Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intergalactic Jolly Rogering!
A straightforward comic space opera for young and old. Kids will love the humour and easily identifiable characters; adults will appreciate the joie-de-vivre of it all. Guerrier tells his audience a simple parable of emancipation and redemption, while mucking around with pink ray-guns, space badgers, and quantum scrambled egg - and for the "Doctor Who" fans, he gets the...
Published on 2 Mar 2008 by R. A. Stradling

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous premise, well executed
So. Badger space pirates...hmmmm. But, you'll have to take my word for it, it works. My expectations dropped through the floor after listening to the first twenty minutes but they were soon boosted my some classic devices - tantalising clues to what might be happening, mighty risk taking, pseudo-science, moral dilemma, social comment and, of course, moments of high...
Published on 30 Jan 2009 by Ms


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous premise, well executed, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Ms (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So. Badger space pirates...hmmmm. But, you'll have to take my word for it, it works. My expectations dropped through the floor after listening to the first twenty minutes but they were soon boosted my some classic devices - tantalising clues to what might be happening, mighty risk taking, pseudo-science, moral dilemma, social comment and, of course, moments of high silliness. All ingredients of great Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intergalactic Jolly Rogering!, 2 Mar 2008
By 
R. A. Stradling "Rob Stradling" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A straightforward comic space opera for young and old. Kids will love the humour and easily identifiable characters; adults will appreciate the joie-de-vivre of it all. Guerrier tells his audience a simple parable of emancipation and redemption, while mucking around with pink ray-guns, space badgers, and quantum scrambled egg - and for the "Doctor Who" fans, he gets the regular characters spot-on, particularly the it's-cool-to-be-clever Martha Jones. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The Pirate Loop, 19 April 2013
The Doctor's been everywhere and everywhen in the whole of the universe and seems to know all the answers. But ask him what happened to the Starship Brilliant and he hasn't the first idea. Did it fall into a sun or black hole? Was it shot down in the first moments of the galactic war? And what's this about a secret experimental drive?

The Doctor is skittish. But if Martha is so keen to find out he'll land the TARDIS on the Brilliant, a few days before it vanishes. Then they can see for themselves...

Soon the Doctor learns the awful truth. And Martha learns that you need to be careful what you wish for. She certainly wasn't hoping for mayhem, death, and badger-faced space pirates.

Featuring the Tenth Doctor and Martha as played by David Tennant and Freema Agyeman in the hit sci-fi series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing if a bit silly, 19 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The premise and some details are a bit silly - pretend pirates, a timespace barrier of scrambled egg, the enemy leader being the only one with authority, but the story and its twists are intriguing, especially the deaths. There are very few locations too, all finely described, which is an advantage to following the action and incidents.
Written partly in two time streams, which can be briefly confusing and a bit irritating, it all comes together for a happy ending, though I still don't know how the engineers drink the milkshakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loop the loop, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Another Doctor Who novel telling an all new story for the character that hasn't been seen on the tv screen. This features the Tenth Doctor and Martha Jones.

As ever with this range the book is suitable for all ages. It runs for two hundred and thirty seven pages, and the characterisation of the Doctor and companion is fine and well in keeping with the way they were portrayed on the show.

The story involves the Doctor and Martha visiting a legendary spaceship. Legendary because it disappeared and was never seen again. And nobody knows why. Their visit takes place shortly before the disappearance happened, and they're on a quest to find why it happened.

They find strange beings in engineering. An upper class robot. And passengers being held hostage as the ship has been boarded by pirates. Who are also Humanoid badgers.

All this and there's a problem with the engine and strange things happening with time itself. Will the Doctor and Martha solve the mystery or will they vanish as well?

The book gets going right from the off and manages a good pace throughout. An interesting and quite original setting plus a strong batch of supporting chsracters make for an engaging read. And the plotting is well handled. Unfolding gradually and at just the right pace with some surprising revelations along the way.

All the supporting characters do manage to grow and change over the course of the story, thanks to the influence of the Doctor, and the ending raises an interesting question in a manner that will leave you thinking about it afterwards.

An entertaining read - although you will have to pay close attention at points in the story when the problem with time occurs - and an above average entry in this range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd Brock From The Sun, 8 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. S. Berry (Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is my first Dr Who book (I always wait until they're twenty or more into a series run before hopping aboard), and a very enjoyable lark it is, too. As noted, Simon Guerrier has the characterisation of both the Doctor and his companion down pat from the off (the Martha's-eye view of the adventure itself lends the story very much to reading aloud - perhaps to a youngster). Plus, who can resist a tale of spaceships and buccaneering badgers? Not me. The somewhat Douglas Adams-ish plot is often, but not always, one step ahead of the reader (well, I didn't see the resolution coming, anyway) and the telling is, in turns, pacy, exciting, thoughtful and helpfully explanatory. I particularly liked the author's drawing of Martha's growing self-awareness. Very recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the pirate loop, 27 Jan 2008
By 
S. smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably the funniest Doctor Who that I have read to date (and I have read most of them). Admittedly it is cheesy and corny in places but it all ties in with the humor which is rhythmic thoughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars intwo minds, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
took some doing to get through it, listen with an open mind and you'll enjoy it as a modern tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a shame: poorly executed and with no characterisation, 25 Mar 2010
I have always enjoyed the Doctor Who genre, and some of the most recent books have been incredibly inventive with ideas and plot to please everyone.

This is the weakest I've yet read. By half way through, I was gritting my teeth, hoping it would get better. It didn't.

Let me explain. Firstly the plot fails to work: the whole point of escapism is surely the way an author creates an atmosphere to make us believe the unbelievable. This tale always remained unbelievable. It's so badly written. At several points, the reader has to go back a page or so to find out why a character has moved.

Which brings us to the characters -- or lack of. David Tennant as the Doctor is a gift to any author. It is therefore almost incredible that this Doctor is dull. The wisecracks are weak, the action is muted. The wit isn't. This depiction of Martha is even more boring. The pirates are badgers, yet all are without any characterisation: they shout, grunt, and shoot with an accompanying pink light; that's it. The other main character, Mrs Winkworth, is almost an octopus with tentacles and an annoying, patronising manner. Surely a gift to any author, but again she is flavourless and (ultimately) dull. At no point did any of these characters actually come alive.

So, I'm afraid, I've wasted several hours of my life. What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The characters seem so huggable, 14 Jun 2009
By 
J. R. Johnson-Rollings (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is in a very similar style to the other recent Doctor Who novels which I have read - clearly aimed at a younger audience, straying not far from simple language and simple themes. Unlike some however this one features a good amount of humour which will be appreciated by anyone who has ever met a child.

The set up is good, starting off with the old disappearing ship plot but evolving through unique plot devices to produce an amusing tale where the Doctor has to battle against time, childlike badgers and a group of humans who don't seem to appreciate his presence. There also features a lot of deaths in this one but as usual the Doctor manages to save the day in the end.

While the human characters are fairly two dimensional, the cast of aliens is much more admirable, with five standing out in particular. The pirate badgers who invade the starship are particularly cute in their depiction as nave children who are eager to please - but from a more cynical viewpoint are easy for the Doctor to manipulate.

All in all probably one of the more interesting Doctor Who novels I have read, if only because the characters seemed so huggable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Pirate Loop
Doctor Who: The Pirate Loop by Simon Guerrier
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews