Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Doctor Who novel. Simply essential
No other race of beings have caused the Doctor as much pain as the Daleks. If they're not torturing him physically and emotionally, they're spreading their horror and destruction throughout the whole of creation, utterly relentless and unforgiving in their pursuit of total domination. No matter how many times they're defeated, they always return and survive to plague the...
Published on 14 Nov 2009 by R. Wood

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the better stories
All of these 9th and 10th Doctor novels are written for children, so for an adult or teen they're just a quick, fun read. This one's not quite so young because there weren't any animals, robots or even furniture coming alive or acting like humans. It's a straightforward humans versus daleks story, which was a relief. If BBC are listening, though...an adult range would...
Published on 27 April 2009 by Taswegian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Doctor Who novel. Simply essential, 14 Nov 2009
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
No other race of beings have caused the Doctor as much pain as the Daleks. If they're not torturing him physically and emotionally, they're spreading their horror and destruction throughout the whole of creation, utterly relentless and unforgiving in their pursuit of total domination. No matter how many times they're defeated, they always return and survive to plague the Time Lord, his loved ones and the universe forever and ever. He lost his people and home world of Gallifrey to them in the Time War, he lost both his soul mate Rose Tyler and his best mate/big sister Donna Noble fighting them...

They are unquestionably his greatest enemies. Because as the Doctor himself has said, "They survive. They ALWAYS survive, while I lose everything."

In the 2009 series of Doctor Who novels, we have Prisoner of the Daleks by Trevor Baxendale. Taking place after the tragic Journey's End, this is set in the twilight year of the Tenth Doctor. For the first time in a long time, he is truly alone with no companion, friends or family to comfort him. With Davros, Caan and the Dalek race presently presumed completely destroyed, the Doctor finds himself trapped in a moment of history before the Time War. The Dalek Empire is rapidly growing in power, locked in fierce war with the human race. Before long, the Doctor finds himself caught-up in the conflict with a pack of Dalek bounty hunters...and a terrifying, insidious scheme that threatens to unravel everything the Doctor ever knew.

Hands down, Prisoner of the Daleks is the greatest Doctor Who novel I have ever read. There have been a lot of cracking tales in this series of hardbacks but Baxendale has delivered here in a way no other author has, and it's not just because the Daleks are here to whet fans' appetites. Baxendale has written a gripping and major story, complete with a total and faithful understanding of everything the word 'Dalek' means.

Aside from being action-filled, the novel is complete with plenty of tension, horrors and terrific scares. It's certainly one of the darkest and more violent Who novels that's been written and like any good Dalek story, there's tremendous pain, sacrifice and heartfelt losses for the Doctor and all involved as they try to overcome the raging, virtually invincible Dalek machine.

In terms of writing style, Trevor Baxendale is a real expert. His narrative and pacing are perfect. The plot and characters develop naturally and comfortably, gradually unravelling to reveal so many wonderful layers to everything present. It's a magnificent adventure that spans across the universe with the circumstances revealing all to be what they truly are. The journey is made all the more satisfying, thanks to Baxendale's brilliant vocabulary and dialogue, touching upon so much on morals and humanity, and some terrific, subtle references/nods to major notable events in Dalek history, like `Dalek', `The Dalek Invasion of Earth', `Genesis of the Daleks', `The Chase' and `Remembrance of the Daleks' (to name only a few).

The whole spirit of both the Doctor and the Daleks has been captured perfectly by the writer. Naturally, the Tenth Doctor is the heart and soul of the story and you can really feel for him here. Feeling so alone and longing for someone like Martha or Donna, knowing that his actions here before the Time War could jeopardize the future, his helplessness at times in face of the Daleks and his reluctant human allies, and his morals and ideals being sorely tested. Yet somehow managing to maintain his excellent humour and optimism, as well as being the courageous genius throughout who refuses to cave in.

The Daleks are once again shown to be the ultimate antagonists with their cold ruthlessness, their immense power and lethal ability, their dangerous cunning and intellect, and the enormous fascination they radiate. One can wonder how they could have been used so well for this story, but Baxendale has done just that. The plot is typical Dalek desire to conquer time and space, full of dark, credible machinations and high stakes. Even though the future is known, it doesn't alter the high stakes here in any way. As such, it makes the plot truly believable and more intense.

The Daleks' callous disregard for all non-Dalek life still makes them all the more despicable and effective villains. The reader will once again wonder how one survive, let alone stand against them. Baxendale also presents wonderful insights into more Dalek philosophy and individuality through Dalek X, the primary antagonist of the story that matches the same notoriety of the Dalek Emperor, the Supreme Dalek and the Cult of Skaro.

And finally, the supporting cast. The author has once again succeeded here, making each one of the Dalek bounty hunters someone to really care about. Jon Bowman, Koral, Cuttin' Edge, Scrum and Stella all have wonderful distinctive depth and identity to call their own. Each have their own chemistry and relationship with each other, the Doctor and the Daleks, making for some absolutely excellent interaction all-round. There are many heartbreaks as the story unfolds, which again speaks highly of Baxendale's ability to rattle the reader to the very core.

I can't fault this novel. I really can't. Doctor Who: Prisoner of the Daleks is absolutely essential for all fans. What makes the read even more amazing is that it makes one wonder what a televised version of this brilliant story would be like. I'd definitely be up for it. If you can only get ONE Doctor Who novel, it would have to be this one without any hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU ARE A PRISONER OF THE DALEKS!, 12 April 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A new doctor who novel. telling a story not seen on tv. featuring the tenth doctor on his own. characterised perfectly well enough for you to have no problem imagining david tennant saying the dialogue. complete in 251 pages. and suitable for readers of all ages.

the story involves the doctor finding himself in a time somewhen before the time war, with humans and daleks in the middle of an intergalactic war. he finds himself stranded with a group of humans who hunt daleks for a living. and they find themselves caught up in a dalek plot that places the future of the space time continuum at risk. literally.

long term fans may find the style of this familiar as it contains a lot of the elements that dalek creator terry nation would have in his stories. a group of tough humans and a humanoid alien. desolate planets. space battles. humans becoming prisoners of the daleks. cunning dalek plans. dalek spaceships. lots of explosions. and a chilling coda that suggests the daleks arent gone for good.

this book contains all of those, and yet it's done so well it's never cliched and that's all part of the charm. the human and humanoid characters are all quite well rounded and have believable motivations. it also brings in the moral questions that the show would often raise, not least whether killing or torturing daleks makes you any better than them.

all of this makes it a real page turner. and the daleks are also done very well. they do some very nasty things that are well in keeping with their character. and in a nice touch the book uses a different typeset for their dialogue.

those familiar with terry nations work will also spot a sneaky reference to a planet from his other show blake's 7. which was a nice touch.

a hugely enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Doctor Who book out there - bar none!, 23 Nov 2010
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Length:: 1:49 Mins

How could any Doctor Who fan not like a story about the Tenth Doctor joining forces with a small but ruthless crew of Dalek hunters as he once again takes on his most iconic & deadly foe? Somehow he has arrived just before the Time War began, so has an opportunity to do a lot of good. But as you can tell from the title, things don't exactly go smoothly...

It has all the usual elements of a good Who story - seemingly unstoppable enemies, sonic screwdrivering aplenty, quirky lines & the Doctor preaching morality to his allies as they go about killing & torturing the creatures who slaughtered their families. Yet it doesn't seem clichéd or repetitive at all. It's actually very compelling & adds a lot of background to the Daleks, while remaining completely faithful to the Whoniverse. For instance, we are told that at full power, a Daleks' gun can atomise a human instantly but instead they use just enough energy to kill them over a couple of seconds, inflaming the nervous system & inflicting the maximum amount of pain on their victims. Social workers they ain't. However, its main strength has to be the continual battle of wits between The Doctor & his plunger-bearing foes as they lay subtle traps for each other like chess grandmasters, where you're never quite sure who's fooling who. Forget sci-fi shows from times gone by where supposedly intelligent characters do incredibly daft things to enable the hero to win - here the Daleks represent a believable threat.

Trevor Baxendale's writing is superb. I've tried a few Doctor Who audiobooks & much as I hate to say it, most seem to be derivative cash-ins, nowhere near up to the standard of the TV series. But this tears strips off the awful Winston Churchill episodes with the Alpha Romeo Dalek Mark II's - what a pity they didn't film this instead.

I listened to the audiobook version (which is unabridged BTW, running to approx. 5 hours) & Nicholas Briggs' voice is spot on. As the voice of the Daleks in the TV series, here he really brings them to life, their loud, imperious screech making me jump every time it came through my speakers. Not only that but being the producer of all the Doctor Who audio output, he knows a few things about narration, perfectly capturing David Tennant's speech patterns. In this case, I would definitely recommend the audio version over the text - it really adds something quite special.

This is an extremely enjoyable, faithful Doctor Who story, with action & moral questions aplenty. If you're looking to get into the Doctor Who books & audiobooks, start here - with the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prisoner of the Daleks, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another in the series of novels which have been previously published and which are now being re-published in the Monster Collection series of Doctor Who novels. This book was first published in 2009 so is one of the more recent novels in the Monster Collection re-issues.

The Tenth Doctor is travelling on his own. When the Tardis lands apparently of its own volition on a deserted world the Doctor is at first annoyed, then typically decides to have a scout about – after all, curiosity is one of his more endearing characteristics, isn’t it? But his adventure looks like it might be over before it starts, as he gets locked in an abandoned building. Meanwhile, the Wayfarer spaceship with its crew of Dalek hunters is looking for somewhere to refuel out on the edges of the frontier borders. Coincidentally, there’s a refueling station on the planet where the Doctor is trapped, but they don’t know that yet.

This is a great story; set quite late in the Tenth Doctor’s incarnation, he finds himself back further in time than he first anticipated, before the Time War and at the time when the great Dalek Wars with Earth’s Empire are taking place. This is a time and place where men and women live and die fighting the Daleks, only this time the Daleks think they’ve found the perfect way to win the war.

David Tennant’s Doctor is very well characterised in this work; he has great charisma and empathy, abhors violence of all kinds, and is frenetic in his attempts to sort out what he can see are the great wrongs being done around him. The other characters are also well drawn. The crew of the Wayfarer are all misfits in their own ways, and we find ourselves drawn into their stories. The Daleks are suitably single-minded in their focus on being the superior race, and Dalek X is a nice touch in this story. I really enjoyed this story, it’s well set up and well executed. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiring Dalek Tale, 23 Mar 2014
By 
G. K. Griffiths (Wolverhampton, West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From the synopsis that I read of this story, this sounded like a story unlike many other Doctor Who books in the BBC Books line. This sounded like a story that Trevor Baxendale had written and meant it to be a really dark and serious story. If that was the intention, it was achieved with flying colours.

Chronologically, the story takes place in 2009, during the year in which the 10th Doctor travelled with no companion. The Doctor ends up travelling with a small but fiery group of Dalek Bounty Hunters, after a Dalek attack. Whilst travelling with them, the crew ends up with the ultimate prize of a bounty hunter, a inactive Dalek prisoner. Against the Doctor's wishes, the crew slice through the Dalekanium casing in an attempt to try and interrogate the creature inside.

The interrogation takes place about a 1/4 of the way through the book and the writing is of platinum quality. We need to remember that the Daleks have haunted the Doctor all of his life and attempted to destroy his homeworld. Despite all of this, the Doctor is still able to find compassion for the Dalek and tries to stop the crew from torturing it. Even when the Doctor shows mercy for the creature, the Dalek is uninterested and simply tries to aggrevate the Doctor. Every line is one to be impressed by during these scenes.

After the now-dead Dalek reveals a hint about the Dalek Empire's plan, the Doctor and the crew travel to a planet destroyed by the Daleks. There, the Doctor discovers what they are up to. However, the Doctor and the crew also end up as prisoners of the Daleks. Part of the crew are taken as slaves. Some of the writing here reminded me of scenes from the 1979 story "Destiny of the Daleks". In both stories, we see the Daleks deliberately using humans to mine through the rocks, because they relish in seeing humans suffer.

Meanwhile, the Daleks bring in the members of the high council to deal with the Doctor. It is hear we are introduced to Dalek X. Trevor Baxendale's creation can definitely be seen as a deadly one, even the other Daleks tremble at Dalek X. At the end of the story, Dalek X is still able to remain cold and calculating. The ending of the story truly is one to ponder about and fits with the rest of the story.

In conclusion, Prisoner of the Daleks is a masterpiece from BBC Books, it truly is. I would go as far to say that I would have prefered to see this story televised compared to some other new series Dalek stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissible Dalek Adventure On Audio, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This novel by Author Trevor Baxendale is a Dalek novel for BBC books which has been adapted for audio & narrated by voice of the Daleks & execute producer of Big Finish Productions Nicolas Briggs.

The plot is a good one as Earth are battling the forces of a Dalek invasion & as the Tenth Doctor arrives in the Tardis on a Starhip on the frontline of the ongoing Dalek battle.

The Doctor helps a team of Bounty Hunters in there attempt to capture a Dalek which they do successfully as the Bounty Hunters plan on interrogating the Dalek who is seemingly deemed powerless, As the Bounty Hunters are to be paid handsomely for ever Dalek they capture.

But as the Daleks are ruthless & manipulate creatures all isn't as it first appears to be & soon the tables are turned on the Timelord as the Doctor becomes a prisoner of the Daleks.

This is a Dalek adventure that acknowledges why the Daleks are a major threat to the universe as this story has huge Dalek battles & yet there is a moral dilemma to this story as the Bounty Hunters resort to torturing a captured Dalek makes for a intriguing scenario as it brings up the moral code of human nature that are we any better than the Daleks.

The Doctor is exellently written here as Baxendale writes a morally conflicted Tenth Doctor who can't interfere as much as he'd like as these event's are set before the Time war yet here we see a solo Doctors morals & judgment tested to the full & this would've made a great Tv 2 parter as it would've given David Tennant some exellent scenes to perform as a conflicted Timelord.

This is narrated by the exellent Nicolas Briggs whom is also on Dalek voicing duties here & gives a exellent narrative flow to the story.

This is a exellent adventure thats superbly narrated & is one of the better Dalek adventures written as the author Trevor Baxendale delivers a fully rounded character driven action packed emotional story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One I can read over and over again, 10 April 2010
By 
Doctor Who books are usually very light and easy read for me, like simple adventures not been filmed. This book however is not like that. There's depth between the lines that I've never read in any other DW book before. It's also quite dark, very dark, shuddering even in places (young children may get scared). I couldn't put it down, turned page after page. All characters are excellently written and the plot very well woven. I was especially amazed at how spot on the Tenth Doctor is, his lines, gestures and reactions among the best I've ever encountered (TV episodes included). David Tennant would have had a challenge and a blast with such a script!

For me, an adult fan, this is so far the only DW book I look forward to reading over and over again. I cannot recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DALEKS ARE BACK, IN FORCE!, 29 May 2009
By 
M. Pye "north western fells" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first new series noval to feature the daleks, apart from 'I am a Dalek', but this is many times more better.
Plot: The tardis jumps timetracks and the doctor ends up fighting the pre-time war dalek empire, with the whole of time at stake...
Of the novels that I've read, this is the best one. It's far more darker than the other novels, and the tv series for that matter. It has the daleks more as they were in the classic series. Evil, as in Nazi evil, and coming up with huge, complex scemes for Universal comquest. The interrigation scene is quite gruesome, and the are plenty of references to previous stories for the fans. There are, in my opinion, no drawbacks. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Doctor Who novels, 10 Mar 2014
This is a great Dalek tale, one of the best that is not based upon a televised story. The plot isn’t particularly original – the Daleks are being typical Daleks and the Doctor is incarcerated several times until he manages to outwit his foes and save the day. However, these things are done exceptionally well. The Daleks are best at their most threatening. In this novel they are deliciously deadly and malicious, particularly Dalek X (what a great name for a Dalek). The author portrays a might Dalek Empire that threatens to sweep across the universe.

But what is particularly good about this novel are the disturbing parallels it draws between how humans and Daleks both treat their prisoners of war. The author goes to some lengths to portray the Dalek’s evil nature. There are references to how they tune their guns to the most agonising setting and many examples of their callous treatment of their work slaves. Furthermore, Dalek X seems to take pleasure from interrogating and torturing his victims. But the Daleks’ treatment of their prisoners is really no worse than the way a group of predominantly human bounty hunters torture a Dalek.

The novel also gives us an example of the results of deploying an Osterhagen Key, which originally appeared in Stolen Earth/Journey’s End. It is a memorable and effective image and a shame we don’t get to see it on the television (that would involve some amazing CGI).

The author has the Tenth Doctor spot on. His allies in this novel are a group of bounty hunters that hunt down Daleks for a living. They are a ruthless, tough and varied bunch, and the Doctor doesn’t exactly approve of them. There are some well written characters amongst them and their leader, Bowman, has something of the Abslom Daak about him.

In many Doctor Who novels where the Doctor doesn’t have a regular companion with him he seems to adopt an honorary companion for the duration of the adventure. From almost the outset that seems to be the case with this novel. But this doesn’t work out and we are left with a situation where the Doctor can’t have the ally he wants and has to make do. This makes for an interesting change and says something about how the Doctor chooses companions.

Dalek X is a brilliant antagonist. He is a Dalek with a lot of presence and his own distinct character. There is some great dialogue between him and the Doctor and his role in the Dalek Empire as Inquisitor General possesses connotations of the Spanish Inquisition. He is definitely a Dalek who should somehow re-appear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Audio Pleasure, 14 Feb 2010
By 
Grimreaper (Eastbourne, ESussex,UK) - See all my reviews
I love Doctor Who especially the old Tom Baker era and read most of the target books when young. This was my first Doctor Who audio book that i had ever listened to. It is based on the latest Doctor and his struggle with a certain Nemesis. I wasnt expecting too much from these CD's but i was absolutly blown away with the performance of the reader. His charecter voices were all distinct and they were brought to life in my imagination( his Daleks of course are spot on )- but best of all this is a really superb story- why this was never made for television i have no idea(although it is a little mature in places with respect to death which might upset some younger fans).
In fact i was so impressed with the quality of this BBC production that i am now working my way through the rest of the Doctor Who audio line.
Highly enjoyable and very recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews