This is an object lesson in the importance of all aspects of product marketing, - not just the actual product. Without the problem encountered it would have got 5 stars, - the aggravation of having to print off return labels, re-pack, return and re-order reduces it to at least 3, if not further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic gift, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: 20 Stainless Steel Collar Stiffeners in a Box - 4 Sizes - Deluxe Edition (Apparel)
Great gift for the man who needs nothing! The longest size are perhaps more suited for shirts from the seventies, butthe rest are good. Packaging was spot on, no bumps or brOken bits. Looks impressive in the gift box too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Collar stiffeners, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Stainless Steel Collar Stiffeners in a Box - 4 Sizes - Deluxe Edition (Apparel)
The quality of the goods met my expectations however, the box was slightly damaged. I would consider buying them again though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews