Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cardiff's alive... with the sound of Torchwood.
Torchwood is a funny old thing on telly - the gritty adult science-fiction series fronted by TV's Mr Light Entertainment, John Barrowman. Its grimmest episodes are rendered infinitely more entertaining if you mentally play the famous Benny Hill theme over the top. The most recent series was supposed to be an unfolding story told over ten hours, until they got bored in...
Published 19 months ago by Andrew Lawston

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars have they ever watched torchwood.
i wanted to like the torchwood books but most read as though the writer has never watched torchwood. i will stick with fan fic because at the writers put some thought into plot and characters. hope this writer does better with the next one.
Published on 14 Jun 2011 by Ellen Daugherty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cardiff's alive... with the sound of Torchwood., 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchwood: Into The Silence (Kindle Edition)
Torchwood is a funny old thing on telly - the gritty adult science-fiction series fronted by TV's Mr Light Entertainment, John Barrowman. Its grimmest episodes are rendered infinitely more entertaining if you mentally play the famous Benny Hill theme over the top. The most recent series was supposed to be an unfolding story told over ten hours, until they got bored in week 3 and turned it into a parade of [human] monsters of the week. They're a team of elite professionals who leave their keys in the ignition when they're in the field, and one episode featured the unforgettable moment where a lead character blundered round a forest screaming "TOSH!" at the top of his voice.

So the Torchwood novels have a hard time pinning down a series that doesn't really know what it wants to be. Sarah Pinborough works with the twin strands of horror and camp - introducing a horrific and unstoppable killer alien... who stalks the contestants of an amateur operatic contest.

Into the Silence is a good read - lightly written, but still gripping throughout. In addition to a consistent and familiar depiction of the Torchwood regulars, Pinborough introduces the reader to the private thoughts of a parade of engaging and real characters. Most of whom are then dispatched in short order.

So if new character DI Cutler occasionally veers into world-weary cop cliche territory, you can forgive this oversight (particularly as I got the sense he was included to bolster the Torchwood team which at this point in the TV series had been depleted following the exit of Tosh and Owen at the end of the second season).

Pinborough has grasped a few truths about Torchwood that have been lost on the TV writing team, the main one being that a hero who can't die is in no way dramatic. So Captain Jack Harkness is never put in any direct danger, sparing us the print equivalent of those endless scenes where John Barrowman sits up and gasps at the camera. There is the occasional "Welcome to Torchwood" line, but that's harmless fun.

Into the Silence is a gory, funny, action-packed adventure which is a sight better than most of the Torchwood we've ever seen on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Running (on dangerous ground), 5 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sarah Pinborough's debut as a Torchwood novelist is pretty inauspicious. The story is very generic - and this is no bad thing in itself, however it lacks a spark, and the liberal references to the deceased team members Tosh and Owen only serve to remind us what the series itself is missing. There are some pretty gruesome depictions in the book, and it is very much aimed at older teenagers or younger adults, it would be okay if the story was stronger but as it is this is really just a series of brutal slayings interspersed with reminders of the Torchwood team's raging libidos. Overall a formulaic novel that is readable but pretty forgettable too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Favourite, 2 Feb 2013
By 
Michelle Carline "~*Mickie *~" (Doncaster, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I actually tweeted Sarah to tell her how amazing and moving this book was AND I got a reply of thank you! This is one of my favourite Torchwood books. It's a great story of emotion, hope and love. As well as the usual aliens and scary things under the bed! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 26 Aug 2011
By 
B. Pennant "old skool booklover" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would recommend this for any Torchwood fan who loved the first 3 series I really liked this story and the ending was very satisfying. Gwen, Ianto and Jack investigate several deaths of participants for a singing contest the team are up against it trying to solve the mystery and save lives.

Good page turner and the the writer really seems to get Jack, Gwen and Ianto I have to admit I much prefer Gwen in the books than on the actual show. Good effort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars have they ever watched torchwood., 14 Jun 2011
By 
Ellen Daugherty (Niagara Falls, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i wanted to like the torchwood books but most read as though the writer has never watched torchwood. i will stick with fan fic because at the writers put some thought into plot and characters. hope this writer does better with the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood; Into The Silence, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nother alien from the void coming to earth because of the noise, a new for the torchwood team to stop, doctor who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Then There Were Three, 16 July 2009
By 
A. Lockley "Who Fanatic" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Torchwood: Into The Silence ("Torchwood")

Resisting the temptation to ignore the deaths of Owen and Tosh, this is the first book that relies on the talents of the remaining 3 Torchwood operatives. This in itself provides an excuse to 'pad out' Gwen and Ianto's roles. As always appears to be the case, there is a lot of padded out text, some of which is not really needed. Again, the descriptive text sets the scene very well. Set round a Welsh singing contest, there are soon some very gruesome murders happening. An alien is soon held to be responsible and proves a daunting problem for Torchwood in finding it. Fairly well paced, there is a nice twist at the end, although if like me, you see it coming. Does make one want to keep reading to check out if you are right. Not the best of the series, (a hint of Skypoint was noted) but a welcome addition to the fan of the TV show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfyingly creepy, 16 Aug 2009
By 
J. R. Johnson-Rollings (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Into the Silence is the first book in the latest trio accompanying the BBC TV series, and is set between series two and three. The three remaining main characters are joined by a disgraced police office with previous Torchwood experience to investigate a number of brutal murders of singers across Cardiff.

While the idea is sound and the plot moves along at an interesting pace, not a lot is learnt about the main characters, with most of the characterization focussing on guests - presumably so as not to tread on the toes of the TV writers. The alien itself is satisfyingly creepy, but it's physical description makes it a tad too similar to every other torchwood bad guy.

While the plot does flow fairly well, there's a lot of backstory peppered throughout the novel that exists purely to set up the ending and which never interacts with the main plot on the way. As much as I often complains about confidences drawing people together in novels, this set up meant the ending was fairly predictable from quite early on.

Overall I found this to be a satisfying quick read, and I definitely think that the Torchwood novels are improving as the series progresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torchwood:Into the silence, 27 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. S. J. Kinder (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Torchwood: Into The Silence ("Torchwood")
Yet another great book by Torchwood (This is book 10 in the series). A little slow in the opening chapters but stick with it coz its got all the intensity, thrill, humour and surprises that you expect from a Torchwood book and a twist or 2 at the end.
I wont spoil it anymore for you, so buy a copy and have a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a dark tale based on music it cant be a let down can it, 12 July 2009
torchwood is known for padding ( meat from season 2 is prime example ) this is no exception the chapters focusing on the entrants ok sorry let get the synophis out of the way first

something from the rift is killing singners for a competation servral deaths has been found with thier mid section up to their necks open up wide with the vocal cords riped out and it up to torchwood to find out who and why

the story is ver well thought out with more background been created for ianto and the conversatioions with cutler and jack are wonderfull but its let down by padding too much focus on the singners less action ok its a nice idea but it drags it down for example a spoild singner is instently slaughterd after you sympathise with her ( or hate her depending on the side of the coin you toss it on ) the creature youre self is well iamgenetive and its backstory is something elese

the big thing is a kid whos autistic nothing wrong with that but theres no involvment with torchwood untill the end ( as far as iam going ) and it feels as if hes only there to solve everything

the story dosent pick up untill halfway but it dose have plenty of stuff to keep you entertaind so

***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae2fdde0)

This product

Torchwood: Into The Silence
Torchwood: Into The Silence by Sarah Pinborough
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews