Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good quick read that survives the test of time
While some might see the carefree and idle lifestyle of Bertie Wooster as a bygone age it is surprising how familiar Wodehouse manages to put it over even almost ninety years on. The book seems a connected collection of short stories focussing on Bertie's troubles with his Aunt Agatha and an old school friend who is constantly falling in love.

Wodehouse's...
Published on 23 Sept. 2010 by Jim J-R

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great stories, lousy edition
Don't buy this edition (Amazon ref 1469971836, ISBN 9781469971834). It looks like a download from a royalty-free database, not even typeset, no Forward, nothing. It's not even clear who published it. Printed in the USA, and a complete rip-off.

I purchased this to give as a Christmas present, but I can't give something as shoddy as this.
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by Bunhill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inimitable indeed!, 9 Jun. 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing cheers me up like Wodehouse's Jeeves stories, and Bertie's friend Bingo, who falls in love with every girl he meets, is one of my favourite characters.

This book centres on Bingo's various amours, from the socialist revolutionary, via the bun-shop girl to even the formidable Honoria Glossop. Luckily Bingo has Bertie to smooth the path of true love, with the help, of course, of Jeeves' superior brain power.

A particular highlight, for me, in this book is Jeeves' pickpocketing of Soapy Sid - the man's talents are never-ending, it seems! Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meet a new friend, 5 Aug. 2010
By 
Having never read P G Wodehouse, I was very pleasantly surprised. Jeeves and Wooster are remarkable character even today. I find the writing enjoyable and delightful to read. Emmerse yourself in these delectable books. Funny and brilliantly contrived.
Although, there have been numerous recordings and television adaptations, I have not watched or heard any of them. I'm a reader first and foremost, if like me it is your passion to read then pick up this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wodehouse at his all-time finest, 26 May 2011
By 
Adam Croft (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite simply, this is the finest example of Wodehouse's work. The Inimitable Jeeves works perfectly as a standalone novel and as a collection of short escapades which can be quite reasonably read individually. The characters of Jeeves and Wooster come alive in this book, with Wodehouse's dry wit shining through to give a truly delightful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic copy and highly pleased with the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars P. G. Eisenhower. Need I say more ..., 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Inimitable Jeeves: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Jeeves & Wooster Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
P.G. Eisenhower. Need I say more! Top rate humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good narrator- he gets it exactly right!, 11 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
Jonathan Cecil is an extremely talented narrator of Jeeves and Wooster-stories. He is the absolute best at it. You're in for a treat listening to him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book in a long time, 8 July 2011
Best book I've read in a very long time. Only trouble was I knew what was coming having seen the TV series. Didn't stop me enjoying it though. I will be buying more of the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, 22 Nov. 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Inimitable Jeeves (Paperback)
These stories involving Bertie and his travails with the love life of Bingo Little are still on top form, but they read as short stories and I much prefer the uninterrupted narrative flow of the other Wodehouse novels. Wodehouse's strength is in his ability to smoothly manipulate the most complicated plot relationships over the length of an entire novel. In their crudest form the novels are farce, but his authorial skill elevates them into classic comic literature. The short story form doesn't do him credit. Read the other novels and see him at his best. Having said that this is still very funny work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The inimitable Jeeves by P.G. Wodehouse audiobook read by Martin Jarvis, 2 Jun. 2010
incredibly funny stories about a young rather silly toff and his much cleverer butler (jeeves) who keeps rescuing him genially from all sorts of social diseasters.
i love this audio version as martin jarvis is able to put on a whole host of voices reading the stories : scary aunts, workingclass revolutionaries, sponging highclass friends, insipid girls - he can do them all and have me crying with laughter while stuck in a traffic jam on my way to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 7 Dec. 2010
Some of the later dramatic incarnations of Jeeves seemed to miss the point that Jeeves is not supposed to sound as if he's a posher man from an even posher background then Bertie himself. This dramatisation, however, sounds close to spot-on to me: Richard Briers is hugely amusing as Bertie Wooster, and Michael Horden is very good as Jeeves, too. The whole production is extremely well done, and is an absolute treat to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews