Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pink And Black Attack
I bought this book as a First Edition from Canada. It cost me a few quid but it is simply the best wrestling book ever written. A first hand account of what life is like on the road for a wrestler.

You will laugh, you will cry and some of it you will be shocked by. Has some great stories from Bret's time wrestling for his Dad in Canada. His time in the WWE...
Published on 22 Jun 2008 by A. Thomas

versus
7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Massive Ego Stroke from the Hitman
This remains one of the hardest books I've had to get through, primarily because it's from a one person POV, which is Bret's, so although he reveals quite a bit of himself in this book, that's not to say it was a good thing, in fact it wasn't for me because most, if not all of the less than savoury reveals he made of himself he excused himself of them. For instance, his,...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by Blindbadger


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pink And Black Attack, 22 Jun 2008
By 
A. Thomas (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book as a First Edition from Canada. It cost me a few quid but it is simply the best wrestling book ever written. A first hand account of what life is like on the road for a wrestler.

You will laugh, you will cry and some of it you will be shocked by. Has some great stories from Bret's time wrestling for his Dad in Canada. His time in the WWE (indepth look at the famous screwjob). To his time in WCW and after his retirement.

If you are a wrestling fan then this is a must read book. Still worth a read though to learn about a Canadian Hero. Overall a great insight to a wrestling legand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and Moving, 24 May 2009
By 
Mr. S. Pike "sim2k" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitman (Hardcover)
While I was growing up in the eighties and early nineties Bret Hart was a real hero to me. I loved his style and his physique and even at that young age I think I appreciated his character as a hard worker who always gave his best and earned every win he got. However, due to my interest in wrestling gradually waning over the years it wasn't until recently that I saw the Hitman documentary "Wrestling With Shadows".

This was a real eye opener to me on the whole 'Montreal Screwjob' scenario that I had only really heard of in passing before, and as a result when I learned that Bret's open and honest autobiography was about to be released I ordered it straight away, and I must say that this book is fascinating.

Early on the book seems like an extremely honest but somewhat by-the-numbers wrestling autobiography, in which Bret describes starting out with his brothers and later Jim Neidhart, Dynamite Kid and Davey Boy Smith, and he is very open about the drugs and sex and real violence that followed them around throughout their early tours.

The antics described in much of the first half of the book will shock and quite possibly appall some readers, and certainly shattered a few of my childhood illusions, but Bret still comes across as a good guy trying to do his best in a world full of temptations (and I believe him). The real beauty of the chronicling of Bret's fledging career though comes in the foreshadowing of world famous events down the line, such as early encounters with Vince McMahon and Shawn Michaels, and Bret's lovingly written memories of his late brother Owen, all of which make sure that you can't help but keep reading.

The take on the infamous screwjob is even more enlightening than the documentary previously mentioned, and gives an extremely interesting insight into all the figures involved. As well as this we are given fascinating behind-the-scenes glimspes into the day to day personalities of some of the most famous men in wrestling history, and to wrestling enthusiasts of around my age the inside info on superstars like Mick Foley, Steve Austin, The Rock, Triple H and The Undertaker is priceless.

The back cover of the book makes a big thing about the betrayals by Vince, Shawn, Bret's own family and more, but I think its really worth mentioning the tales of heartwarming comradeship that are told as well, which really moved me at times.

There are very deep insights into the lives of some of the wrestlers around Bret as well, so fans of Dynamite Kid, Davey Boy Smith and many others should really give it a read too, not to mention Shawn Michaels fans, who might learn something interesting about their idol!

Of course this is all only Bret's side of the story, so readers are free to draw their own conclusions...

In all I can heartily recommend this book to anyone with even a passing interest in wrestling as it is very well paced, emotively written, and a deeply fascinating insight into a strange and often brutal business. It didn't release me from its hold until I'd read it from cover to cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best there is., 7 April 2009
By 
J. Tuckett (Sheffield . England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitman (Hardcover)
If you like Bret Hart or not,this is a compulsive read from the early days in Canada in his father's promotions to Japan and climbing the ladder in the then W.W,F. to the debacle of W.C.W. This is one of the best biographies I have read.Blisteringly honest with funny,sad and tragic memories.Do yourself a favour and buy this book.You will not be dissapointed.The original draft was double the size of the finished book. More to come perhaps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book ever about wrestling, 14 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Hitman (Hardcover)
Bret Hart's long-awaited autobiography, Hitman, is undoubtedly the best book ever written about wrestling. For those of you unfamiliar with professional wrestling, Bret Hart was one of its biggest stars in the nineties, capturing five WWF (now WWE) world titles amongst others. His career spanned almost a quarter of a century, he became one of Canada's most famous sons and he toured the world doing what he was always destined to do.

Bret was born into wrestling. His father, Stu, was a famous promoter who ran Stampede Wrestling in Canada and trained a number of famous wrestling stars. One of 12 children, Bret, like most of his siblings, quickly found himself entwined in the business.

Although Bret reached the top of his profession and enjoyed fame and riches beyond his dreams, he endured some tragic events during that time, most notably the death of his brother, Owen, in an accident at a WWF pay-per-view.

In fact, Hart's book is tinged with sadness as, chapter by chapter, more and more of the book's characters fall victim to the grim reaper - thanks, in many cases, to the over-whelming effect of the lifestyles they led in a bid for glory in the ring.

Hart's book is a riveting behind-the-scenes look at the world of professional wrestling, told with an honesty and frankness that earns my respect.

If you like wrestling, then this book is a must-read. If you watched The Wrestler and are curious about what life as a wrestler is really like, then again you must read this book. At 592 pages, it's a long read but I would gladly have read another 592 pages. Some events are glossed over (the controversial death of Chris Benoit only gets a mention) and, like most autobiographies, it really only gets going when Bret hits the big time, but Hitman is one of the must-read autobiographies of 2009. An instant classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best there is., 3 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Hitman (Hardcover)
This book is devestatingly good from start to finish. As "modern fans" of wrestling, we know that wrestling isn't "real", but most of us realise that the action in them rings still hurts and costs the wrestlers. You just have no idea how much. This book will take you on a heart wrenching journey to a point where can begin to understand just how much the wrestling industry takes from people year in, year out.

Every word of this tale is well thought out and to the point. You feel the pain, the joy, everything that Bret Hart has lived through.

Few wrestling books can claim to be great, and none have ever come close to Mick Foleys first autobiograhpy "have a nice day". That is untill now.
Quite simply, the best wrestling book there is, the best there was, the best there ever will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best There Is!!!! EVER, 11 Jun 2009
By 
Fruity (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hitman (Hardcover)
As the title suggests this is THE best wrestling autobiography i have ever read and believe me i have quite a collection of them now. I didnt think that any would be able to beat Mick Foleys first but this totally blows it out of the water!!

It has everything from his early days in Stampede Wrestling all through to the infamous Montreal Screw Job engineered by Vince McMahon and through to his stroke and beyond.

I always looked at the Hart family and thought they were totally together but this book proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that looks can be very deceiving. With stories of backstabbing, betrayal and money worries, if you didnt know better you would think it was a soap opera.

Bret talks about other wrestlers with brutal honesty especially guys such as Davey Boy Smith, The Dynamite Kid and all the other guys that had problems along the way - none of it is sugar coated!!!
And i was very surprised to hear how "naughty" he was when he was away on tour - somehow i never had him pegged as that sort of bloke :-)

He also deals very well with what happened with Owen and all the aftermath with the Hart family and the bitching from them.

I love the fact that Bret made a diary along the way through his career because the detail in this book is quite staggering and any young up and coming wrestlers would be clever to do the same!

This is quite simply THE BEST THERE IS, THE BEST THERE WAS AND THE BEST THERE EVER WILL BE when it comes to wrestling biography's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best There Was, The Best There Is And The Best There Ever Will Be...., 25 April 2009
By 
G. J. Davies "tydal_wolf" (West Midlands - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hitman (Hardcover)
This book by far is the best wrestling autobiography I have ever read.

From Hart's childhood, straight through to his forced retirement through injury and then a heartbreaking, ongoing recovery from a stroke, this book has it all.

Throughout the book, Hart also relives the many friends and his brother Owen who lost their lives in the spotlight of fame.

I couldn't put it down once I started reading it.

I have read biographies by Edge, Hogan, Shawn Michaels, Batista and Stone Cold Steve Austin, but not one really touched on the real, dirty, gritty and sometimes cruel, wrestling world that Bret Hart exposes in equal humour or sadness.

Buy this book and it will not disappoint....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Excellence Of Execution...and then some!!, 3 July 2009
By 
M. BROWN "browny72" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitman (Hardcover)
This has gotta be the best autobiography I have read for a very long time!!!!

I was a massive WWF fan back in the day, went to Summerslam '92 when Hart fought the Bulldog and loved everything that was wrestling. Haven't really been into it for ages but picked this book up for a bit of a nostalgia trip...I'm glad I did!!

There is so much included in this book every page is as exciting as the last..from the infamous Hart Dungeon, to the Stampede days, through to WWF and WCW. Bret Hart seems to try and give an honest account of everything he encountered, what he went through, the endless ego's he had to deal with, the best wrestlers he ever worked with, and watching endless wrestlers lose their lives to drugs, injuries etc.

What comes across in this book is how much of his life (both ups and downs) he has put into this book. I really enjoyed being reminded about some things that I'd forgotten and also learning new things (Davey Boy Smith was a crackhead!!). I didn't realise how much he was respected (Ok I only have his word to go by, but I think he is pretty honest) by other wrestlers and how much he had to work as he wasn't naturally pumped or used steroids, like the Warrior or Hogan.

All in all, I would definately recommend this book to any wrestling fans, whether you used to like it or whether you are still an avid fan its well worth your hard earned!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 10 May 2009
By 
M. Gardiner (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitman (Hardcover)
This book has been described as 'the best wrestling book ever'...and I have to say I completely agree. From cover to cover, you enter the captivating world of wrestling through the eyes of the legendary Bret Hart. You will get a taste of the hardship, the excitement...plus the emotional and physical strain of a life as a wrestler. Laugh with humourous stories from his youth...then shed a tear through the heartbreak of the death of some of his closest friends and family.
Read about masses of famous and not so famous wrestlers from past years. Learn about the pain and sometimes impossible decisions needed to be made as a successful wrestling star.
Bret Hart's book will leave you humbled and amazed...this is one book that will need to be prized from your fingertips. It really is that good!
Buy it and believe me...you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insight into the wrestling world. Honest and humble., 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: Hitman (Paperback)
Even though Bret Hart wasn't my favourite wrestler back in the day his book is probably the best book to read to get some insight into the wrestling world. Bret really gives an honest account of his life all over the world in the territories including Japan, England, Germany the WWF/WCW and Stampede Wrestling. Along the way you will get great a great understanding of people like Tom Billington (Dynamite Kid),Hogan, Vince, Savage, Flair, Shawn Michaels, British Bulldog and Brets own family. Lots of wrestlers have demons in the form of somas or steroids, alcohol abuse or painkillers but Bret suffered demons through his relationships, family, and decisions.

If you want a real account of life behind WWF/WWE doors then this is the book for you. This isn't a watered down WWE production book made by WWE propagandist writers but a real good slice of life behind WWF doors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews