Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern day Command & Conquer
Lots of games have tried to build upon the success of C&C over the years, but most havent done it. This is a great game. The Story mode will teach you most of what you need to know to play the game, and then there are a huge number of skirmish maps. The main things i like about these are:
- Many different maps
- The Tactics you employ need to change depending on...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Adrian R. Hannam

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original
After much hype and anticipation it's arrived.
First - you cannot use this gane without a broadband connection. My (rural) broadband is at best 1meg - so before I could start I had to wait for a 5 HOUR dowmload to intialise the game. Oh Joy!!!
Once registered & downloaded I was further dissapointed with the very poor game play - not a patch on the original...
Published on 11 April 2010 by GDM Bussey


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original, 11 April 2010
By 
GDM Bussey "Bogwart" (Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
After much hype and anticipation it's arrived.
First - you cannot use this gane without a broadband connection. My (rural) broadband is at best 1meg - so before I could start I had to wait for a 5 HOUR dowmload to intialise the game. Oh Joy!!!
Once registered & downloaded I was further dissapointed with the very poor game play - not a patch on the original.
The graphics are great - the game - carp!!

Even to play the stand alone game you have to first connect to the net - stupid. This system means that you have no resale value for the game - when fed up with it ( as I am now) you just have to bin it.

I shall look further in future to ensure any game I purchase does not have to be run via the net - or stay with X Box games. If this is the PC game producers answer to pirates then it (to my mind) will ring the death knell of PC based games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simplified and ruined, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. R. G. Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Supreme Commander and its expansion, Forged Alliance are, in my opinion, the bench mark for what any RTS should aspire to. They were clear, concise and complicated and with so many different combinations of tactical and strategic play, were hugely repayable. The game's one flaw was the slow down due to the HUGE map size and unit counts, but this could be remedied by getting a better computer and in time, you would, as the game has been out for years and is still widely played...

Supreme commander 2 solved this slow down problem but as far as I can tell, solved it purely so that the game could be played on the Xbox 360. I'm not going to rant about how multi-platform game development (i.e. games for PC and consoles) has and continues to ruin PC games by limiting the scope of the game due to the available resources on console, but this is the route of all the problems with Supreme Commander 2.

The game has been simplified to such an extent that it's no longer interesting to play. Some of the main problems are: the largest maps are tiny, the single player story is awful, the units are poorly designed, the research/tech tree is superfluous and an irritation, the 'experimental units' are small, weak and may as well be considered normal units, the beautiful subtleties and game play potential of the original have been completely lost. Maybe you have to play the game forgetting the original ever existed, but I am unable to do that because I know what this game could have been.

Save your self the 30, buy Supreme Commander Forged Alliance and see how RTS is supposed to be.
Supreme Commander: Forged Alliance (PC DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Supreme Disappointment, 23 Mar 2010
By 
PC (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If you still play the original Supreme Commander and/or Forged Alliance on GPG, then my advice to you is to keep playing. Forget that a sequel was ever in the works. Put your wallet away this time.

I've played Supreme Commander 2 for the past 2 days straight, and my verdict is this: It's an absolute and utter betrayal of everybody who stayed on GPG and played Supreme Commander and Forged Alliance up to now, in order to appeal to those who left GPG over the years because the game was too complex, too nuanced and too strategic for their modest abilities to cope with.

Even the largest maps are tiny, and massive armies can be conjured in just a few minutes. No longer can a few stealthed task forces strike like lightning at numerous key targets- some divided by oceans and mountain ranges- to weaken a dominant team's hold on a massive landscape and give your side a glimmer of hope(!). Instead, you build your tank stomp, they build their tank stomp, and the miniscule arena necessitates a head on attack every time. There are *no* strategies or tactics beyond this.

I'm not going to go on, this game is such a disappointment that I can't even summon a good rage. In summary, it's an unfortunate and troubling RTS effort. Gameplay is retro-RTS with none of Starcraft's precision or C&C's charm. Supreme Commander 2 is likely to trade well, all thanks to its predecessor, despite the many overwhelming and impassable shortcomings. Just save your money. Really, really, save your money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everything's better but the magic is missing..., 30 Mar 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Ok, let's be clear: my favourite RTS has long been Total Annihilation (SupCom's Spiritual Ancestor). It was ambitious to say the least and opened up new strategies that you could only dream of with games like C&C. TA was a beast: good looking, hard core, difficult and innovative.

SupCom took some of the good things about TA and brought them up to date. But, whilst the graphics were good they weren't improvement you might have expected after such a long wait. That said it retained some of the desperation of TA and the frantic race to set up a conveyor of units which would form a moving battlefront in order to finally overwhelm your opponent. It was again complex, hard core, reasonably good looking and in terms of scale it was bigger than its predecessor.

SC2 makes all the finicky unit management and unit creation / logistics easier. Units do clever things in zoomed out mode, forming groups depending on what you have selected which allow you to select them more easily again later. It has more of the crazy experimentals which can now be released in a half-baked mode so that you can rush on out to try and mount a last ditch counter offensive. The graphics are pretty good too and the weapon effects are ace!

So what's wrong with it? The magic is gone. It's something as a TA player you just can't put your finger on. Gone is the gritty post war monotone mission briefings which give you a sense of the scale of the war being fought (TA's was something out of transformers or WW2 documentaries). Gone is the complexity which made SupCom a hard game to master but more rewarding for it. Gone is the huge scale (the maps here feels tiny by comparison!) and the dizzying multitude of crazy units at each tech level which meant there was always something new to look forward to and gawp at on the battlefield (I mean come on, what in the game looks nearly as cool as the Core Sumo, Amphibious tanks or the Arm base defences??). Gone, in short is the desperation which made TA, and to a lesser extent SupCom edgy, challenging, fun titles.

This game has well thought out, mass appeal but ultimately falls far short of the games it aspires to better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not So Supreme Commander 2..., 8 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. D. M. Siva-jothy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
For some odd, strange reason its not letting me put the fun star rating of this game to 2 stars. It just stays at four, some pathetic trick being pulled on us by amazon? perhaps... I dont know, but I really give this game a 2 star on fun... Anyway, review below.

Alright, this game clearly has a lot of negative feedback, and I cant blame the fact that lovers of the originals (like myself) are throwing endless torrents of hate at it. It is a very different game, and someone who thought they where really smart decided to remove every single concept from the game that was good, and dumb it down into a useless pile of BS. This game was clearly built for console lovers and smaller children, GPG, Chris Taylor and Square Enix clearly just dont care about the fans of the first game, they just want their money, so, they create supreme commander 2.

Pros.

This game now runs on lower spec systems, I remember the old one used to lag or not work at all on your average computer, and I went out and got one of those damn powerful super gaming computers just to play supreme commander, and it was money well spent. On this game however, you can run it on an average PC (and mac as well, this game can be bought for mac surprisingly) and still get most of the good eye candy. The graphics are definitely not as good as the originals, but they are still good, and you dont need to buy a super computer.

Cons.

Lets start off by saying, there are quite a few of these. First off, the campaign storyline is terrible, the voice acting is terrible from all the actors except the guy who plays Dr. Brackman (Cybran leader). The factions go back to war for some unknown reason which you are later told is apparently their president being killed, how that causes them to break apart I dont know. The characters are all cold, boring and stupid, and I honestly couldn't care less if they all got slaughtered. If your buying this game, expect to find the little fun there is in the skirmish matches.

The largest thing that disappointed me in this game was the experimentals... I used to take great joy in building those massive Cybran Megaliths and awesome UEF FatBoys the ripping my enemy to hopeless shreds, but now, experimentals are just more powerful basic units. They take literally 4 minutes to build for the most part, and any sizable army can annihilate quite a few of them with little contest. They are just to weak and easy to kill. Sure we get quite a lot more than in the original games, but the new ones look stupid too, The Cybrans Megalith II is the only one that still looks cool for the Cybran. The UEF Fatboy II still looks cool, and the Aeon Universal Colossus still looks cool. But generally, the others mostly look stupid.

One thing that really got me pissed off was the lazy naming of the units, all the unit names for Cybran and UEF are just names from units that where ACTUALLY cool in the previous game. The Aeon units have really stupid names, and they are clearly only made for a bit of fun. For instance there is an experimental boat hunter unit called the Wilfinja, hahahah, get it, We'l Find Yah? as in it hunts boats and its going to find them, Wil-Fin-Ja... Hahahahah, thats not funny and I want too hurt the person who thought it was. There are also a few other units with stupid names that are puns of what the unit does. Its retarded.

Last, tech levels are gone, there are less units and only 1 tech level of units. You just have to upgrade via the research menu thing to get more powerful units and make your current units more powerful, this can actually be slightly good in some ways, but its also saddening because you cant get any new super units onto the field to crush your enemy with like you could in the original. I dont know why they did this, but its one of those things I want to let lose a pack of rabid dogs to attack Gas powered games and Square enix with.

I can go on forever, however other reviews will explain all that stuff, im just giving you the baseline... DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, BUY THE ORIGINAL, YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT

Overall, this game was a supreme let down compared to the original, seriously, just got buy the original, wasting your time, money and effort with this load of BS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good (albeit basic) standalone RTS, rubbish sequel, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
As the title suggests, this is a game for people who like RTS but didn't like Supreme Commander 1/Forged Alliance.

As a standalone RTS its fine - it's got some nice units, maps are generally well done and it doesn't take long to get into. Its got a neat research feature which sort of works like a cross between C&C's purchased upgrades and an RPG skill tree.

As a sequel, its written by people who don't seem to understand what made SupCom the legendary RTS it is. The unit selection is tiny by comparison, there's no real room for truly advanced tactics and the maps are much smaller. Experimentals have been majorly diluted - they're now cheaper, faster to get, and much weaker. They've also completely removed the Seraphim.

It's worth the few quid I spent on it, but I would have been less than impressed if I'd paid full price. It's basically a dumbed-down Command and Conquer 3 with far less cool stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars abit of a let down buy the 1st game, 27 Mar 2010
By 
M. T. Barker (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Supreme Commander 2 was a bit of a let down. Whilst the campaign was good, rounded and well told, and had a good story line, I found the multi-player a huge let down. I've played the 1st Supreme Commander since the beta and loved every min of it. if you want epic multi-player action buy the supreme commander forged alliance Supreme Commander: Gold (PC DVD)

I don't understand how the sequel can be smaller than the 1st game, I was under the impression that we were going for bigger and better. But in Supreme Commander 2 the maps are smaller the unit choice is smaller and they've got rid of tech levels. Worst of all the T4 or expermental units are rubbish. In Forged Alliance you need about 50 units to kill an expermental unit and you run for the hills. In Supreme Commander 2 about 10-30 units will be enough depending on the expermental.

If you want a well told story and single player action then buy this game.

If you want epic multi player online action then buy Forged Alliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So sad that Total Annhilation came to this., 24 Mar 2010
By 
Athlon (Manchester) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I was a fan from the original games and played them endlessly, I expected to find at least the seeds of brilliance from that original format here in this new title, but this leaves me cold, feeling like I'm wasting my time playing such a soul-less game. Halfway through the first campaign I can't bear it anymore and am uninstalling, the kindest thing all round for this colourful, but lame duck.

For me, a sad day for gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 11 Mar 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Gutted, i loved the original and to be honest they took a great game and dumbed it down for consoles, been looking forward to this game for a while.

the economy aspect is gone, i actually think the graphics are worse than Forged Alliance.

Quite a few bugs that proved really frustrating, like you can only build when you have a single engineer selected, rather than with a group.

[edit] - thought i'd update this, this game is largley forgotten now (hence the price). Nobody plays it and the servers are all dead. There's a couple of mods that let you play this game with the same feel as the original, if you can find and install them.

Huge disappointment. If you want an epic battle get the original forged alliance instead. Its better than this and there's still a great community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not even close to the origional, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
They changed the game drastically from the original, while its still an ok game it lacks the scope of the first sup comm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD)
Supreme Commander 2 (PC DVD) by Square Enix (Windows XP)
6.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews