Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another High Speed Page Turner!
I have just completed this book. As usual it is descriptive and authoritively written. There are no guesses at procedures or places, everything is plausible and based on reality. The actions and drills described are all very precise and accurate as you would expect from someone with AM's background. He has certainly stayed in touch with things since leaving the Regiment...
Published on 2 Nov 2004 by Mr. J. Murphy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not on a par with previous novels
I finished Deep Black last night and was a tad disappointed. I've read all of Andy McNab's Nick Stone series of novels and this was the most difficult to get through as it just didn't pull me into the action. Dark Winter had to be finished in one sitting because it was so gripping and tense and after finishing that book I was in a daze trying to comprehend all that had...
Published on 3 Jan 2005


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another High Speed Page Turner!, 2 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. J. Murphy "johhnymurph" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Black (Hardcover)
I have just completed this book. As usual it is descriptive and authoritively written. There are no guesses at procedures or places, everything is plausible and based on reality. The actions and drills described are all very precise and accurate as you would expect from someone with AM's background. He has certainly stayed in touch with things since leaving the Regiment over 10 years ago. McNab's squaddie sense of humour really comes across well and I found myself regularly sniggering at little remarks and phrases.
As with nearly all of Andy's books this is one that can easily be read in one or two sittings. I did it in two. It's a great story and the author takes you right to the heart of the locations that he's describing.
The knowledge that AM shows of culture's and practices show he is no thick squaddie and are testament to what the army did for him when you consider his humble background.
The plot is a good one and an eye opener to some of the murky mentality of our so called 'right' way of thinking in the Western world.
One observation of the book is that it has over 100 chapters, it's not harmful to the plot, and comes in handy when wanting to stop to make a cuppa, but it's not a style I'm too familiar with.
All in all an excellent book and, as with Dark Winter back to the more familiar McNab / Stone formula.
A highly recommended read for any action fan.
Only problem is we have to wait until next year for the next instalment of Nick Stone's escapades..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO ONE DOES IT BETTER, 30 Oct 2004
This review is from: Deep Black (Hardcover)
dark winter left me thinking what would happen to Nick stone. As deep black starts you get the impression stone should be dead, well he was thinking of 'topping' himself.nick stone is a very lonley and depressed man with nothing to live for and a heavy burden of guilt. until a man he saved ten years ago throws him a lifeline which in stones eyes isen't much until he realizes that his life is gradually sorting itself out in a place he calls home;baghdad.from its rock hard start you are grabbed by the neck and restrained into a posistion which you feel as though you are stone through the hardship of espionage and brute strenghth.when you finally read the ending you'll be stunned stiff at what mcnab conjures out of nothing.the book ends and so to does................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deep words, a deep read .... Deep Black, 18 Aug 2005
By 
Alex Elliott (Merthyr Tydfil, Mid Glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Andy McNab's form just gets better. This book contains the usual of all what we have come to expect and like of Andy McNab. But it's good to see his form get better as he more deeply explores the emotions of his characters. Turning an action story into a more explosive character analysis of those that would perpetrate evil. The book has a great pace and a great crescendo. Sometimes the book makes you want to be Nick Stone, and other times you're glad you aren't.
I also like his expose of current events in Bosnia etc. that don't quite make our newspapers. You can tell this man was a British Soldier due to his snipes at the Yanks which always make me laugh. This is a good read, it disappoints in some ways but that's only because Andy is not a literary genius, but he is a great storyteller and agent provocateur. Can't wait for The Aggressor in November !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 1 Sep 2005
By A Customer
Never having read this kind of book I was pleasantly surprised. Andy Mcnab hasn't given us a james bond super human hero but an unfit, troubled and often clumsy one. The only weakness is in the reasoning behind his main characters' actions. They seem a little glossed over. I can't say anymore than that without ruining plot lines. Other than that if you want a gritty adventure with the occasional advert for Casio then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not on a par with previous novels, 3 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep Black (Hardcover)
I finished Deep Black last night and was a tad disappointed. I've read all of Andy McNab's Nick Stone series of novels and this was the most difficult to get through as it just didn't pull me into the action. Dark Winter had to be finished in one sitting because it was so gripping and tense and after finishing that book I was in a daze trying to comprehend all that had happened. This latest outing by Nick Stone starts well, but drifts in the middle and finally picks up again in the last 10 chapters when you find out how George is involved again.
Deep Black has been my least favoured Andy McNab novel to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is this the weakest link...., 9 July 2007
By 
C. Jones "Jonesen" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read every McNab book up to this point, I can comfortably say that this is the weakest, it develops well throughout most of the book (Good characters, vivid descriptive narative etc)until the last 20% of the book, where he seems to have lost his train of thought and forgotten how he intended to end the book, leading to a very unsatisfying fizzle instead of the usual bang. If you want to read a really good McNab book, try Crisis Four, Remote control or Liberation day....avoid this one, it adds nothing to the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy McNab does it again, 14 Aug 2005
By 
S. Smith "meesterboom" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Contrary to some other reviews I thought this book was excellent. It is darker and things do look bad indeed for Nick Stone, but that is what McNab does best and fans of his wil surely not be expecting a happy ending. Also you dont have to worry that there will be another one as the paperback tells you there is one on thew way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another excellent McNab, 27 July 2005
Like all the other Nick Stone books Deep Black follows the same plot lines. Detailed planning followed by it all going wrong.
The book takes a slightly different tack on the Islamic fundamentalist enemy, with Nick Stone trying to locate a new Islamic leader who is intent on fighting a consumer war rather than a killing war.
Nick travels to Baghdad and then on to Sarajevo.
The details about the Baghdad and Sarajevo streets are both very informative and very interesting. The description of the difference of the US soldiers deployed at the different locations is quite amusing.
The twists and turns as always keep you turning pages till the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best, 20 July 2005
By 
Joe "I'm basically massively lazy and would n... (YORK, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having first read crisis four and thoroughly enjoyed it, I preceeded to read all of the McNab books in the Nick Stone series. After reading all the books I was eagerly awaiting the next installment 'Deep Black'. However, to be honest I was a little disappointed by it. It lacked to pace of the previous books, and I didn't feel able to get into the characters as well, finding the book, as a whole, rather depressing. But then I suppose that is to be expected with the loss of someone close to Nick at the end of 'Deep Winter'. So in conclusion, I don't feel this book is on the same level as the others in the series, but it is still a must read if you are keen to follow the Nick Stone saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A big disappointment, 4 Jan 2005
This review is from: Deep Black (Hardcover)
Unfortunately, the other reviews herein have prompted me to write my review.
Firstly, I am a big McNab fan and have enthusiastically bought and read all his work from Bravo Two-Zero onwards. McNab must be praised for the creation of this story's protagonist Nick Stone and his unique, hard-hitting prose.
The first three-quarters of the book was quite boring, tainted by weak characterisation, poor dialogue and dragged down by a impenetrable plot, which in truth was poorly told and seemed to lack any cohesion or sense. I almost binned it... but persistence is its own reward and my enjoyment was somewhat rekindled by last quarter of the book, where the action really kicked-off. However just as it seemed to be getting good it ended quite suddenly (almost in mid-sentence).
I think the book was rushed to meet the Xmas market and also seems to have lacked a good editor to draw together the various plots and sub-plots. For example, McNab's use of flash-backs seemed to detract from the main story unlike in McNab's previous work where they added genuine flavour and development to his characters.
In summary, probably McNab's weakest work to-date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Black: (Nick Stone Book 7)
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews