Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Songs Sung By A Fantastic Singer
Take a man with an absolutely fantastic voice. Add some of the greatest songs of the last 25 years. Mix in an acoustic guitar, and apply absolute emotions of happiness, sadness, love and hurt to each song and you have james Taylors Greatest Hits.

How anyone can describe Taylors voice as bland is completely beyond me. It is Pure Class. Thats why his songs are...
Published on 7 Sep 2006 by Scully Bloke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars JUST OKAY
Having bought a few James Taylor singles when originally out ( a long, long time ago I know ) and recently watched the concert with him and Carole King on the tv which was very good indeed, after which I bought and looked forward to listening to his greatest hits.
In a nutshell I found it okay, though a little slow, repetitive and somewhat dated.
Published 7 months ago by technophobe


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Songs Sung By A Fantastic Singer, 7 Sep 2006
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Take a man with an absolutely fantastic voice. Add some of the greatest songs of the last 25 years. Mix in an acoustic guitar, and apply absolute emotions of happiness, sadness, love and hurt to each song and you have james Taylors Greatest Hits.

How anyone can describe Taylors voice as bland is completely beyond me. It is Pure Class. Thats why his songs are love now as much as they were in the 70's 80's and 90's.

Its a must have album for people who appreciate beautiful songs, sung by a fantastic singer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who is a fan of James Taylor's wonderful voice ought to own this Greatest Hits album. All the hits are here, and it is easy to see why tracks such as "Carolina in My Mind" and "Fire and Rain" made him famous. Although the tracks towards the end of the CD, particularly the live version of "Steamroller", may be less well appreciated by those who only know the hits, it would be well worth your while to buy this just for the first half, and for those with an open mind these slightly less famous tracks are a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a man, 14 Aug 2003
James Taylor is regarded as a legend by almost all whom have listened to his music. I agree. He is a legend. He can write songs which hold such meaning and convey such passion. This almbus captures and condenses his huge mass of work into what I consider to be one of the single greatest albums of all time. It has the only James Taylor songs you need hear on it. The opening song "Something in the way she moves" is a beatiful example of his ability to sing and play complex finger-style guitar. "Steamroller" is just amazing to listen to as it is both musically brilliant and hilarious at the same time. While "Shower the people" may be a little flimsy, it in no way dimishes the rest of the album as the calibre is so high. 99% of people regard him as a truly fantastic singer-songer writer. 1% are able to recognise his expertise and skill with a guitar. But, for some unfathomable reason, too few realise the sound of his voice. When you listen to "You've got a friend", just stop and LISTEN. He has to have the most beatiful voice ever. I exaggerate not. His voice is simply amazing. This album has a few of those songs where you hear his voice at its best. "Country Road" is a wonderful, lively song. "You've got a friend" is by far the best cover of a song ever. And, well. What can yuo say about "Fire and Rain"? This is a true gem of a song. Inspired by the loss of his close friend Suzanne, this is a beautiful example of folk music. These really are great hits. Legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous james, 8 Aug 2010
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
there's something just fabulous about James Taylor. Listen to Mexico - it just reminds me of sitting on a beach in some far off hot and beautiful place sipping a tequila sunrise!
James has just the best melodic tones in his voice - he doesn't need loads of different instruments flying around when he's singing just his guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Taylor: Greatest Hits, 1 Mar 2009
By 
D. Donald - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
James Taylor: Greatest Hits
This is a great, laid back album. If you are a casual fan, this album has everything you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ALBUM EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE...!, 26 Aug 2001
As Greatest Hits albums go, this is a must for everyone. Those of you who do not have any James Taylor in your collection, this album is for you. From the soft 'Folky' sounds of 'Carolina' and 'Fire and Rain' to the hard blues sound of 'Steamroller'. I knew this guy was good, this album tells you how good, if you missed him first time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate JT collection, 19 Dec 1999
This album gathers together all the best 'tunes' of the great man.I remeber first hearing 'Fire and Rain' back in the summer of '72 and it still stirs those same emotions in me today. From the counrty ballads of 'Carolina'& 'Sweet Baby James' to the excellent live version of 'Steamroller Blues' I highly recommend any fan of great music to get this album ASAP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great fan!, 10 July 2000
By A Customer
I just love Jmes Taylor and this CD holds his all time greatest hits although I can think of so many more! 'Fire and Rain' is simply a classic along with 'You've Got a Friend' but other amazing tunes that touch your sould include 'Carolina in my Mind' and 'Shower the People'. If you don't know much about James taylor buy this ablum and have a taste you'll soon learn to love him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of James Taylor in its most concentrated form, 13 July 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As a North Carolina Tarheel, I feel a special affinity for James Taylor and his music. When my entire freshman class in Chapel Hill was assembled on my first day of college, the program opened with a rendition of Carolina in My Mind. It's a great song, no matter where you live or what college you support, but I always feel a little special tingle every time I hear that song. Of course, this is just one of many great songs James Taylor has given us over the years, and 12 of his all-time best are collected here on this stand-out Greatest Hits collection. Some songs should be widely familiar by name: the classic Fire and Rain, Taylor's cover of How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You), and of course the moving, inspirational, and timeless You've Got a Friend. The other songs were ones I was not as familiar with, yet it only took one hearing to make them all feel like old favorites if not old friends. Steamroller, I should mention, is an unusually forceful live recording that does contain one rather unexpected swear word in the moment of its highest energy, but in this day and age that one familiar word injected into such an amazing performance is, in my opinion, of very little import.
Something in the Way She Moves, Country Road, Walking Man, Mexico, and the somewhat sappy Shower the People are all wonderful songs sung in that unique manner and style of this most distinctive of singers. Taylor's voice sort of washes over you, instantly putting your mind and soul in a more peaceful state; his voice is in fact almost hypnotic, in my opinion. No matter how bad a day you may be having, I do not think it is possible to listen to James Taylor and then walk away in a bad mood. There are some all-important and beautiful things in the world, many of them amazingly simple, and a subtle yet powerful type of optimistic joy for these simple things in life is poignantly reflected in Taylor's songs. This goes a long way toward explaining Taylor's popularity over the years with listeners of all ages; his songs as well as the messages contained within them are timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Sweet It Is!, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
I am no music critic, so I am not really sure how to classify this album. It's sort of country meets rock ballads. However you want to classify it, one thing is for certain, it's utterly amazing! It's that laid back, relax your mind, ease the day's stress kind of music, but not in a "sounds of the ocean" kind of way. It's still real music that you can listen to in a quiet pub or on your front porch, or even in your car on the way to work. My personal favourite is "Carolina on My Mind".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by James Taylor
Buy MP3 Album6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews