Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting account of how Facebook was born and some of the battles during its infancy
Ban Mezrich has written an enjoyable and easy to read account of how Facebook was started by an IT geek Mark Zuckerburg who was a student at Harvard.

The book chronicles the early growth and how the web site grows from being just for Harvard students through its expansion to having several million users.

Most of the book concentrates on the battles...
Published on 21 Aug 2009 by J. H. R. Cornell

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Silicon Valley Magic - minus Merlin
Ben Mezrich prefaces his story of the rise and rise and rise of Facebook with a cautionary note the reader will do well to heed. "I recreated the scenes in the book based on the information I discovered ... and my best judgement ..."

Recreation is a subjective business. There are frequent warning signs: "We can envisage ...", "It is easy to picture ...",...
Published on 4 Jan 2011 by G. M. Sinstadt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Silicon Valley Magic - minus Merlin, 4 Jan 2011
By 
G. M. Sinstadt - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Ben Mezrich prefaces his story of the rise and rise and rise of Facebook with a cautionary note the reader will do well to heed. "I recreated the scenes in the book based on the information I discovered ... and my best judgement ..."

Recreation is a subjective business. There are frequent warning signs: "We can envisage ...", "It is easy to picture ...", and so on. The author's sources for chronicling the Facebook phenomenon from Harvard dorm to international phenomenon are not detailed, though the particular acknowledgment for Eduardo Saverin, one half of the founding partnership, should be weighed against the admission that Mark Zuckerberg, the genius other half, consistently refused to co-operate. One can only trust that Mezrich's understanding of the twin worlds of programming and the Silicon Valley jungle is more reliable than his acquaintance with rowing - the Harvard eight at Henley in 2004 would not have been sculling.

With those reservations, The Accidental Billionaires can be recommended as a racy read. There are no heroes, merely a cast of greedy characters assiduously and deviously cutting each other's throats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mezrich but not as we know him, 12 July 2010
By 
Dr. B. C. Burrows "Prof Plums" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Interesting read, if only because we all know facebook.
Not as good as his other books which I highly recommend. To me the prose of this book was just not Mezrich, but perhaps that is because his reference methods had to be different for this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting account of how Facebook was born and some of the battles during its infancy, 21 Aug 2009
By 
J. H. R. Cornell (Guildford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ban Mezrich has written an enjoyable and easy to read account of how Facebook was started by an IT geek Mark Zuckerburg who was a student at Harvard.

The book chronicles the early growth and how the web site grows from being just for Harvard students through its expansion to having several million users.

Most of the book concentrates on the battles that Mark has with one of his co founders Eduardo Saverin, and a pair of other students who asked Mark to work on their web site who end up as Olympic rowers.

The main problem with the book is that Mark Zuckerburg declined to speak to the author about the book. So most of the material is going to have come from the people who are suing or who have sued Mark for what happened after the web site become ultra successful. There are large gaps after Mark leaves Harvard to live in California leaving his fellow co founder in Boston and then New York. The detailed narrative stops in 2005. The author acknowledges that he could not have written the book without Eduardo's help and when the main contributing source is a bitter as Eduardo is after his shareholding is diluted and he is shut out of the business, you have to be slightly sceptical.

The book ignores most of the reasons why Facebook became so successful and all of its recent history. There are a brief couple of pages on the outcome of some of the disputes but to me that's not really enough to give them justice.

The book is written in the same racy style as all of Ben Mezrich's former books, most of which are about gambling or finance. The author has admitted in the introduction that he has adapted some of the situations to make them more readable.

If you are looking for a serious financial history of Facebook, this probably won't be for you. If you are looking something less serious, more exciting and easy to read, this is probably for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story, 25 April 2010
By 
D. Neves (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an inspiring book!
I found it a bit uninteresting at the beginning, at least for people that doesn't know what's coming next, but it surprised me after a few pages!
Brilliant and I do understand why they're making a film of it! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull writer makes dull subject dull., 22 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: The Accidental Billionaires: Sex, Money, Betrayal and the Founding of Facebook (Kindle Edition)
Proof, if ever you needed it, that Aaron Sorkin is a genius. How he turned this dog of a book into something as entertaining and pitch-perfect as The Social Network is a mystery on par with the building of Stonehenge, the Marie Celeste or Justin Beiber. Combined.

Aside from the questionable approach where we get the inner thoughts of all the protagonists, the prose is so elementary and unengaging that it left me wondering if no one really read over properly before it went to print, least of all the author. Repetition of ideas and recaps rob the narrative thread of any pace it may have been building. For example, if we're told once that the Winklevoss twins were six five, we're told a thousand times. Anyone forgotten that Zuckerberg wears flip-flops or has a mop of curly hair in the last five pages? Don't worry, we'll go over that again soon.

It gets two stars rather than one because it at least doesn't try too hard to portray goodies and baddies but I honestly hope that a better account of the creation of Facebook comes along soon to dislodge this from its undeserving perch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written and Informative but lacking, 16 Jan 2011
By 
Jack Percival (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Accidental Billionaires: Sex, Money, Betrayal and the Founding of Facebook (Kindle Edition)
As someone who hasn't seen the film The Social Network [2010] I was interested to get a background to Facebook and the story of where it came from. Ben Mezrich has managed to turn what could have been a very ordinary tale into one of deception and betrayal. Having read this on Kindle, I was generally impressed however the book could do with some updating and significantly more detail on recently developments. Interesting but lacking updating and certainly no literary masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy to read summary of how facebook came about, 19 Oct 2010
Ben Mezrich's trade is writing about inaccessible subjects with such as easy reading style that his books become page turners. This one covers the founding of facebook, right from its conception in a Harvard dorm and the debate surrounding whether or not Mark Zuckerburg stole the idea from some classmates.

The book is not as good as some of Mezrich's others mainly because Mark Zuckerburg refused to contribute to the book. In 'Rigged', for example, or 'Bringing Down The House' you get far more of a sense of forbidden information because Mezrich is collaborating with a real insider. I'd recommend those books as better entertainment and they also have a better quality of information behind them, but if you're specifically interested in facebook then this book will still serve you well and give a good background overview - but take it with a little pinch of salt, you never really know what's true here and what's just good storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Great, 18 Nov 2010
Clearly the writer of this book didn't carry out very much research into what happened and you can clearly feel he is just making scenarios up to fill out the pages.
This book could have been 100pages shorter and still won't tell you anything you don't know already.
Watch The Social Network instead at least the film deals with the trial which this book just mentions in passing fancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whether true or not, a rattling good yarn for our times, 29 Aug 2009
By 
MAP (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this as a holiday read, as much for the insights into the clubs, cliques and rituals of Harvard as for the way that introverted geniuses with, it is suggested, poor social skills can be in the right place at the right time and become a billionaire in very short order, and there are more than a few flawed geniuses in here.

Whether one can discern fact from fiction, just don't take everything in here as gospel, but a good story nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accidental Billionaire, 10 Jan 2011
Quality of product excellent and came within a couple of days. The book however wasn't as exciting as I had imagined but a good read nevertheless. My advice would be to lower your expectations and you will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews